Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 69 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 55 out of 69
  2. Negative: 1 out of 69
Buy On
  1. Sep 7, 2014
    70
    Though it’s engrossing in its own right, and it provides a hearty serving of gameplay, Professor Layton vs Phoenix Wright: Ace Attorney feels full of wasted potential.
  2. Aug 25, 2014
    70
    Professor Layton vs. Phoenix Wright drags on too long, but even towards the end it's enjoyable at its basest of levels.
  3. Hyper Magazine
    May 4, 2014
    70
    It's great, but not quite as strong as either series' peak. [June 2014, p.66]
  4. Mar 19, 2014
    70
    it’s too wordy for its own good, and the clash of styles is sometimes jarring and somewhat nonsensical, but this blend of two classics maintains enough quality from each to be well worth investigating. a thoroughly enjoyable and engaging crossover.
  5. Mar 18, 2014
    70
    It’s worth a go if you’re a fan of either series, and you won’t be disappointed by the story – just be prepared to invest plenty of time to see it through.
  6. Mar 18, 2014
    70
    Though the necessities of catering to two different audiences mean that it perhaps never quite reaches the heights of either of the pair’s best individual outings, as the credits roll, you’ll likely experience a hollow feeling, the emptiness that only the best stories leave behind.
  7. Sep 4, 2014
    68
    In the end, the game attempts to pull back the curtain with a certain amount of Scooby-Doo.
  8. I even occasionally found myself skipping through the all-important court dialogue without reading, then using hint coins to solve the case just so I could get back to Layton’s puzzles.
  9. Sep 21, 2014
    60
    Despite being a long time coming for North American fans, the real value here is more about getting two gameplay experiences for the price of one. That’s just enough to keep this one from being an average experience.
  10. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    May 16, 2014
    60
    New world, new clashes in the courtroom, good old heroes. If you count yourselves among their fans, you’ll won’t be disappointed. [Issue#241]
  11. Apr 13, 2014
    60
    A bit disappointing start aside, Professor Layton vs. Phoenix Wright becomes a pretty descent game after a couple of hours, even if the gameplay is full of missing potential. Instead of a interesting mash-up it's safety first, with well known mechanics and very few surprises.
  12. 60
    So, again; fried chicken is awesome. Choc mint gelato is delicious. Combining the two is not the great experience that does justice to either flavour.
  13. CD-Action
    Jul 25, 2014
    50
    There’s around 8 hours of great story here. Unfortunately it was bloated into 20 hours of ordeal. [07/2014, p.69]
User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 94 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 13
  2. Negative: 0 out of 13
  1. Jul 13, 2015
    10
    A truly fantastic crossover. However, its biggest flaw is that it is aimed at fans of both PL and AA, and people who have only played one ofA truly fantastic crossover. However, its biggest flaw is that it is aimed at fans of both PL and AA, and people who have only played one of the game series may be frustrated at some points. But, once you learn the ropes of the game, said "biggest flaw" becomes insignificant, and the game will become an experience you will not soon forget. Full Review »
  2. May 8, 2015
    10
    I'm a fan of the Phoenix Wright series, so I picked this game up thinking it would be a cool game to play after I was finished playing PhoenixI'm a fan of the Phoenix Wright series, so I picked this game up thinking it would be a cool game to play after I was finished playing Phoenix Wright 3 on the 3DS. Playing the game immediately after playing a Phoenix Wright game made it pretty obvious that this game is short in some of the key Ace Attorney elements. My main complaint would be that every investigation sequence featuring Phoenix is very short and seems pretty shoe horned in.
    To be honest, this doesn't really detract that much from the game at all. It is still plenty long even without a whole lot of collecting clues and interrogating people. The two series worked really well together, and the court sequences are an exciting way to advance the story, even if a lot of the contradictions you find are similar to those in the Larry Butz "The Thinker" case.
    I agree that this game seems like more of a Professor Layton game with Ace Attorney elements, but who cares it is still an awesome game. Great music, cool characters, awesome story this game has it all! I am playing the Miracle Mask now, thanks to this game.
    Full Review »
  3. Mar 26, 2015
    7
    As someone who has never played a Professor Layton game I found his segment boring, but the trials are the same as the ones that we have grownAs someone who has never played a Professor Layton game I found his segment boring, but the trials are the same as the ones that we have grown to love from the Ace Attorney series, also the voice acting (for Pheonix and Maya at least) sucked and the difficulty of the puzzles were incredibly inconsistent, but overall it's a good game Full Review »