Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 69 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 472 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Pokemon X and Y are the first mainline Pokemon games made for the 3DS and feature a mix of Pokemon old and new as well as a trio of new starting Pokemon - a watery toad Froakie, a fiery deer Fennekin, and a grass monster Chespin.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 65 out of 69
  2. Negative: 0 out of 69
  1. Oct 29, 2013
    100
    Bigger, better, stronger and prettier than anything we've ever seen with the label "Pokémon" on the cover.
  2. Oct 4, 2013
    95
    Pokemon X and Y made me feel like I was back on the middle school playground, vying for real-life superiority in battle and communing in trade. I didn't think games could still make me feel that way — but I'm so glad to be proven wrong.
  3. 90
    New Pokémon games often introduce minor features like this but they often feel like slim justification for a new game, and are abandoned the instant a new sequel comes out. Most of X and Y’s new ideas are more substantial, or at least more fun, and help to cement this as the definitive Pokémon game of the modern age.
  4. 90
    Pokémon X & Y do not change the formula of the series but has undoubtedly modified some bases already established. Never before has there been so many novelties to come at once and this is precisely why you will want to play it.
  5. 3D Visuals transformed the classic Pokemon approach in a good way. Online capabilities are top notch, this new generation will really make Pokemon fans happy.
  6. Oct 16, 2013
    85
    Pokémon X & Y celebrate the transition to a full 3D world. And it's a strong success. Kalos is even more alive, gains volume and credibility. The battles improve too, the creatures have never been so real, so well-animated. This and only this can make you buy those games. On the other hand, Pokémon is still the same title, and X & Y keep making the gameplay evolve little by little.
  7. Oct 25, 2013
    60
    There’s a good game in Pokemon Y, and fans looking for another game near-identical to the ones before it likely won’t find issue with a lot of the dusty trimmings and transparent battle system. If you want to get into into the new stat rebuilding features and grind out tons of easy battles to prep for high-level online multiplayer, it’s never been easier to do so. But for all else, the game’s excellent visuals belie the frustratingly old-fashioned design. RPG folk can find better times on their 3DS.

See all 69 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 90 out of 99
  2. Negative: 2 out of 99
  1. Oct 12, 2013
    10
    Any pokemon fan can get this game and enjoy. This game is pretty fun and has beautiful visuals too. Every aspect of pokemon has been improved with pokemon x and y. Expand
  2. Dec 13, 2013
    10
    I gave Pokemon X&Y 10 eventhough I should have rated it 8. 10 because the game transitioned very well and was able to create a visually beautiful Pokemon game. It has added a lot of gameplay elements but the best yet is it's online feature. My only disappointment was there is very few things to do, post-game. I wish there was an option for those who are not inclined in competitive battling like me for something else to do aside from breeding and training your perfect pokemon. Expand
  3. Jul 10, 2014
    10
    If you ever liked Pokemon, or have an interest in RPG's then this is one gem you should not miss.

    A complete update to the previous
    generation. Pokemon Y is the biggest leap forward for the series since it went to colour. The story is actually good for once, the combat is visually pleasant, there are hundreds of pokemon to capture and raise, a few hours in, and your team will be different from your friends thanks to the variety of pokemon to capture early on.

    The options that make the game to easy, such as exp share, and Battle style can be switched off. Character customisation makes you feel more attached to your character then ever.

    In closing, this game has the polish and play time you rarely see these days, and will give you, like myself, hundreds of hours of entertainment.
    Expand
  4. Jan 8, 2014
    9
    As a die hard fan of this series, this game did not disappoint. The new and refined gameplay makes the series feel new again and the huge amount of Pokemon you can find just adds to the fun. The soundtrack is very memorable and the story is suprisingly dark. However, the new Pokemon amount is very few (70? come on) and the game after the main story is rather lacking. But with so many Pokemon to catch and train, i honestly think that this is not the issue. One of the best games on the 3DS and definitely earns a spot on your library. Expand
  5. Jul 2, 2014
    9
    Pokémon X y Pokémon Y se convierten en las entregas más innovadoras y completas de la saga sirviendo como enlace para futuras entregas en la portátil 3DS de Nintendo. A nivel gráfico desprenden una calidad abrumadora convirtiéndolo en uno de los imprescindibles del catálogo avanzando a pasos de gigante en el universo Pokémon. Ofrecernos un amplio abanico de captura desde el comienzo, el lavado de cara muy importante, poseer la región más grande y tener una historia convincente llena de sorpresas le convierten, quizá, en lo mejor hasta la fecha de la propia saga.

    Gráficos: 85
    Sonido: 90
    Jugabilidad: 95
    Modos de juego: 90
    Nota: 90
    Expand
  6. Feb 26, 2014
    8
    I have played every generation of Pokemon but I was disappointed with generations 4 and in particular 5. X/Y has thankfully bucked this trend though is not without flaws.

    The story is exactly the same as any other game in the series but did we think they would change it after all this time?

    Visually it is amazing. I know Pokemon games tend to see big graphical improvements from one generation to the next but I don't think anyone expected anything like this. Battles look amazing, some of the animations are top class as well.

    As always we have seen new Pokemon but a lot less then what we have previously seen but with the introduction of the fairy type and new type combinations it has mixed things up.

    The main problem with the game is the difficulty AKA EXP share. With it on you can beat the game easily. I was 10 levels higher than the champion in my first play through. With it off you find yourself quickly out leveled. This means to play it normally you need to constantly turn the thing off and on again.

    Not a problem but something I don't like is the mega evolutions. I think its more gimmicky then anything else. An excuse to cave into pressure to make Charizard a dragon type.
    Expand
  7. Oct 14, 2013
    5
    While a visually stunning game, this iteration of Pokémon has many outstanding faults. The aforementioned stunning visuals are not paired with an equally stunning camera, which often spins around for no reason, and in the case of the central city, manages to confuse the player. The user interface has been dumbed down and made even less usable than in black and white, this games predecessors. HeartGold and SoulSilver, two remakes, have had the best user interfaces to date, and both were promptly forgotten by The Pokémon Company. The new Pokémon are often inventive and interesting, though many are just down-right awful. The difficulty level spikes perceptibly after the sixth or seventh gym, leaving you to grind unnecessarily for quite some time on victory road before attempting the Elite Four. This inconsistent level-design leaves you frustrated for multiple hours. Though many will laud this game for its visual splendor and new art direction, I cannot see that as a redeeming factor. The new towns and characters are also with little point and much frustration. The new scientist is annoying, the new villain and his team are ridiculous, and your characters friends are a bunch of hand-picked cliche's. Even many of the new graphically impressive towns are forgettable, the aforementioned main city being the exception due to its annoying nature and design. For me, this game is a clear case of style over substance, leaving much to be desired from Nintendo's first attempt at a fully realized 3D Pokémon on a flag-ship hand-held. I love Pokémon, I take out the original once a year, pop it into my GBC attachment for my N64, put on Dodrio mode and beat it in one sitting. I have played and loved every game since (even Black and White, somehow), but this is a vast disappointment. The Pokémon Company had the chance to make their opus, their masterpiece, a defining game for a generation of gamers waiting for one of their most beloved series to come into the 21st century, except all we are left with is a poorly designed game that may show that Gamefreak is losing its touch. Expand

See all 99 User Reviews