Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 45 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 35 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: "Rhythm Thief & the Emperor's Treasure blends rhythm, puzzles and a compelling story set in one of the world's most exciting cities in a way that has never been seen before,"says Gary Knight, Senior Vice President of Marketing at SEGA Europe and SEGA of America. "This unique blend makes creative use of the Nintendo 3DS' technology, offering an engaging, challenging and most importantly fun experience throughout.

    Rhythm Thief & the Emperor's Treasure sees players enter the secret life of Raphael, infamous among Parisians as an honorable thief for stealing famous works of art only to return them days later. Dive into Raphael's world and help him find the Wristlet of Tiamat to unmask the mystery behind his father's disappearance. While unravelling the truth players will encounter an assortment of different rhythm challenges to master. Tap the screen, swipe the stylus and control the gyro to the beat of the music to maneuver Raphael through the unique streets of Paris, brought to life by stylish animations and vibrant 3D maps and landscapes.
    Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 45
  2. Negative: 0 out of 45
  1. Apr 24, 2012
    90
    Overall Rhythm Thief & the Emperor's Treasure is a must-buy for all 3DS-owners. You will be treated to a great adventure that you'll want to play over and over again and more crazy minigames than you ever dreamed of. Now I'm waiting for a sequel.
  2. Apr 11, 2012
    85
    Ryhthm Thief and the Emperor's Treasure is more than it appears to be. It is not just another music and rhythm game, but an engaging title that will make us play for hours. The story it offers is a right decision, as it invites us to keep playing and advance to unlock more songs.
  3. Apr 3, 2012
    80
    The start of something magical, Rhythm Thief and the Emperor's Treasure will no doubt blossom into the next Professor Layton or Phoenix Wright for 3DS.
  4. Jul 10, 2012
    80
    One can complain that Rhythm Thief and the Emperor's Treasure isn't all that new, but it often takes the portable puzzle-adventure genre to new heights via an abundance of addictive minigames.
  5. Jul 13, 2012
    75
    Rhythm Thief's collection of musical minigames is one of the best in recent memory, but the game's bogged down by dull adventure segments and a broken rating system.
  6. 70
    Catchy mix of music and rhythm game with adventures elements with a specific main hero brings lots of entertainment with very few frustrating moments. [May 2012]
  7. May 21, 2012
    55
    So yes, there's a good game in Rhythm Thief. It's a game that's not shy about its commitment to accurately evoking the skill and dexterity required of a master thief and master dancer, and as a result it's a fun and formidable challenge, regardless of whether Raphael is stomping the yard or stomping some goons. However, that game's built into a story so anodyne, so unimaginative, so resolute in its seriousness, that it's almost not worth the pain.

See all 45 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 11
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 11
  3. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. Nov 4, 2012
    10
    A wonderful game. The music is catchy and fantastic, and the rhythm games are brilliant. A unique and interesting story blend the whole thing together with beautifully animated 3D cutscenes. You really should go and buy this now. Congratulations SEGA. Expand
  2. Mar 5, 2013
    10
    I think this game was really really cool although it was a little hard. The story really caught my attention. I think the hardest level is R37. I really enjoyed this playing this game and you will too. Expand
  3. Feb 25, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This was the best game I ever played, Raphael is a really cool character also Fondue. SEGA was really talented to make this. Also the Rhythm Games are pretty interesting and it has an engaging storyline. I hope they make a sequel. Also each Rhythm Game as you progress through gets harder and it teaches you French. This is really good and I recommend it for anyone! Expand
  4. Jul 13, 2013
    9
    They doomed this game in the US by releasing it the same month as Theatrerhythm, I mean are people going to buy a new IP or a game celebrating final fantasy music? I got both but few did of course. Rhythm Thief stands on its own as a great game, the music is catchy, the characters are great, the story was really good and it was left open for a sequel. Not sure we will ever see it after that terrible release window but I do hope so, I really enjoyed this game from start to finish. Expand
  5. Jul 18, 2012
    9
    So, after playing Rhythm Thief and doing everything there is to do in the game, I must say, I'm impressed! The game does to the rhythm genre what Layton does to the puzzle genre: Add a plot to a genre which is normally just minigames. And it does it in an anime style, too, which I love, being a huge anime fan. The plot is basically this: You play as a guy named Raphael who lives a secret life as the famous Phantom R, a thief who steals artwork, artifacts, and a bunch of rare stuff like that from museums around Paris only to return them later.Phantom R's father left him when he was a child and left him with a coin with an unusual mark on it. He looks in the newspaper and sees that the Louvre has a bracelet which has the same mark. Thinking it has something to do with his father, he and his dog, Fondue, set out to steal it and the plot fleshes out from there. I'll go ahead and say that the entire game isn't getting the bracelet. You get it in the first chapter, actually. So it's not one of those kinds of games where the entire game is doing one set goal. Like any good game, the plot has plenty of twists and turns to keep you going, with most of the important parts told in anime cutscenes. It's all incredibly entertaining and the plot is one of the best aspects of the game. As for the main attraction, the gameplay, then it's all excellent. Unlike most rhythm games, there are variations in the gameplay. In the first level, you have to slide the stylus in different directions in time with the beat. In the next, you have to hide behind statues to prevent being caught by guards. In the next, you have to fight the henchmen of the main villain, Napoleon. Yes, Bonaparte. He's the game's main villain. But back to the gameplay, each of the 50 levels in the game are all varied and original. Even though some minigames share gameplay types, then the missions that do are far apart enough to make you not notice. It's all brilliant and the way it's set up makes it create a story that doesn't cut corners. You know how Dragonball Z games skip story to get to the fights? Well, in this game, the story IS the rhythm games. So the plot isn't butchered because of the lack of minigames. None of the segments in the game feel shoved in the plot for the sake of it. As for the games themselves, they all are incredibly fun and the controls are responsive enough to make it be your fault if you mess up and not the game's. The only levels that I have a problem with are the ones that use the 3DS gyroscope. To be specific, the fighting levels. Though, there are only 2 of those in the game. 2 more missions that I hate are the 2 poodle levels. You have to control Fondue and a Poodle both at the same time and unless you have two pairs of eyes, you're going to lose. A lot. The other 46 missions are great, though. Another thing: much like Layton, you move around in a point and click kind of world. You can search for coins in the game, which are much more plentiful than Hint Coins in Layton because there are some on every screen, and purchase things from Auban's shop, like cutscenes you've viewed and help for minigames for those levels where you're just stumped. I like the coin system and I think it works. Also, did I ever mention that Paris is bigger than all of the worlds in Layton combined? It's huge. REALLY huge. In fact, it's somewhat of an issue. Some of the names for the parts of Paris are french, making them hard to tell apart. The game helps with this by making the path to the story colored red on the map. Follow the red, follow the story. Of course, it's great with how its set up and I just love it. Also, as for characters, they're all awesome. Every. Single. One of them. Seriously. A few of our characters other than Raphael and Fondue are Marie, a girl who plays violin and has the same mark on her violin as on the coin and the bracelet, Inspector Vergier, who is a cop who is trying to catch Phantom R and loves Paris and wants to protect it with all his heart, Charlie, Vergier's kid, who wants to help Vergier catch Phantom R, and Napoleon, the main villain, who has control over the world's suckiest army and has supposedly been revived from the dead. All of the characters are lovable and, out of all of them, my favorite is Vergier. His love for Paris really shows in the later half on the game and you have no choice but to respect a guy who goes through a bunch of stuff to protect Paris. The music is also, great. So great, that I'm listening to it as I write this review. Considering that if I talked anymore about how great this game is then I would run out of characters, then I should rap this up. Rhythm Thief is a great game that anyone should check out. Even if you don't like rhythm games. In fact, this is the first rhythm game I've ever played and I love it! Go Moonwalk over to the nearest game store and pick this up. You're sure to love it. I give Rhythm Thief and the Emperor's Treasure a 9/10 Expand
  6. Jan 13, 2014
    9
    really wonderful game,i love both the music and rhythm games,the story is interesting with beautiful cutscene, only downside are the rhythm games with the 3DS gyroscope(but there are only 5 ,so i forgive them) overall i really enjoyed playing it and i really hope they make a sequel. Expand
  7. Jul 26, 2012
    8
    Rhythm Thief is a catchy 3DS rhythm puzzle/action adventure game with a noirish narrative motivated structure. The gameplay itself is fast paced when engaging in the nunerous rhythm challenges. The stylus and gyroscope controls are used creatively to make some endearing and fun mini games. Some of the asides to the beat matching gameplay are a bit off though. For example there are puzzles where you have to perform a sequence, which may add to the thievish aesthetic but add nothing to the rhythm gameplay. Some may also find it to be a bit too much like Layton. Whether in the form of the art style or the noirish elements, some may not find a distinction. However, what we have is a perfectly enjoyable and playable rhythm action title that's fun whilst it lasts. Expand

See all 11 User Reviews