Rusty's Real Deal Baseball 3DS

User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 23 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 23
  2. Negative: 4 out of 23

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 4, 2014
    8
    So far it's been a solid game. Your mileage may vary on the minigames, but listening and talking with Rusty so far has been a hoot. I'm still on the fence whether the "haggle for lower prices on micro-transactions" is exceptionally brilliant, or disturbingly scummy. But I can't deny it's satisfying. Play this one for the novelty and the humor, rather than the basic but fun minigames.
  2. Apr 5, 2014
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. A disturbingly solid, addictive game. Purchases are high at first, but you negotiate price with a little dog in a Phoenix Wright type of system to turn four dollar purchases into 2 bucks or under (minimum 1.50 per game). Fun, addictive, pricey but a guilty pleasure even for me, a guy who normally hates baseball. Expand
  3. Apr 20, 2014
    10
    This game is surprisingly great. The actual baseball mechanics in the minigames are some of the best ever and would make for a great full game. If you've played the MLB Power Pros/Jikkyou Powerful Pros series, this has a similar feel: simple but perfect controls, somewhat exaggerated pitch dynamics, and an emphasis on timing. This might be the first baseball game where fielding is actuallyThis game is surprisingly great. The actual baseball mechanics in the minigames are some of the best ever and would make for a great full game. If you've played the MLB Power Pros/Jikkyou Powerful Pros series, this has a similar feel: simple but perfect controls, somewhat exaggerated pitch dynamics, and an emphasis on timing. This might be the first baseball game where fielding is actually fun. The minigames themselves are very addictive and have about a million levels and high score challenges, so at about $1.50 each (if you haggle down the price), they're a great value. Sometimes, unexpected ones (like umpiring) can be the most fun. The whole haggling concept is so weird and original, as is the storyline, and it's so nice to see Nintendo bother to bring over one of those bizarre Japanese games that's probably destined for a cult audience. If you're a baseball fan, this game is especially for you, but I would recommend it to anyone. Expand
  4. Apr 4, 2014
    9
    one of best free-to-play game ever!
    the mini games are awesome and customize the baseball bat is grate as well
    i enjoyed changing shirts on the game but i wish they let you customize the shirts, pants etc
  5. Apr 3, 2014
    4
    I was kinda eager to play this, now I'm a little disappointed, I expected a little more from the free version.
    it is basically a demo of the game ( literally, you get just a demo of a in-game mini-game ). and Rusty is overly dramatic, I mean it, I think this is pretty bad for kids who will feel pressed to buy the games to make him happy, even I felt like some pressure was being put on me
    I was kinda eager to play this, now I'm a little disappointed, I expected a little more from the free version.
    it is basically a demo of the game ( literally, you get just a demo of a in-game mini-game ). and Rusty is overly dramatic, I mean it, I think this is pretty bad for kids who will feel pressed to buy the games to make him happy, even I felt like some pressure was being put on me for it, that's playing dirty.
    but in all fairness the demo of the game he provides is simple, but fun, but the content presented on the free version is very scarce, I think it's not enough to get many people into buying the mini-games.
    and the mini games are way too simple for the prices they are asking, not to mention there don't seem to be a lot of variation on them.
    Expand
  6. Dec 22, 2014
    8
    Very fun, love the story and it's comedic spin. The minigames are also very fun and give you a ton of stuff to collect. Not a must have, but it's free so pick it up!
Metascore
74

Mixed or average reviews - based on 6 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 6
  2. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. May 21, 2014
    80
    Proof that Nintendo can handle free-to-play and make it fun, you'll enjoy haggling with Rusty almost as much as you'll enjoy the wealth of mini-games Rusty's has to offer.
  2. Apr 29, 2014
    81
    This is the National Pastime deconstructed. This is also Nintendo’s past commingling with its future: A perfect, tiny game, forced into this strange new shape and sold piecemeal.
  3. Apr 8, 2014
    60
    A little more than half of the minigames in Rusty’s Real Deal Baseball are fun and arcadey, wrapped up neatly in Rusty’s darkly humorous story, but it’s hard to separate the good from the bad before committing to a purchase.