Metascore
59

Mixed or average reviews - based on 9 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 9
  2. Negative: 1 out of 9
  1. 80
    Being that it has it's own story, own objectives, and that it is a platform game, it is a whole different experience then the version you play on your TV. Even with some of the technical issues I noted, and a lack of any co-op multiplayer, Skylanders fans with a 3DS can do little wrong by picking this up as there is fun to be had here.
  2. Nov 11, 2012
    70
    If you can force your eyes to adjust, you'll have a good time. [Nov 2012, p.78]
  3. Nov 10, 2012
    70
    Skylanders Giants on the 3DS is what I like to call a nice compliment piece. If you have the console versions it works as a nice way to level up figures while on the go. If this were my only option, though, I can't say I would enjoy it nearly as much. The other versions just do a much better job of extending the addiction.
  4. Nov 18, 2012
    58
    Aside from the obvious benefit of being able to play with your characters on the go, Skylanders Giants for 3DS provides very little to convince that it's worth the time and money. Its little triumphs are far overshadowed by its unfortunate oversights-to the extent that even hardcore fans will find it difficult to justify.
  5. Nov 13, 2012
    56
    Don't be fooled by the packaging; these are not the Skylanders you're looking for.
  6. Jan 31, 2013
    50
    Truly unforgivable technical issues mask an otherwise run-of-the-mill action adventure game. The toys are cool and all, but the game containing them simply isn't.
  7. Nov 28, 2012
    50
    It's a good thing that the marketing genius in the Skylanders franchise is so effective. An uninteresting game may actually serve the purpose of of the franchise, since it allows people to level up their figures relatively quickly, prompting them to buy a new figure and start over again at square one. Also, since Skylanders figures can be taken from console to 3DS back to console and continue to gain experience, the 3DS version may be just the accessory that fans of franchise will want, even if the game itself is boring and bland.
  8. Nov 2, 2012
    50
    The game's technical problems are too much to ignore for all but the biggest fans.
  9. Nov 20, 2012
    42
    The core of the experience is sound, and even works, but a game is only as good as its technical parameters, which means Giants suffers and stutters far too often.
User Score
5.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 11 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 2
  2. Negative: 1 out of 2
  1. May 5, 2013
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click full review link to view. I think the game is great, but there are some cons too. The pros are that they can jump. The cons are that they have only five attacks and that the main story is short. So, to clean this all up this is my summary.

    The main story is way shorter than the stories in the other game consoles. They have only five lame attacks. I wish that the game is exactly the same as the other game consoles Iike the Xbox 360.i also wish that we can choose a paths like in the Xbox version. I have read many other reviews and people want the same thing. I hope activision or whoever makes this game reads this I will rate this a 6 out of 10
    Full Review »
  2. Nov 6, 2012
    0
    Staggeringly horrific. The first skylanders on 3DS was an absolute joy, this is absolute garbage. Normal skylanders look like small dots (even on XL) and the framerate chugs along at a brisk 4FPS. Avoid this junk, they should be absolutely ashamed for this money-grab. Terrible. Full Review »