Shin Megami Tensei IV 3DS

  • Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Shin Megami Tensei IV Image
Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 48 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 267 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Building on the styles of ATLUS' Persona, Devil Summoner, and Devil Survivor titles, SMTIV is the first true successor to 2004's Shin Megami Tensei: Nocturne. The story of SMTIV revolves around the Samurai, the sacred protectors of the Eastern Kingdom of Mikado. As a newly appointed Samurai,Building on the styles of ATLUS' Persona, Devil Summoner, and Devil Survivor titles, SMTIV is the first true successor to 2004's Shin Megami Tensei: Nocturne. The story of SMTIV revolves around the Samurai, the sacred protectors of the Eastern Kingdom of Mikado. As a newly appointed Samurai, players will struggle with factions that have nefarious designs on the world as they defend their home kingdom from a growing army of demons. Decisions players make throughout the course of the story will have lasting repercussions, as the fate of the world hangs in the balance. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 45 out of 48
  2. Negative: 0 out of 48
  1. Jul 25, 2013
    96
    A strong story makes this a best in class RPG.
  2. Jul 10, 2013
    91
    Despite not being overjoyed with the cast of the game, there’s little else to complain about with SMT IV. The gameplay mechanics borrow enough from previous entries to feel familiar, but at the same time there’s enough new about the mechanics to make them feel fresh.
  3. Jul 10, 2013
    90
    Like a bottle of fine scotch, SMT IV won't be for everyone - but those RPG enthusiasts who can appreciate its subtlety and challenge will cherish it for years to come.
  4. Jul 10, 2013
    85
    Shin Megami Tensei IV succeeds on the merits of its outstanding demon fusion system and combat, even if its story and exploration are only fair.
  5. Official Nintendo Magazine UK
    Oct 11, 2014
    81
    If you've never brought a Black Frost demon into existence, you're in for a treat. [Issue#116, p.92]
  6. Aug 7, 2013
    80
    The game may not transcend its genre, but it’s a great reminder of why so many us fell in love with role-playing games in the first place.
  7. Jul 23, 2013
    60
    The plot is full of holes, inconsistencies, and unbelievable character actions and reactions. There are some creative moments late in the game where SMTIV presents the alignments and philosophies in a fascinating, new way, but for the most part the plot, characters, and morals fail to come together as part of a coherent setting.

See all 48 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 42
  2. Negative: 5 out of 42
  1. Jul 21, 2013
    10
    Amazing 4th installment of the SMT series. Kinda upset to see such strange comparisons and laughable ones as well such as; "This game is theAmazing 4th installment of the SMT series. Kinda upset to see such strange comparisons and laughable ones as well such as; "This game is the Dark Souls of Persona" or "this isn't a waifu simulator I'm disapointed." What makes this game shine is it's dark vibe, intense difficulty, old school dungeon crawling, fantastic graphics and beautiful sprites, a fantastic soundtrack, as well as an engrossing surreal apocalyptic story.

    I highly recommend this game to anyone who is a fan of old school JRPG's or anyone who is up for a challenge in general.

    Graphics: 8/10 great spritework and excellent third person exploring. More sprite animation would be nice though.

    gameplay: 10/10 old school JRPG goodness

    audio: 9/10 fantastic soundtrack, and great voice acting.

    lasting appeal: 10/10 seriously I see myself losing at least over a hundred hours to this game just trying to unlock everything.

    Do yourself a favor and buy this game.
    Expand
  2. Dec 13, 2013
    10
    This is one of the most engaging game I ever played. The game's plot is also greatly developed. I find myself confused on who to align with asThis is one of the most engaging game I ever played. The game's plot is also greatly developed. I find myself confused on who to align with as I loved all the characters. But the area where this game shines the most is the demon collecting and fusion. Great game and for someone who hasn't played any Shin Megami Tensei game before, this game is totally a great game for the newbies as an introductory game. The difficulty may overwhelm you but that's just a classic trademark of SMT games. Expand
  3. Jul 17, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I'm a big fan of Shin Megami Tensei series and I think SMT 4 is awesome .Though the dungeon map looks a little simple and crude .The demons are good as always and the control are comfortable .So I give 10 for it Expand
  4. Jul 4, 2015
    9
    Multiple endings, a load of quests to do, and a very.... very lengthy campaign through a variety of locations marks this one of the biggestMultiple endings, a load of quests to do, and a very.... very lengthy campaign through a variety of locations marks this one of the biggest games to hit the 3DS... ever. I've played through the game twice, putting 75 hours or so and finishing the Chaos and Law endings. The battle system is simple yet complex, easy but hard to get good at, and the demons are just awesome. There are so many demons in this game that it makes your own group very custom and unique feeling. The replay value is pretty high in this game, assuming you don't take the neutral route and finish all quests on that route. The music is superb, and the art is nice to look at - although 3D models found in Etrian Odyssey IV would have been nice. I found the characters to be wonderful (compared to what the critics say) and felt like an emotional anchor to me as the events folded later on. Buy this game.

    Gameplay: 9.5/10
    Story: 8.5/10
    Music: 9.5/10
    Presentation: 9.5/10
    Length: 9/10
    Overall: 9/10
    Expand
  5. Oct 14, 2013
    9
    If you can see past the inherent hardcore RPG tendencies, generally linear story, and glaring plot holes that start building only an hour orIf you can see past the inherent hardcore RPG tendencies, generally linear story, and glaring plot holes that start building only an hour or two in, this is a great game and one of the best on the 3DS.

    Pros: great graphical presentation in character and environmental art. Memorable soundtrack (very reminiscent of 90's sci-fi PC games). Voice acting (for the most part most minor characters are laughable, such as the guy who charges you Macca to cross a bridge, and a young woman who is clearly voiced by a man). Hardcore gameplay, and the familiar SMT battle formula exploit the enemy's weakness, and don't get exploited yourself.

    Cons: navigation becomes a nightmare if you aren't intimately familiar with Tokyo. Most quests are breadcrumb-type quests that lack the breadcrumbs you're told to go somewhere, and rarely given any indication on how to get there. Some may find the old school battle presentation lacking, while others will find it charming (very similar to Devil Survivor; your party of demons is not visually represented on-screen, while enemies and attacks are lightly-animated sprites.) Finally (without giving too much away,) your party is thrust hundreds of years into the future, from a medieval kingdom into a post-apocalyptic Tokyo. Your party is hardly amazed, let alone confused at their surroundings and all of this new technology. It's something that bugged me for my entire time spent with this game; for example, they'll be intrigued by "strange food" served at Tokyo's various taverns, but have no problem operating elevators and watching surveillance videos on an HDTV monitor.
    Expand
  6. Jul 18, 2013
    7
    I am 7 hours into the game and I am still not sure what the point is. Are the demons making a come back? The characters on the other hand areI am 7 hours into the game and I am still not sure what the point is. Are the demons making a come back? The characters on the other hand are very fun and lead the story along very nicely. The battle system is a bit complicated and feels over done, but once you get used to it you begin to enjoy it a lot. Capturing demons is horrible and the worst feature of the game, "stop stealing my stuff demons!!" I am enjoying this game so far and it will hopefully continue to improve as I grow used to the SMT mechanics. I recommend giving this game a go if you can get it on sale as I did. $20 after the $30 rebate, already had Fire Emblem. I would not pay $50 for it though. Expand
  7. Sep 10, 2016
    0
    Typical overrated Atlus JRPG trash. There is nothing of value in this game. It is a grind fest that is overrated by a minor cult following ofTypical overrated Atlus JRPG trash. There is nothing of value in this game. It is a grind fest that is overrated by a minor cult following of weeaboo hipsters.

    There is no worthwhile story and no challenge. You don't win Atlus games by being intelligent, you win them by being a lazy basement dweller with nothing else to do with your life, and have no friends, social life, job/school, or other hobbies. So you can dedicate yourself grinding mediocre jrpgs selling for AAA prices.
    Expand

See all 42 User Reviews