Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 63 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 115 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Dual Destinies brings us the return of courtroom hero Phoenix Wright. Set 8 years after his last appearance in the courts, the first case in Phoenix Wright: Ace Attorney - Dual Destinies sees the action start in a destroyed court room. It's up to Phoenix Wright and his team at the Wright Anything Agency to discover the cause of the destruction. Players have to battle it out in court against Gaspen Payne, the younger brother of Winston Payne from previous Ace Attorney titles, as they defend the accused. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 55 out of 63
  2. Negative: 0 out of 63
  1. Nov 11, 2013
    100
    A masterpiece that raises the bar for the series, employing all of its strengths and eliminating the vast majority of its weaknesses. This fifth mainline entry pays homage to its heritage while paving the way for the franchise going forward. Here’s hoping that the next turnabout doesn’t come with another six-year wait.
  2. Oct 25, 2013
    90
    Wonderfully witty as ever, Phoenix Wright: Ace Attorney - Dual Destinies is another excellent entry into the Ace Attorney series.
  3. Oct 24, 2013
    88
    Any fan of the series should be considering buying this game, as long as they don't mind the lack of physical version or not being translated into any other language but English. There's little innovation here, but it's addictive, fun and satisfying.
  4. Oct 24, 2013
    80
    Phoenix Wright’s triumphant return to the courtroom has been matched by a game worth of such an event. Sure, it is more of the same, but with more variety, a new set of great characters and it looks really nice to boot.
  5. Nov 12, 2013
    80
    The narrative that runs through that world isn’t always focused as it could be, but Phoenix Wright: Ace Attorney – Dual Destinies is a largely excellent visual novel adventure.
  6. Oct 28, 2013
    80
    Fans will be happy that Phoenix Wright was able to localize it – it really would have been a massive injustice if this game never saw the light of day outside of Japan, as Dual Destinies is up there with the best entries in the franchise.
  7. Oct 24, 2013
    60
    Dual Destinies is disappointing. In general it's more of the same Phoenix Wright we've come to know and love, but the stories and characters are horribly weak.

See all 63 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 21
  2. Negative: 1 out of 21
  1. Oct 24, 2013
    10
    I have always loved the Phoenix Wright games, witty humor with dialogue that makes you think so you can unravel and defend your client. I even enjoyed Apollo Justice, and Miles Edgeworth that were included in this wonderful series. I must say though, this game takes Phoenix Wright and moves the game in a superb direction. Yes, I know you have to download the game and that their is no physical copies but trust me, if you like Phoenix Wright then your going to want to download this game. I have only played thirty minutes into the game(plus the demo before the game was released on the eshop), and I can honestly say I love this game, for its graphics and the story line that I'm so intrigued to learn more about to figure out what this story and its five cases(plus an extra one you can download) are all about!!!!!! Expand
  2. Jan 5, 2014
    10
    The game is superb. The writing is amazing as always, the 3D graphics are amazing and the overall's game plot is awesome. I see a lot of criticsm saying that the game recycled the plot style from the first game, but it isn't. It is just fan dumb. The game is very long, which is something also very nice, the previous game could be beat in 5 hours, but I beat this one under two days. Capcom knows how to create great games and this is a proof of it. Can't wait to see more of the spiky haired lawyer again! Expand
  3. Dec 11, 2013
    10
    This new installment in the Ace Attorney series not only lives up to our expectations of the series, but brings it up a notch, bringing in game mechanics such as Apollo's Perceive ability, but also bringing in new mechanics like Athena's Mood Matrix. Story and dialogue-wise, its as good as any of its predecessors, if not better, which slowly draws you into the game, making you engrossed in it so easily, you might not even want to put down the game just to see how the character you're playing as will wrap up the case.

    This game is definitely a good pick-up for any fans of the series, and for non-fans who are interested in things like puzzles or mysteries, they may want to try it out also. The game is also priced well below the price of a normal 3DS game so its well worth its cost.
    Expand
  4. Nov 27, 2013
    9
    First game for me of the Phoenix Wright saga. And after many videos of the older games I've been finally able to play it. I like it, it's fun and can entertain you if you want to think and remember about what people did and said. It's just reading a Manga with some interaction in it. Expand
  5. Feb 26, 2014
    9
    This is one of the best games I've played on the 3DS. I will always love the original trilogy more but this game came very close. I'm happy to see that even though capcom is not making the best choices they can still make a good ace attorney game.

    The game itself is brilliant it has a great sound track, memorable moments and as always top notch writing, but there were more spelling/grammar errors in the game than normal. There also are a few other changes to the game. For instance you can now only examine some locations instead of every location, the locations you do get to examine can be viewed from diffrent angels making it more fun, though I would rather have every location examinable. Other changes are that you now have a little menu that tells you what to do next, this is optional but it can be very helpful, where in previous game I could get stuck somewhere and had to look up what I had to do next now it much easier and the progression becomes smother and less annoying when you can't figure out what to do next. (This is obviously not the case during the trial as otherwise the game would just be following the instructions). The music in this game is just as good if not better then the previous games, and once again can pull you into the cases by playing the right music at the right time.

    Conclusion: 9
    good:
    - beautiful graphics
    - brilliant writing
    - Great music
    bad:
    - very little "game-play"
    - some grammar and spelling mistakes
    Expand
  6. Oct 25, 2013
    8
    Five years. Five long years that Phoenix Wright hadn’t be in court for the hilarious trials of the Ace Attorney series. True, his best friend and rival Miles Edgeworth did come to our DS, but only once out of two, the second game sadly having never been localized. In this particular context, Ace Attorney 5 coming at us is rather crucial and we shouldn’t leave this gesture by Capcom unanswered.

    First of all, this game is BEAUTIFUL. It looks as good as no game on 3DS ever and puts Nintendo’s games for its own system to shame. The characters are so well detailed and animated that it reminded me of Fire Emblem cut-scenes. All this including the legendary talent of the devs to offer us eccentric characters with extreme personalities, weird but extremely fun behavior. In short, AA5 is the best-looking I’ve seen on 3DS by leagues.

    Adding to its fantastic humor, the game is no less relevant in judiciary themes, as it has always been in the series. All scenarios (i.e. the cases at hand) revolves around something called «the dark age of Justice». A period plagued with fabricated evidence, false accusations and a growing defiance towards the judiciary system. Even though the chapters are different from each other, for most part they keep being linked to this topic, highlighted by a mysterious bombing inside the court. This particular narrative gives a great significance to the game in a whole. Like in a good TV thriller, the player feels deeply involved in the story.

    Storytelling has been thought with great care. The second case might seem a bit weak in this department, you will be stuck at on your 3DS for everything else. A example of the effort made by Capcom on this the beginning of the game is very different from the demo to ensure maximum pleasure of discovery. The scenario has some awesome twists, music is as classy as ever and the very end is near perfect.

    The gameplay doesn’t vary much from the past episodes, you still have to show the right evidence at the right time to win trials, and discuss with witnesses in investigation parts. The big thing in AA5 is Athena’s capacity to analyze the emotions of people those sequences are fairly numerous and offer diverse approach. It’s really a great add to series, much more interesting than the «Logic» in Ace Attorney Investigations. In theory, it’s about finding emotions that contradicts the current statement, but in practice it’s far richer. Past features like psy-locks and Apollo’s ring of truth are present too, but don’t occur very often. Investigation has lost any interest as you can investigate only 2 locations per case, and the game indicates everything.

    As for characters, AA5 makes a balance between the three main protagonists, each of them having his own trial to win. I really appreciate this willingness to get rid of the «sidekick» role and allowing less important characters take the spotlight, even if it means less Phoenix (and believe me, you never have enough Phoenix). Your opponent, Simon Blackquill, is a truly great character that will instantly wipe out Klavier, who I thought didn’t really fit to the job. Talking about this, Klavier and many other make a comeback, but it’s always very short and they doesn’t make much sense in the story. But yeah, it’s always nice to see them.

    The only thing I’m disappointed of is the level of difficulty. Like I said, investigation has been reduced to a check-list, so you no longer have to search for this little thingy in the flower pot but it does save time). The green life bar doesn’t have any more importance, because when you lose you get back exactly where you were with a full one. It really damages the thrill of the game during trials. Not only this, but as in Professor Layton vs Ace Attorney, the hints given here and there are far too direct and it skips the reasoning. Worse, when you do lose, the game has like a special help window for you to get closer to the solution (but you’re free to use it or not). I understand that nowadays publishers want to avoid that players feel frustrated, but it does hurt the challenge. Of course there still are many parts that will melt your brain, but it’s just not as great as before.

    Despite this, Ace Attorney 5 is a super great game, long (more than 30 hours) and hooking. You English-speaker won’t have any problem with language (us French sometimes do), but some may need to get over their fear of digital games. Indeed, AA5 will be available only on the 3DS e-shop. It is more than worth it, and will surely determine the future of Ace Attorney in the West.
    Expand
  7. Mar 18, 2014
    6
    By far the worst game in the series. While the story is good, the gameplay had been butchered, and it's pathetically easy. There is no fun in pointing out problems in testimonies when it's **** obvious what the contradiction is. Plus they're pretty much scared to hand out penalties, even though it doesn't matter considering that 90% of the time a 3 year old could figure out what the answer was. Also the psyche lock and bracelet mechanics are so scripted that it makes Call of Duty jealous. I still enjoyed DD for the story, but unless you're a hardcore fan DD is not worth it. Expand

See all 21 User Reviews