Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 70 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 46 out of 70
  2. Negative: 0 out of 70
  1. 91
    With its well-balanced gameplay and the high long-term play value, New Super Mario Bros. 2 offers a nearly perfect Jump & Run experience. The levels and boss fights could be much more difficult.
  2. Aug 20, 2012
    90
    It's a side-scrolling platformer where goombas are flattened, blocks smashed, turtle shells hurled, and tricky platforms navigated by, what else, jumping. And the coins... so many coins.
  3. Aug 19, 2012
    90
    New Super Mario Bros. 2 is yet another superb platformer from Nintendo, filled with all the elements fans crave.
  4. Aug 16, 2012
    90
    New Super Mario Bros. 2 is not as innovative as Super Mario Sunshine or Super Mario Galaxy, but all in all it's a 2D Jump'n'Run you'll have plenty of fun with.
  5. Aug 8, 2012
    90
    Though we've seen this formula before, New Super Mario Bros. 2 finds a way to keep itself just fresh enough while still hitting platfroming perfection.
  6. Aug 2, 2012
    90
    It may not be as gleefully experimental as Super Mario Land 3D, but New Super Mario Bros. 2 intelligently recycles past glories and consequently offers the comfort of what is arguably one of the most enjoyable video game franchises ever.
  7. The very definition of bitter-sweet, giving with one hand and then taking away with the other. By default it's the best side-scrolling platformer on the 3DS and yes, it's even better than the original New Super Mario Bros. But that came out six years ago now, and in that time we'd really expected the series to have progressed a little further than just a 3D effect and Coin Rush mode.
  8. Jul 27, 2012
    90
    One of the most enjoyable titles for the Nintendo 3DS, and one that perfectly captures the essence of the platform genre.
User Score
7.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 282 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 71 out of 98
  2. Negative: 13 out of 98
  1. Aug 19, 2012
    9
    Its my 250th game review on metacritic! Personally, I find NSMB2 to be an overall better package than the merely okay Super Mario 3D Land, and thats saying a lot considering that I usually prefer the 3D games in the series more than the sidescrollers. Sure, you may complain and say that its the same game, but you can be assured that the product here is of high quality. A few new powerups, an addicting coin rush mode, and just the right difficulty is enough to make this one of the best handheld games of the year. My only criticism is that the overused "Mario saves Peach from Bowser" story is still being used to this day. They need to change the story formula a bit. Full Review »
  2. Aug 30, 2012
    4
    This game, is the worst proper mario game, since mario 2. The world designs and the music are incredibly similar to the other NSMB games. The coin gimmick is pointless, since the coins dont actually give you anything other than a different title screen. The gameplay is fun, but its still the same mario game we've experienced for over 20 years.
    To make the game better i would suggest composing a new soundtrack. try making some good original environments that actually make use of the 3DS's 3D effect and also try and do something new with the mario license. Develop the story mode a little. Add something to make coin collecting worth something, maybe do what the Lego games are doing and make it so that you use coins to buy more characters or special items.
    Full Review »
  3. Aug 23, 2012
    2
    This game is just a PAINFULLY blatant rehash of all the other NSMB games with a coin gimmick. Honestly, I expected a lot more from a Mario game and I seriously hope Nintendo learns their lesson with this title. Full Review »