Metascore
71

Mixed or average reviews - based on 13 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 13
  2. Negative: 0 out of 13
  1. Sep 5, 2013
    60
    Every once in a while a game comes along that takes every opportunity to slap the player in the face. In a nutshell, that's Naruto Powerful Shippuden, a game that constantly hits below the belt with utterly arbitrary challenges that encourage hair-pulling frustration and grinding levels to earn experience points (XP) to upgrade skills and unlock more skills.
  2. 75
    Delivers a fun and unique brawling experience that 3DS gamers and Naruto fans alike shouldn’t miss out on as it is fairly entertaining.
  3. Forget the license behind it, this is a lovely little 2D brawler. [May 2013, p.79]
  4. 65
    In the end, we're presented with a game that looks fine, sounds lovely, reads excellently, and plays kind of blandly. It has around 100 missions and a decent pool of characters from the Naruto universe that fans of the show can catch up with, as long as they can handle some repetition along the way
  5. Apr 1, 2013
    70
    It's most certainly a step up from the old DS titles, but Naruto: Powerful Shippuden doesn't quite have the depth to make it really stand out amongst other brawlers out there. Hopefully future titles can build off the good base they've got.
  6. Apr 1, 2013
    75
    Naruto: Powerful Shippuden is a decent brawler but it's fans of the Naruto series who will get the most out of this game.
  7. Mar 28, 2013
    73
    A charming, wacky 2D adventure that keeps you motivated even though the tasks you’ll encounter could be more varied.
  8. Mar 26, 2013
    60
    Naruto: Powerful Shippuden does one thing exactly right, and that's the humour. The actual gameplay gets a bit too repetitive too quickly, but a fun storyline and a personal goals feature do their best to keep things interesting.
  9. Mar 19, 2013
    65
    Naruto Powerful Shippuden isn't really the kind of game you play when you're older than 14. But IntiCreates managed to give it some qualities: simple and efficient gameplay, a flexible XP system and a great amount of missions. Unfortunately, the graphics are too poor to make the point and you'll need a very special sense of humour to not skip the narrative part of the game.
  10. Mar 12, 2013
    80
    It's the ideal mix of fun and funny, without being too over-the-top.
  11. Mar 12, 2013
    67
    It’s a more inventive take than you usually see for licensed anime titles, and smartly evolves past the standard, overwrought storyline retreads typically used.
  12. Mar 11, 2013
    66
    Get ready for a lot of humor and action. We believe 3DS deserves a bigger and better, more ambitious Naruto game, but if you already know this is a humble proposal, then you will certainly enjoy this game.
  13. Mar 8, 2013
    80
    A breath of fresh air for both longtime fans of the show and brawlers in general. It’s as interesting outside of its missions as in them, with unique experience-point investing and gambling mechanics that future games in this genre should look to for inspiration.
User Score
5.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 17 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 3
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 3
  3. Negative: 0 out of 3
  1. Apr 1, 2013
    9
    A game that does what it advertises. It doesn't have a huge roster, as you're limited to Naruto and Lee, but has interesting mechanics, a decent simultaneous story mode and, most importantly, is fun to play. Full Review »
  2. Mar 28, 2013
    9
    This is a whole new side-scrolling Naruto game. It features anime inspired presentations. and action packed gameplay.
  3. Mar 13, 2013
    10
    The game is really good. I haven't finished it yet but, so far, the missions are really good. They don't feel repetitive at any moment and there are a lot of missions. I was afraid of wasting my money on this one, like I did with Adventure Time for the 3DS, it's good but it helps that I love the series but the game wasn't what I was expecting.

    Now, on the other hand. Naruto Powerful Shippuden feels fresh, there is a lot of fun in this game. I haven't been able to put it down. The game is great for a handheld with missions being short, but don't take that as a negative thing, they are short but missions have tasks that you can complete and you must choose before going into the mission, if you complete the task you will be awarded with more experience points and I can tell you, it never feels like a chore.

    Music is great, visuals are really good and funny. 3D is not that good, gameplay and controls are awesome.
    Full Review »