Metascore
50

Mixed or average reviews - based on 7 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 7
  2. Negative: 3 out of 7
  1. Jan 5, 2012
    60
    So, in the end, Samurai Sword Destiny is an OK play and visually accomplished, but the only thing it really does a great job of is making me dream of other games.
  2. Jun 28, 2012
    60
    It's repetitive, bland to look at, and the fighting's a bit rubbish, but the allure of grinding levels over and over to unlock skills just about remains appealing to warrant a look for a select few.
  3. Jul 24, 2012
    35
    Sure, there's a neat Muramasa-ness to the inky visuals, but we shouldn't have to endure such combat tedium in order to appreciate them. Yuck. [Sept 2012, p.107]
  4. Jan 11, 2012
    40
    Samurai Sword Destiny twiddles between the line of mind-numbing and oddly enjoyable combat, in a compulsive kind of way. In the end, though, it's tough to shake the hollow feeling present in both the gameplay and presentation.
  5. 40
    In the end, I wouldn't call Samurai Sword Destiny a disaster or even unplayable-it's just extremely repetitious in every aspect of its design and frustrating because of it. I certainly don't like it, but if you want to see what a roguelike brawler looks like, this is a good entry point. All others would do well to avoid this deeply flawed game.
  6. Jan 6, 2012
    60
    All told, this isn't the type of action game we expected, and it didn't take long for Samurai Sword Destiny to wear out its welcome.
  7. Scrolling levels are better as you need to concentrate and rely on reactions, but this isn't one we'd recommend seeing through to the end. [Aug 2012, p.103]
User Score
tbd

No user score yet- Awaiting 2 more ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 1
  2. Negative: 0 out of 1
  1. Jan 8, 2012
    6
    This game is ok, it is harder than it needs to be, and the game play is very repetitive if you want to pass the level. If you are in desperateThis game is ok, it is harder than it needs to be, and the game play is very repetitive if you want to pass the level. If you are in desperate need of a game get it, but if anything else there a tons of better options. Full Review »