Pokemon Y 3DS

Pokemon Y Image
Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 69 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 733 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Pokemon X and Y are the first mainline Pokemon games made for the 3DS and feature a mix of Pokemon old and new as well as a trio of new starting Pokemon - a watery toad Froakie, a fiery deer Fennekin, and a grass monster Chespin.
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 65 out of 69
  2. Negative: 0 out of 69
  1. Oct 29, 2013
    100
    Bigger, better, stronger and prettier than anything we've ever seen with the label "Pokémon" on the cover.
  2. Oct 4, 2013
    95
    Pokemon X and Y made me feel like I was back on the middle school playground, vying for real-life superiority in battle and communing in trade. I didn't think games could still make me feel that way — but I'm so glad to be proven wrong.
  3. 90
    New Pokémon games often introduce minor features like this but they often feel like slim justification for a new game, and are abandoned the instant a new sequel comes out. Most of X and Y’s new ideas are more substantial, or at least more fun, and help to cement this as the definitive Pokémon game of the modern age.
  4. 90
    Pokémon X & Y do not change the formula of the series but has undoubtedly modified some bases already established. Never before has there been so many novelties to come at once and this is precisely why you will want to play it.
  5. 3D Visuals transformed the classic Pokemon approach in a good way. Online capabilities are top notch, this new generation will really make Pokemon fans happy.
  6. Oct 16, 2013
    85
    Pokémon X & Y celebrate the transition to a full 3D world. And it's a strong success. Kalos is even more alive, gains volume and credibility. The battles improve too, the creatures have never been so real, so well-animated. This and only this can make you buy those games. On the other hand, Pokémon is still the same title, and X & Y keep making the gameplay evolve little by little.
  7. Oct 25, 2013
    60
    There’s a good game in Pokemon Y, and fans looking for another game near-identical to the ones before it likely won’t find issue with a lot of the dusty trimmings and transparent battle system. If you want to get into into the new stat rebuilding features and grind out tons of easy battles to prep for high-level online multiplayer, it’s never been easier to do so. But for all else, the game’s excellent visuals belie the frustratingly old-fashioned design. RPG folk can find better times on their 3DS.

See all 69 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 6 out of 142
  1. Nov 6, 2013
    10
    Pokemon Y is a stunning game for the 3DS. The way you interact is great. You can change clothes and more. New artwork. The characters are noPokemon Y is a stunning game for the 3DS. The way you interact is great. You can change clothes and more. New artwork. The characters are no longer look like pixels. Mega evolution changes your pokemon and make them stronger. Expand
  2. Nov 8, 2015
    10
    Poke'mon X/Y gives the Poke'mon series the shot in the arm it needed. As a lapsed fan it certainly succeeded in pulling me back in. PerhapsPoke'mon X/Y gives the Poke'mon series the shot in the arm it needed. As a lapsed fan it certainly succeeded in pulling me back in. Perhaps part of that is due to the familiar faces from Generation 1 that I had grown up with. Does that make me nostalgic? Perhaps. Does it make me a genwunner? Not really as I found some new favorites too. The most immediate impression you will have with Poke'mon X/Y is that it significantly overhauls the visuals. Battles are now rendered in full 3D and are a joy to behold.

    The Poke'mon series hasn't evolved dramatically over the years but it has added new mechanics over time that all come into play in Poke'mon X/Y. Prior games introduced things like dual types, natures, IV's and EV's, breeding, team battles, etc. It even allows you to fully customize a male or female character for the first time. Poke'mon X and Y introduces Mega Evolution that can change your poke'mon's type among other things mid-battle which adds another layer of complexity.

    Pokemon X/Y also has a robust online with additions like Wonder Trading. The slot machine like nature of wonder trade is a gamble but it can certainly pay off if people offer more than just another diglet, vulpix, or other common poke'mon.

    The story which is simple but serviceable will last you about 40 hours give or take. But I was surprised to find that playing a half hour here, a hour there, all total I had put over 600 hours into Poke'mon X. Collecting, trading, evolving and battling are as addictive as ever. The meta game in Poke'mon offers plenty of value alone. Building a team and raising their stats through super training or even just trying to collect all 700+ poke'mon. Poke'mon X and its counterpart Y are perhaps the best main entries in the series to date.
    Expand
  3. Oct 12, 2013
    10
    Any pokemon fan can get this game and enjoy. This game is pretty fun and has beautiful visuals too. Every aspect of pokemon has been improvedAny pokemon fan can get this game and enjoy. This game is pretty fun and has beautiful visuals too. Every aspect of pokemon has been improved with pokemon x and y. Collapse
  4. Jul 23, 2014
    9
    One of the single best games I've ever played. Engaging, fun, beautiful, and is considered by some, including me, to be the turn for pokemonOne of the single best games I've ever played. Engaging, fun, beautiful, and is considered by some, including me, to be the turn for pokemon games that will bring them to even higher standards in the future. So much content for your money, although I wish there were a way to get your pokemon from older generations to your current game without paying extra. Also, the pokemon themselves are some of my favorites from any of the generations, and so many are great in their own ways. And, if you haven't heard yet, there's a new type introduced... Expand
  5. Oct 14, 2013
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Great visuals, new Pokemon and the same fighting simulation makes Pokemon Y a must-have for the 3DS. Pokemon are now rendered into 3D models instead of the dated sprites as well as the player character, who can now be customized to your heart's content. The only downside to X and Y is that 3D only works in single battles or certain places on the map. Turning the 3D on also causes a blow to the frame-rate. Thought there are less new Pokemon (69 regulars, not including the Mega Evolutions), their designs are presented well in origin and detail. You simply can't hate the new ones, unlike the horror of the 5th gen games (I'm talking about you Trubbish, Vanillite, etc). Overall, a great gaming experience, just don't turn on the 3D. If you are a fan of Pokemon, RPG's or own a 3DS, make sure to pick up October's hottest title, Pokemon Y! Expand
  6. Nov 10, 2013
    8
    Short answer: if you loved past pokemon games this one is much of the same. Long answer: this game is another strong iteration of the previousShort answer: if you loved past pokemon games this one is much of the same. Long answer: this game is another strong iteration of the previous pokemon games, but of course it does have problems. I'm not going to cover the jump into 3d because they did it fairly well, aside from a few camera mishaps it was a solid try at 3d and it was good that they chose to do it now because the 2d concept for pokemon games is a 10 year old idea... the game plays exactly the same as past games but I enjoy having the little mini games that can up your pokemon's stats making it less frustrating to E.V. train them. But I found the wonder trading system to completely remove the need of the gts system (i got a ditto for virtually nothing and a charmander for again, virtually nothing. when the opposite can be said when trying to get them via gts) aside from that though, it is worth the 40 dollar price tag, 8/10 Expand
  7. Aug 5, 2015
    0
    This game wasn't worth it, it was boring and bland, the partners are AWFUL and the theme to them is crap, Team Flare has to most stupidestThis game wasn't worth it, it was boring and bland, the partners are AWFUL and the theme to them is crap, Team Flare has to most stupidest Villan ever and the "Destory ugly" plot was awful. Expand

See all 142 User Reviews