Phoenix Wright: Ace Attorney - Dual Destinies Image
Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 63 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 207 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Dual Destinies brings us the return of courtroom hero Phoenix Wright. Set 8 years after his last appearance in the courts, the first case in Phoenix Wright: Ace Attorney - Dual Destinies sees the action start in a destroyed court room. It's up to Phoenix Wright and his team at the WrightDual Destinies brings us the return of courtroom hero Phoenix Wright. Set 8 years after his last appearance in the courts, the first case in Phoenix Wright: Ace Attorney - Dual Destinies sees the action start in a destroyed court room. It's up to Phoenix Wright and his team at the Wright Anything Agency to discover the cause of the destruction. Players have to battle it out in court against Gaspen Payne, the younger brother of Winston Payne from previous Ace Attorney titles, as they defend the accused. Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Ace Attorney: Dual Destinies - Comic-Con Gameplay Trailer
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 55 out of 63
  2. Negative: 0 out of 63
  1. Nov 11, 2013
    100
    A masterpiece that raises the bar for the series, employing all of its strengths and eliminating the vast majority of its weaknesses. This fifth mainline entry pays homage to its heritage while paving the way for the franchise going forward. Here’s hoping that the next turnabout doesn’t come with another six-year wait.
  2. Oct 25, 2013
    90
    Wonderfully witty as ever, Phoenix Wright: Ace Attorney - Dual Destinies is another excellent entry into the Ace Attorney series.
  3. Oct 24, 2013
    88
    Any fan of the series should be considering buying this game, as long as they don't mind the lack of physical version or not being translated into any other language but English. There's little innovation here, but it's addictive, fun and satisfying.
  4. Oct 24, 2013
    80
    Phoenix Wright’s triumphant return to the courtroom has been matched by a game worth of such an event. Sure, it is more of the same, but with more variety, a new set of great characters and it looks really nice to boot.
  5. Nov 12, 2013
    80
    The narrative that runs through that world isn’t always focused as it could be, but Phoenix Wright: Ace Attorney – Dual Destinies is a largely excellent visual novel adventure.
  6. Oct 28, 2013
    80
    Fans will be happy that Phoenix Wright was able to localize it – it really would have been a massive injustice if this game never saw the light of day outside of Japan, as Dual Destinies is up there with the best entries in the franchise.
  7. Oct 24, 2013
    60
    Dual Destinies is disappointing. In general it's more of the same Phoenix Wright we've come to know and love, but the stories and characters are horribly weak.

See all 63 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 42
  2. Negative: 1 out of 42
  1. Jan 5, 2014
    10
    The game is superb. The writing is amazing as always, the 3D graphics are amazing and the overall's game plot is awesome. I see a lot ofThe game is superb. The writing is amazing as always, the 3D graphics are amazing and the overall's game plot is awesome. I see a lot of criticsm saying that the game recycled the plot style from the first game, but it isn't. It is just fan dumb. The game is very long, which is something also very nice, the previous game could be beat in 5 hours, but I beat this one under two days. Capcom knows how to create great games and this is a proof of it. Can't wait to see more of the spiky haired lawyer again! Expand
  2. Oct 10, 2017
    10
    What can I say? I love this game. I have made sure to play all the games in order (AA, JFA, T&T, Investigations, Apollo Justice,What can I say? I love this game. I have made sure to play all the games in order (AA, JFA, T&T, Investigations, Apollo Justice, Investigations 2, and now this one.) Next I will be playing PW meets Layton which I'm sure will be good. I was hesitant about Apollo when he was introduced in his game, but by the end of the game, I loved him. Same story here with Athena. Ace Attorney series is one game that can introduce new characters without ruining everything. Simon Blackquill is chill af and Athena's powers are very cool. They even added a little checklist thing so you don't have to rely on a walkthrough if you get stuck (I try not to use it too much so it's not like handholding). Overall, great game, great story in this game, and I really enjoyed every episode (unlike some of the other games). I actually didn't expect the ending to this game (in the other games the end is kind of predictable). One of the best games in the series and I'm sure there's more to come. I only have PW meets PL and Spirit of Justice left to play, so hopefully they can come out with another game before I finish those! (a Switch Ace Attorney would be lit) Expand
  3. Oct 24, 2013
    10
    I have always loved the Phoenix Wright games, witty humor with dialogue that makes you think so you can unravel and defend your client. II have always loved the Phoenix Wright games, witty humor with dialogue that makes you think so you can unravel and defend your client. I even enjoyed Apollo Justice, and Miles Edgeworth that were included in this wonderful series. I must say though, this game takes Phoenix Wright and moves the game in a superb direction. Yes, I know you have to download the game and that their is no physical copies but trust me, if you like Phoenix Wright then your going to want to download this game. I have only played thirty minutes into the game(plus the demo before the game was released on the eshop), and I can honestly say I love this game, for its graphics and the story line that I'm so intrigued to learn more about to figure out what this story and its five cases(plus an extra one you can download) are all about!!!!!! Expand
  4. Nov 27, 2013
    9
    First game for me of the Phoenix Wright saga. And after many videos of the older games I've been finally able to play it. I like it, it's funFirst game for me of the Phoenix Wright saga. And after many videos of the older games I've been finally able to play it. I like it, it's fun and can entertain you if you want to think and remember about what people did and said. It's just reading a Manga with some interaction in it. Expand
  5. Dec 3, 2017
    8
    A solid entry in the whole series. Nicely continues the stories of both Phoenix Wright and Apollo Justice. There are 6 cases in total (one ofA solid entry in the whole series. Nicely continues the stories of both Phoenix Wright and Apollo Justice. There are 6 cases in total (one of them being DLC but totally worth it) and all of them are interesting in their own right. There are no "mindblowingly amazing" cases like in AA1 or AA3, though. Expand
  6. Oct 31, 2013
    8
    I have been a huge Phoenix Wright fan since the beginning of the franchise. The first game was one of the reasons I made my first DS purchase.I have been a huge Phoenix Wright fan since the beginning of the franchise. The first game was one of the reasons I made my first DS purchase. This is the first game in the series to be based on a current gen console, the 3DS, and they've done a wonderful job of taking the sprites from the old games and giving them life in 3D. However, a few things set this game apart from its past incarnations in a negative way that keep it from being the best game in the series. Basically, this game was made for Phoenix Wright fans. If a newcomer to the series starts with this game, they will lose the meaning of most of the bantering amongst all the characters. My hope was that they would give Phoenix a starring role in this game after pushing him to the backburner in the last one. That sorta happened but not as much as I would have liked. I'm not a big fan of the last game in the franchise, Apollo Justice, and I was hoping they would move away from what most people call the worst game in the franchise and focus more on Phoenix again. Instead, they decided to focus alot on all of the defense lawyers in the game, giving them each a case they were the lead on. The biggest problem I have with the game is the lackluster final case. The final case in an Ace Attorney game is the big draw for me. They have been the best cases in the series usually and you play through some pretty lackluster ones because you know that last case will be great. This time around, the last case was very average and that's almost as bad as saying the case was barely playable. Plus the fact that the difficulty level was lightened this time around, it didnt feel like finding the truth in the last case was all that shocking. Anyway this is still a good game for Phoenix Wright fans to play. Newcomers to the series need to start with the first game for the DS and to anyone who might have been put off by AJ like I was, this game sorta redeems itself from that trainwreck. But a very average last case and annoying and forgettable main characters again make me feel like this game should have done alot better if they had just solely focused on Phoenix himself, and not try to shoehorn in these other forgettable characters that they make you play. Expand
  7. Sep 17, 2017
    3
    Era fan de su serie en Nintendo DS
    Una aventura gráfica con pequeñas partes de RPG no Traducido al Idioma del jugar repercute directamente en
    Era fan de su serie en Nintendo DS
    Una aventura gráfica con pequeñas partes de RPG no Traducido al Idioma del jugar repercute directamente en el juego. Lo vendí a la semana.
    Expand

See all 42 User Reviews