Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 54 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 85 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Professor Layton's first adventure on the Nintendo 3DS system takes him to the colorful city of Monte d'Or, where he must stop a mysterious man from wreaking havoc with the powerful Mask of Chaos.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 48 out of 54
  2. Negative: 0 out of 54
  1. Nov 5, 2012
    100
    Combine the new 3D effect and art style with an intriguing look at Layton's history, along with a story that manages to propel the series forward, and you're left with what I believe to be the best in the series so far.
  2. Oct 15, 2012
    90
    The broad range of characters, the emotional tone of the storyline and the teasing promise of more makes for an utterly engrossing experience. The question is whether this is worth your money; if you enjoy puzzles and charming tales of adventure, then you should already know the answer.
  3. Oct 26, 2012
    87
    Probably, the best entry in the series.
  4. Oct 30, 2012
    80
    For its first arrival on Nintendo 3DS, Professor Layton's series is fairly shy. Except from an all new engine and a really good 3D effect, the game's core is still the same. Layton walk around in Dorémont or his childhood village to resolve more than 150 riddles with his sidekicks Emmy and Luke in present tilmes, while Randall act in the past. Two interesting storylines which further a great sense of immersion. Effective and straightforward, Professor Layton and the Miracle Mask is a really nice gaming experience, despite its lack of freshness.
  5. Dec 17, 2012
    80
    A sweet, good-natured puzzler that continues the series' traditions with some great new elements, too. [Jan 2013, p.69]
  6. Nov 11, 2012
    80
    Overall, though, this game hits all the notes that a professor Layton title should, resulting in another rewarding, cerebally invigorating quest. [Nov 2012, p.80]
  7. Oct 26, 2012
    70
    Layton is a good distance removed from the hysteria that surrounded his debut title, then, but the fifth game in this stylised series is enough to keep you entertained.

See all 54 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 19
  2. Negative: 0 out of 19
  1. Oct 28, 2012
    10
    Fantastic! This whole series is the best of the Nintendo DS! I recommend this game to everyone. You won't regret this purchase even if you haven't played any of the other 4 in the series before this one. The puzzles are the best in the business. Plus, as a bonus you get one puzzle download a day for the next 365 days! 150 + 365 = 515 puzzles total by October 28, 2013! A+ 10/10. Expand
  2. Oct 15, 2013
    10
    This is an amazing game! Brilliant story, brilliant puzzles, brilliant music and I was a bit uncertain of the 3D graphics before I played it, but I now think that they work really well. The Professor Layton series is my favorite DS/3DS series and Miracle Mask is the best game in that series. I honestly can not think of any problems I had with it (or am having, because of the daily puzzles) and I am really envious of Japan as it has set up for the next game brilliantly. Expand
  3. Nov 14, 2012
    10
    While Lost Future still contains my favourite story, Miracle Mask definitely has the best gameplay in a Layton game to date. I go to explore these underground ruins, expecting it to be a series of doors locked by puzzles, and the game actually turns into a dungeon crawler, while still maintaining the Layton style of using your brain to get through. The game's villain escapes being pursued by Layton and co on horseback, and you actually get to control this section and give chase. The new 3D puzzles are all excellent uses of what the 3DS can do. The story is incredibly interesting, miles better than Spector's call, (which is an achievement) telling the story of how Layton lost his best friend in the past, and at the same time showing us this beautiful city being under constant attacks by the "masked gentleman" and his "miracles". Seeing the two timelines intersect made for some really good storytelling. I'd definitely recommend this. Expand
  4. Dec 7, 2012
    9
    This game is very good. The storyline, as always, never fails to impress, although shorter than the others. The puzzles are sometimes quite challenging, the game play is also different in some parts, like an RPG style. Another thing that gives the 9.3 rating is the daily puzzles for a year. That is about it, only minor things make it lose the 7% Expand
  5. Nov 11, 2012
    9
    I was a bit worried when Level-5 said they were bringing the Professor Layton series to the 3DS, because I wasn't sure how well the 3D would be utilized for a typically beautiful 2D game. Well despite my worries, Level-5 manages to create an experience that wouldn't be the same on the standard Nintendo DS. The use of 3D models, though a bit odd at first, really works nicely with the art style. Even the cutscenes (which are typically in their standard 2D format) pop out and really add a sense of depth with the 3D slider on. The music is beautiful, and like always, really adds a feel to each area you encounter. There isn't much that has changed about the gameplay from the previous entries in the series, you go around solving puzzles in order to uncover a huge mystery. It will feel really familiar to veterans of the series. Also, don't go in expecting much to change with the gameplay, because it hasn't. There are a few minigames of sorts that use the touch screen, but are rare and nothing spectacular. The real appeal to this game is the fact that fans will get a deeper look into Layton's history. The game switches between the present day problem, and a series of events that occurred 18 years prior. The flow was never really an issue, except I wasn't a huge fan of Chapter 6. I won't spoil anything about it, other than it sort of breaks up the flow of the game, in my opinion. Other than that, the story is wonderfully told, and the ending will have you begging to play the last entry. Outside of the main game, you have the minigames that are in your trunk, and though I never got particularly into them, they do add some more gameplay. Also, as in previous games, there are outside puzzles that you can unlock after you complete the game. Plus, Nintendo is releasing puzzles every day for a whole year. This adds up to enough gameplay to make this game well worth your money. Now, an issue I could see with the game is that it doesn't do a great job explaining what happened previously (which could be good, if you want to play the others in the franchise) making it difficult for new players to fully appreciate Layton and Luke. However, all in all, this game is an excellent addition to your 3DS collection, and a must play for any Professor Layton fan. 9/10 Expand
  6. Nov 16, 2012
    8
    CRUMPETS AND TEA ANYONE?!?! You play as a jolly old bloke in this game and wear a hat....you are also a professor and the art design of your face is severely lacking. Expand
  7. May 13, 2014
    5
    The game is stylus intense game and boring for me. The story is dramatic and full if puzzle games ,if you want to experience a good story , go and watch some epic anime.....This is my personal opinion , the game is not worthy for its price , its design seem to be like an erotic game........Really not my favorite game at all time , I might think brain age is much better than this game (for brain challenging). Great music of course , but the story cannot engage me to play until the end of game , I have to tire myself to finish the game for writing the review.
    CONCLUSION IS:
    -Dramatic but not engaging story
    -Great music and puzzles but totally not suitable for those lazy to do the puzzles
    -Stylus intense game might damage your screen protector (based on your using style)
    -3.5 star sound cast for me....
    -A lot of contents but not my cup of tea
    -The game is not flexible
    -Some anime could provide a much better story than this game.....other than the story , the puzzles is boring to me, if the main story cannot attract you (puzzles too) than it may be a great waste.....
    -So, i would not recommend this game for someone who never play the series before
    Expand

See all 19 User Reviews