User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 73 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 61 out of 73
  2. Negative: 8 out of 73

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 25, 2011
    10
    First off, this is an amazing game, regardless of the fact that it doesn't have any 3D save for the opening sequence and demon fusing. If you're a fan of tactical RPGs like Final Fantasy Tactics or Fire Emblem, I highly recommend it. The game lasts several hours, it took me well over 60 on my first playthrough on the DS version. There are many positives that come with this game, even if you bought the original. There are 20 more demons for a combined 150 demons, a full voice cast which, while people say it isn't good, I thoroughly enjoyed how clear it all sounded, and an added 8th Day which is more then an epilogue. If you're a JRPG fan and own a 3DS, this is a must buy. Expand
  2. Aug 26, 2011
    9
    Same great game from 09. Now with fully voiced, added easy mode, and little tweaks here and there. I hate to see people giving this game bad scores for the lack of 3d. I see this game as a love letter from Atlus to all the Shim Megami Tensei fans out there. I for one welcome this game into my SMT collection with open arms.
  3. Dec 31, 2012
    10
    Truly the definitive version of the game. A number of enhancements make this version the best way to experience Shin Megami Tensei: Devil Survivor. However, people who have played the original do not need to get this version.
  4. Nov 15, 2012
    10
    This is THE best game I have ever played. The story was phenomenal, the characters were entertaining, and the music was fantastic. Compared to the previous game, the voice acting added A LOT of emotion to it, and really made me continue to play rather than get bored and lose motivation to read long walls of text. The 8th day really made the game and it was added to this game only. The graphics were MUCH improved with less pixels being visible and instead demons in battles are much more crisp and clear. The sound quality improved over the last game as well. I cannot express how great this game was. Expand
  5. Mar 8, 2012
    10
    This is a great game, and is especially recommended for everyone who never played the original. For anyone who has played the original, though, you can pass on Overclocked (the optional voice acting and extra demons/eighth day aren't really enough content to make an original experience). It's a challenging game, and the lack of 3D is great (I hope it encourages other 3DS developers to avoid this restrictive gimmick). It's a great game by Atlus and well worth your money. Expand
  6. May 23, 2012
    9
    Devil Survivor blends RPG and tactical strategy with an original story with a decent cast of characters. I didn't play the original version, so I decided to pick this one up instead when I saw it on sale. The voice acting is on point, though I do have some disagreements on some of the character's voice, one of which that makes my ears bleed, but that is besides the point. The game however doesn't use the 3D capability that the 3DS offers which is quite a shame seeing how good a game like this could be if more 3D aspects were added. Overall, I found the various aspects of the game fun and enjoyable from the auctions to the fusing aspects and the limitless possibilities, as well as the various alternate endings, and the bonus day after completing the game. Expand
  7. Nov 20, 2012
    9
    Great story, superb music and good sprites and good voice acting, what else can you ask for? Well there is a little thing, it doesn't use the 3D effect, it can be bad for some people, but for myself, I play in 2D mode in my 3ds 90% of the time anyway....
  8. Dec 1, 2012
    10
    Turn base Anime Drama I love it is like Pokemon and Fire Emblem had a demon baby. this a must own for the 3DS. I love the choices it really gets you into the story. The characters are unique and for once a story makes a solid RPG.
  9. Sep 14, 2014
    9
    Reviewers should play games more thoroughly if they're going to write about it. They also must like video games. After 20 years of gaming SMT: DSO is one of those games that need to be played more to appreciate.

    In this game the satisfaction is delayed. You don't get to enjoy the game your way until much later. If that's ok with you & you don't mind that most of the game will be over by
    the time you're playing it the way you imagined is fine, then I really recommend this for your library.

    What makes this game so great is the depth of customization & character creation. Later in the game, how each skill & class ability of the different monsters interact, along with the strategy of your group really becomes interesting showcasing how cool & different this game really is from all other strategy RPGs.

    The design flaw that drops the score a little is in this game you have to endure lots of boring moments, lots of dull looking creatable party monsters & semi challenging game play, in order to get to the cool stuff.

    Games like this show their depth later so in the beginning they seem simplistic. It's late game that you'll see enemies that reflect & thus are immune to physical attacks completely. Groups that petrify your leader and break him for an instant death to your party.

    It's at that point the monster you so carefully created with skills that create combos for physical attacks becomes useless & you need to start developing new designs.

    The game is like an encyclopedia of monsters. It will literally take you an entire notepad full of notes just to build the ultimate monster creation if you're into this.

    You level up 2 different monsters & fuse them to make a new type. Leveling up both monsters is important because you want your new creation to get stat bonuses which you can use for your strategy. For example maybe you want a really AGILE spell caster so they go first during the fight so they paralyze the enemy with electric magic thus preventing the enemies groups from ever attacking.

    Hint: how many points you can transfer onto your new creation is a set amount so don't spend forever leveling up the ones you intend to fuse together just enough to give your final creation the max amount of points bonus it can get (which you will be able to check)

    The game plays on a grid and moves at a fast pace which is very modern. You can close your 3DS anytime and it'll pause the game which makes this a very streamlined modern game much like console DISGAEA. It doesn't feel at all like the slower FINAL FANTASY TACTICS.

    You control your human story characters who are always the leader of each group & they can bring with them 2 of your creatable monsters to form a party.

    When you move around on the map you only see the human story characters but when you enter a battle you will control all three against 3 enemy demons.

    At this point there's a ton of possibilities but it's mostly in how you designed your monsters. Each fight has a possible 2 rounds. The AGI stat of each monster will determine the order of action along with knowing which types of attacks have priority. FE status effect spells like muting or petrification have top priority so it the enemy uses those you will have to be able to endure those first in order to attack.

    Each monster has it's own class ability. Some for example allow you to attack an enemy from a distance and unless the enemy has a shooter too in their group, they won't be able to defend.

    Lots of skills in the game combine with other ones to create powerful effects. You can use a physical attack skill which makes you hit 2-5 times in combination with a critical hit bonus so that you have the chance of landing multiple critical hits. You could breed your monster to also have the skill that adds petrification to their physical attacks so then you get multiple chances of petrifying the enemy!

    For the story I found it very interesting. It's got a lot of characters that move it along each with different plots that offer something for everybody. At the core the story is a pretty serious game about angels VS demons & God VS the devil. It's presented by a small group of teenagers stuck inside a disaster scenario which is fine.

    You got a lot of choices and answers to make that change things.

    This is a game you can rush through or if you like these kinda of games & enjoy playing them could take you over a few hundred hours.

    Where games like this lose a point for me is when you compare them to something like ETRIAN ODYSSEY 4 or UNTOLD. Or heck even something like IKARUGA or STREET FIGHTER. Some games right from the beginning you're playing your favorite character, enjoying their abilities & the challenge is in the playing. FIRE EMBLEM AWAKENING is more like this & that game is much harder & right from the beginning you're experiencing what the game has to offer
    Expand
  10. Jul 7, 2013
    10
    Pretty great game. There is really not much 3D, yes, but 3D is NOT required for a game to be fun. The graphics are anime-like, which by that I mean they look like the Japanese anime. The battle graphics aren't too bad, though the demons make a bit of animation. The soundtrack is pretty nice, but the volume on the game is a bit low, and for the hard of hearing, you might need to get headphones and possibly something that boosts it up. The intro song is AMAZING. In the game, you play as a random guy, y'know, just high school student, second year. You get to name him. In fact, you HAVE to name him. He's a really cool guy. Then there's a girl, who's your friend, not girlfriend, friend, and she's named Yuzu. The other guy in the group is Atsuro. The game is about buying, battling, and fusing demons, and not to mention surviving. The game is SUPER tricky. There are "8 Days" in the game. You can either, if there is no required time event, speed up time by 30 minutes at a time. Your COMP will send you emails about the news and what will happened. Ex: Like "jimmy will get hit by a baseball bat and die". It's pretty creepy sometimes, but if you're fine with it, cool. The ending, and the character's lives, almost everything, depend on your decisions. So good luck! Collapse
  11. Jan 1, 2014
    10
    I have only witnessed only one ending to this tensei so far, but I definitely would recommend it to hardcore RPG and strategy fans alike. I can't say much as to it's quality compared to the source material as I have only played this version, but if you haven't played the original it's story is really original and memorable. At the same time, I would not recommend this to those unwilling to put in as much time as sit takes to beat, because this game was not intended to be played by your average casual gamer. Expand
  12. Jul 7, 2013
    0
    Pretty great game. There is really not much 3D, yes, but 3D is NOT required for a game to be fun. The graphics are anime-like, which by that I mean they look like the Japanese anime. The battle graphics aren't too bad, though the demons make a bit of animation. The soundtrack is pretty nice, but the volume on the game is a bit low, and for the hard of hearing, you might need to get headphones and possibly something that boosts it up. The intro song is AMAZING. In the game, you play as a random guy, y'know, just high school student, second year. You get to name him. In fact, you HAVE to name him. He's a really cool guy. Then there's a girl, who's your friend, not girlfriend, friend, and she's named Yuzu. The other guy in the group is Atsuro. The game is about buying, battling, and fusing demons, and not to mention surviving. The game is SUPER tricky. There are "8 Days" in the game. You can either, if there is no required time event, speed up time by 30 minutes at a time. Your COMP will send you emails about the news and what will happened. Ex: Like "jimmy will get hit by a baseball bat and die". It's pretty creepy sometimes, but if you're fine with it, cool. The ending, and the character's lives, almost everything, depend on your decisions. So good luck! Collapse
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 27 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 27
  2. Negative: 1 out of 27
  1. 80
    Devil Survivor Overclocked is a game that leaves a mark for his campaign, combat system and its mechanics. Being an improved version of the original production for the DS, it is always evident a graphical composition below the current production standard for 3DS.
  2. Dec 18, 2013
    70
    The narrative conceit of Devil Survivor Overlocked is an interesting one. [Issue#142, p.122]
  3. Nov 22, 2013
    70
    Shin Megami Tensei: Devil Survivor Overclocked is quite a good game, but in the end still somewhat disappointing as a remake.