Mighty Switch Force! 3DS

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 51 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 39 out of 51
  2. Negative: 3 out of 51

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 19, 2012
    5
    Short. Hard to Play. Beautiful. Great Soundtrack.
    That's really the game in a nutshell. You want to give it a great score b/c it is so pretty and sounds so good. The controls are tight, but they just aren't exciting or fun. Style of substance is the name of the game, and that's disappointing. You're much better serviced picking up Contra 4 if you are looking for something that is fun to
    Short. Hard to Play. Beautiful. Great Soundtrack.
    That's really the game in a nutshell. You want to give it a great score b/c it is so pretty and sounds so good. The controls are tight, but they just aren't exciting or fun. Style of substance is the name of the game, and that's disappointing. You're much better serviced picking up Contra 4 if you are looking for something that is fun to play. I wish there was a return option or demo, I would have skipped this one, downloaded the soundtrack and called it good!
    Expand
  2. Jan 17, 2012
    7
    Developer Way Forward strikes again with its Mighty series, with their first title for the 3DS E Shop. Now if you're like me and bought the system at launch, you probably haven't visited the 3DS shop much unless you were picking up the ambassador games. Even if you did browse through a couple of pages on the shop, it might seem like Nintendo is just using it as a vehicle to sell itsDeveloper Way Forward strikes again with its Mighty series, with their first title for the 3DS E Shop. Now if you're like me and bought the system at launch, you probably haven't visited the 3DS shop much unless you were picking up the ambassador games. Even if you did browse through a couple of pages on the shop, it might seem like Nintendo is just using it as a vehicle to sell its vintage soft where. However thanks to Mighty Switch Force and Pushamo the E-shop finally has some new must have games. If you take a close look at Mighty Switch Force, it Expand
  3. Mar 23, 2012
    5
    So, the game mechanic that distinguishes this game from (some) other platformers is that you can hit a buttons to make certain blocks, platforms and 'squares that launch you in a certain direction' switch on and off, so to speak. (When it's 'off,' the item is faded and transparent and you can run/fall right through it.) This made for some fun platforming for the first handful of levels.So, the game mechanic that distinguishes this game from (some) other platformers is that you can hit a buttons to make certain blocks, platforms and 'squares that launch you in a certain direction' switch on and off, so to speak. (When it's 'off,' the item is faded and transparent and you can run/fall right through it.) This made for some fun platforming for the first handful of levels. But, before long, the designers apparently ran out of 'fun' things to do with that mechanic, and the game gets tedious and, at times, difficult. There's no story at all...in fact, the only thing tying the levels together is a 'pick a stage' screen, which tells me that the designers didn't even bother trying to make a coherent experience out of these disjoint levels. And most of the characters you see in the game are just young blond females in little outfits, voiced in a girlish way....which ultimately just shows another of the ways in which this game is lazy. Lazy design, lazy characterization, all-around uninspired and lazy. This game strikes me as the teenage male equivalent of cheap romance fiction..it's there to provide the baseline experience that you'd expect from the genre and to offer some easy titillation. I wouldn't recommend this game unless you're out of other things to play and you don't have too much self-respect to keep you away from this thing. Upsides are that the graphics look nice, with very smooth animation, and the controls are sufficiently responsive, given that you'll need to do some finely-timed moves. Expand
  4. Nov 18, 2015
    7
    Charming graphics and interesting mechanics made this an interesting game, and it got me hooked to it for a few days.

    The puzzles only seem to be easy until you start challenging yourself to beat the set time for each stage, sometimes finding the fastest route can be really hard and demanding a level of ability that is going to please the hardcore gamer as well. Without any plot or
    Charming graphics and interesting mechanics made this an interesting game, and it got me hooked to it for a few days.

    The puzzles only seem to be easy until you start challenging yourself to beat the set time for each stage, sometimes finding the fastest route can be really hard and demanding a level of ability that is going to please the hardcore gamer as well.

    Without any plot or character development, this is a good game to relax for a bit or challenge yourself with well thought puzzles.
    Expand
  5. Dec 31, 2011
    0
    I would've gave this game a 10 had it been a more lengthy adventure for but $5.99 and considering the quality of the game, I wish I could've given it a 9.5 because it is clearly one of the best 3DS eShop titles so far (right behind Pushmo). This is the ONLY game where I play with the 3D permanently on because for one, it never hurts my eyes and two, WarForward really used the 3D in thisI would've gave this game a 10 had it been a more lengthy adventure for but $5.99 and considering the quality of the game, I wish I could've given it a 9.5 because it is clearly one of the best 3DS eShop titles so far (right behind Pushmo). This is the ONLY game where I play with the 3D permanently on because for one, it never hurts my eyes and two, WarForward really used the 3D in this game amazingly. The music is by far one of my favorites I've heard in almost any game and is a reason why I go back to play certain levels just so I can listen to the music again. It helps that the gameplay is fun, unique, and nicely paced. The par time drives you to return to best your previous time, especially when you learn the pattern of each stage after a few tries. I just really wished this game had at least 30 stages, that probably would've been perfect for a game of this price with nearly all the stages timing you to finish under 2 (several under 1) minutes, but all in all, it's an amazing title and I look forward to more eShop titles from WayForward (already loved their A Boy and His Blob remake). Collapse
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 30 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 30
  2. Negative: 0 out of 30
  1. Aug 6, 2012
    80
    Mighty Switch Force screws with your noodle while forcing you to try and speed through the levels to meet the ungodly fast 'par', always taunting you with your slowness.
  2. Apr 3, 2012
    100
    It's short but sweet, which I personally prefer over games that overstay their welcome. It's also a pleasure to play, with a satisfying mix of action/platformer pizzazz and puzzle elements with a steady, addictive progression from those simple first stages to the devious concoctions of the late game.
  3. Mar 26, 2012
    60
    Mighty Switch Force is more of a platformer / puzzle game than an action one, but even if its concept's quite basic, it's still a solid one. The game is a little short, but very well done.