Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 69 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 471 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Pokemon X and Y are the first mainline Pokemon games made for the 3DS and feature a mix of Pokemon old and new as well as a trio of new starting Pokemon - a watery toad Froakie, a fiery deer Fennekin, and a grass monster Chespin.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 65 out of 69
  2. Negative: 0 out of 69
  1. Oct 29, 2013
    100
    Bigger, better, stronger and prettier than anything we've ever seen with the label "Pokémon" on the cover.
  2. Oct 4, 2013
    95
    Pokemon X and Y made me feel like I was back on the middle school playground, vying for real-life superiority in battle and communing in trade. I didn't think games could still make me feel that way — but I'm so glad to be proven wrong.
  3. 90
    New Pokémon games often introduce minor features like this but they often feel like slim justification for a new game, and are abandoned the instant a new sequel comes out. Most of X and Y’s new ideas are more substantial, or at least more fun, and help to cement this as the definitive Pokémon game of the modern age.
  4. 90
    Pokémon X & Y do not change the formula of the series but has undoubtedly modified some bases already established. Never before has there been so many novelties to come at once and this is precisely why you will want to play it.
  5. 3D Visuals transformed the classic Pokemon approach in a good way. Online capabilities are top notch, this new generation will really make Pokemon fans happy.
  6. Oct 16, 2013
    85
    Pokémon X & Y celebrate the transition to a full 3D world. And it's a strong success. Kalos is even more alive, gains volume and credibility. The battles improve too, the creatures have never been so real, so well-animated. This and only this can make you buy those games. On the other hand, Pokémon is still the same title, and X & Y keep making the gameplay evolve little by little.
  7. Oct 25, 2013
    60
    There’s a good game in Pokemon Y, and fans looking for another game near-identical to the ones before it likely won’t find issue with a lot of the dusty trimmings and transparent battle system. If you want to get into into the new stat rebuilding features and grind out tons of easy battles to prep for high-level online multiplayer, it’s never been easier to do so. But for all else, the game’s excellent visuals belie the frustratingly old-fashioned design. RPG folk can find better times on their 3DS.

See all 69 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 89 out of 98
  2. Negative: 2 out of 98
  1. Oct 12, 2013
    10
    Any pokemon fan can get this game and enjoy. This game is pretty fun and has beautiful visuals too. Every aspect of pokemon has been improved with pokemon x and y. Collapse
  2. Dec 24, 2013
    10
    Oh my god, this is truly the best Pokemon game to date. Game Freak put in so much that we've been dying for in Pokemon games for years. I recommend this game to everyone. Even if the Team plot feels a bit forced, it's still a blast to play. Lots of replay value, and it's miles better than Pokemon B/W and even the fantastic Pokemon Black 2 and White 2. 10 out of 10. Expand
  3. Jan 18, 2014
    10
    This game may be the pinnacle of handheld games because of its accessibility, depth, addictiveness, replayibility and fun gameplay. This game evolves the Pokémon formula in everyway and is a must have for any 3DS owner. Expand
  4. Jan 20, 2014
    9
    This game is a great addition to the Nintendo 3DS. While there are less Pokemon than in previous titles,and the 3D mode lowers frame rate,this is an amazing game many should plat at least once. Expand
  5. Jul 23, 2014
    9
    One of the single best games I've ever played. Engaging, fun, beautiful, and is considered by some, including me, to be the turn for pokemon games that will bring them to even higher standards in the future. So much content for your money, although I wish there were a way to get your pokemon from older generations to your current game without paying extra. Also, the pokemon themselves are some of my favorites from any of the generations, and so many are great in their own ways. And, if you haven't heard yet, there's a new type introduced... Expand
  6. Jun 4, 2014
    8
    If you're a Pokemon fan, this game is a must by. Pokemon Y is a lot of fun and features the same charm and challenge level as the previous versions. The visuals are amazing and the new Pokemon are much better than the ones in Gen 5. The online features of this game like wonder trade work great. The main downside is the storyline which feels bad and the post game activities are also lacking. Nonetheless, Pokemon Y is a great improvement from Gen 5 and is a great game. Expand
  7. Oct 14, 2013
    5
    While a visually stunning game, this iteration of Pokémon has many outstanding faults. The aforementioned stunning visuals are not paired with an equally stunning camera, which often spins around for no reason, and in the case of the central city, manages to confuse the player. The user interface has been dumbed down and made even less usable than in black and white, this games predecessors. HeartGold and SoulSilver, two remakes, have had the best user interfaces to date, and both were promptly forgotten by The Pokémon Company. The new Pokémon are often inventive and interesting, though many are just down-right awful. The difficulty level spikes perceptibly after the sixth or seventh gym, leaving you to grind unnecessarily for quite some time on victory road before attempting the Elite Four. This inconsistent level-design leaves you frustrated for multiple hours. Though many will laud this game for its visual splendor and new art direction, I cannot see that as a redeeming factor. The new towns and characters are also with little point and much frustration. The new scientist is annoying, the new villain and his team are ridiculous, and your characters friends are a bunch of hand-picked cliche's. Even many of the new graphically impressive towns are forgettable, the aforementioned main city being the exception due to its annoying nature and design. For me, this game is a clear case of style over substance, leaving much to be desired from Nintendo's first attempt at a fully realized 3D Pokémon on a flag-ship hand-held. I love Pokémon, I take out the original once a year, pop it into my GBC attachment for my N64, put on Dodrio mode and beat it in one sitting. I have played and loved every game since (even Black and White, somehow), but this is a vast disappointment. The Pokémon Company had the chance to make their opus, their masterpiece, a defining game for a generation of gamers waiting for one of their most beloved series to come into the 21st century, except all we are left with is a poorly designed game that may show that Gamefreak is losing its touch. Expand

See all 98 User Reviews