Pokemon Mystery Dungeon: Gates to Infinity Image
Metascore
59

Mixed or average reviews - based on 46 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 145 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Discover the 3D world of Pokemon Mystery Dungeon: Gates to Infinity, where Pokemon speak and adventures are always nearby. What's more, you will become a Pokemon yourself. You'll meet all kinds of Pokemon throughout the game, both in the towns you'll visit and the Mystery Dungeons you'llDiscover the 3D world of Pokemon Mystery Dungeon: Gates to Infinity, where Pokemon speak and adventures are always nearby. What's more, you will become a Pokemon yourself. You'll meet all kinds of Pokemon throughout the game, both in the towns you'll visit and the Mystery Dungeons you'll explore. There are tons of them lurking around where you'd least expect them. Expand
Buy On
  • Developer: Nintendo, Spike Chunsoft
  • Genre(s): General, Role-Playing, Console-style RPG, Console-style RPG, Roguelike
  • # of players: 1 Player
  • Cheats: On GameFAQs
  • Rating: E
  • More Details and Credits »

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Pokemon Mystery Dungeon: Gates to Infinity - Official Trailer
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 46
  2. Negative: 9 out of 46
  1. May 28, 2013
    85
    It's enjoyable through and through, and the introspective nature of the storyline will leave you thinking about what effect a more positive attitude could have on your own life. It's easy for me to recommend this game to any Pokéfan, regardless of whether they've played prior Mystery Dungeon entries.
  2. Mar 22, 2013
    80
    Although it may not be the best game in the franchise, Gates to Infinity is still an enjoyable dungeon crawl, and a beautiful-looking game to boot. So long as you can deal with an easier adventure, this is another mystery worth solving.
  3. May 29, 2013
    70
    Pokemon Mystery Dungeon: Gates to Infinity is a great dungeon-crawler for kids, but the older generations will find it too watered down.
  4. May 8, 2013
    60
    Pokemon Mystery Dungeon is a strange series and this chapter is no exception. That you love it or hate it, this is a game made of contradiction. It associates very good graphics with 8-year old gameplay, with no innovation nor changes, not even with the potential of the little Nintendo game console. It appears to be a decent game by the way, something that one who love the series could find very entertaining for a few hours, for everyone else, better wait for Pokemon X/Y.
  5. Mar 24, 2013
    54
    With a complete lack of game design, uninspired dialogue, and sub-par technical performance I can safely say that Nintendo phoned it in on this one.
  6. May 10, 2013
    50
    Despite these inventions, the abiding sense is of a lack of variety and a game that fails to fully express its best ideas.
  7. May 12, 2013
    30
    The real mystery here is why Nintendo continues to allow such a minimum effort cash grab to dilute the Pokémon name, in yet another bland and repetitive dungeon crawler.

See all 46 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 54
  2. Negative: 14 out of 54
  1. Apr 11, 2013
    10
    Okay, I've completed the game. And let me just say, the story is the best out of the entire series. Sure, the final battle trolls you atOkay, I've completed the game. And let me just say, the story is the best out of the entire series. Sure, the final battle trolls you at first (You can't do anything). But after that, it just feels so satisfying to literally punch it in the face. In the FACE! Anyway, the music. Dare I say, this game has one of the best soundtracks in video game history. Ragged Mountain was phenomenal for the FIRST DUNGEON, End of the Road Alternate Arrangement 1 was a great remix of the original, Great Spire was epic and tells you that you're near the end, and that... that ENDING!! I'm not going to go into full detail, but let me just say this. That ending is one of, if not the most emotional moment in gaming history. All this bumps my rating up to a ten. By far, one of, if not my favorite game ever. Expand
  2. Apr 2, 2013
    9
    RATING: 8.5/10 I just finished the main game. GOOD: Absolutely gorgeous appearance/graphics. The dungeons are no longer little pieces of tileRATING: 8.5/10 I just finished the main game. GOOD: Absolutely gorgeous appearance/graphics. The dungeons are no longer little pieces of tile that all look the same. The models for the pokemon are fantastic, and the overworld is stunning. The 3D looks great here too. One of the best, if not the best, looking title on the 3DS IMO. Story and characters are as good as always! Story dragged on a bit here and there, and more kid-orientated than the previous, but it caters to everyone pretty well and the ending definitely made up for it. It's another tear-jerker. Music, although not the same rhythm-based, catchy tunes of the previous games, is gorgeous as well. The soundfonts blew my mind when comparing it to the old games, and there were some really, really nice tunes in there. NEUTRAL: Dungeon difficulty was lower than in past games. There wasn't really a difficulty curve, and the largest dungeon main-game is about 12 floors, a far cry from the 30+ floors of Blue/Red and Time/Darkness/Sky. The view for the screen is a bit more narrow and claustrophobic than the other games, but you'll get used to it. (Note, this does not necessarily apply to post game. I haven't played it yet). Main story is shorter than the previous two. BAD: Pokemon selection is limited. Long cutscenes (can get to be over 10 minutes long near the end), combined with slow text speed can cause the game to be a bit tedious at points (I want to dungeon, not sit here and read). Not being able to take more than one job request at once. OTHER: I haven't had time to check out the Magnagate dungeons. I haven't played any post-game. It appears as if there will be a lot, though, so I'll update it when I do. OVERALL: Very good and fun game. Although it's more kid-orientated, including less difficult dungeons, the story is as good as ever, the characters fun, beautiful music, and some of the best visuals I've seen on a 3DS to date. TOTAL UP TO NOW: 8.5/10 Expand
  3. Mar 24, 2013
    8
    So far this games has one big disadvantage, Text speed. Aside from that I'm really enjoying this game (mostly in a nostalgic kind of way). ItSo far this games has one big disadvantage, Text speed. Aside from that I'm really enjoying this game (mostly in a nostalgic kind of way). It doesn't feel as epic yet in terms of plot as the first game and it's not secret that the target audience is children. But if you can see past that it has mostly the same mechanics (with the addition of move leveling and hunger is changed to only effect specific dungeons) and really makes an attempt to enforce positive morals like how others should be treated and not giving up. For this reason I strongly recommend this game for children, but if you enjoy the series then give it a try. Expand
  4. CWL
    Jan 1, 2016
    6
    A mixed experience with a pretty good story and characters countered with gameplay mechanics that don't seem all that the game tells youA mixed experience with a pretty good story and characters countered with gameplay mechanics that don't seem all that the game tells you (cough cough magnegate cough cough) and with a slow start as always, this is the most disappointing game in the MD series, especially coming off of EoS. Expand
  5. Apr 8, 2013
    5
    PMD: Gates to Infinity is kind of a mixed bag. On one side, the graphics are actually very nice; the scenery is engaging and the pokemonPMD: Gates to Infinity is kind of a mixed bag. On one side, the graphics are actually very nice; the scenery is engaging and the pokemon themselves are charmingly handled as well. The magnegate idea to generate new dungeons is a nice touch, and there are tons and tons of items to play with.
    On the other side of things, the aforementioned magnegate is impossible to properly utilize because of how weak the actual mystery dungeon aspect is. The dungeons are randomly generated, but obviously cobbled together from pre-determined chunks, and you'll become all too familiar with them after playing each map a couple of times. The low degree of randomization means that its far too easy to prepare for every eventuality with just a few items, because there's only a few that may challenge you (and the game openly tells you how to deal with them). Though the plot is well-writen and charming enough, the dialogue is miserable even for the standard of a younger audience. I think it can be best summed up with the phrase "you can't just have characters say what they're feeling; that makes me feel angry."

    In spite of its flaws, it is wickedly addicting. Recommend to pokemaniacs, or as an introduction into dungeon crawls, but not many others.
    Expand
  6. Nov 28, 2013
    5
    None of the PMD games were good, this being no exception.

    I just have to say that the story is absolutely ridiculous, overly long, and
    None of the PMD games were good, this being no exception.

    I just have to say that the story is absolutely ridiculous, overly long, and boring. During the few moments when I actually felt an interest in the plot, it's ruined within the minute by some ridiculous plot twist or extremely silly dialogue. The character dialogue stretches for painful hours, and there's no way to skip it. It doesn't help that the script is just pathetic, either. On the other hand, the visuals look quite nice, though the battle animations are lame and dungeon design is very much the same for all of them.

    Pretty much the only part of the story I thought was cool was the beginning--up until the end of the demo. I thought the game looked rather promising after I finished the demo, but I was very wrong...

    Sound is nothing special (the music does not appeal to me at all...), gameplay mechanics are not great, and the oh-so-painful dialogue scenes filled with ridiculous conversations and repetition and repetition and repetition. There's virtually nothing interesting to do after the main story, and I wouldn't be surprised to see people give up on the game before clearing it (due to the text speed).

    Overall, not very good; only the nice 3D Pokemon models keeps this game from falling below mediocrity.

    PRESENTATION: 5.5/10
    CORE GAME: 5/10
    VISUALS: 7/10
    AUDIO: 6/10
    GAMEPLAY: 5/10
    LASTING APPEAL: 4/10
    Expand
  7. Dec 24, 2014
    0
    this is one of the worst games ever they could not wait for x/y to release and put those pokemon in its a very rushed game worst graphics andthis is one of the worst games ever they could not wait for x/y to release and put those pokemon in its a very rushed game worst graphics and the story is cliche Expand

See all 54 User Reviews