Skylanders: Spyro's Adventure 3DS

User Score
4.8

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 64 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 64
  2. Negative: 30 out of 64
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 29, 2011
    1
    First off, let me say that Skylanders for 3DS does not have anything that makes Skylanders for 360/PS3/Wii any good and it is ABSOLUTELY NOTHING LIKE MARIO 64! It's much closer to Crash Bandicoot 1. 1)There is no plot, and while the original game's plot wasn't exactly stellar, it did provide many moments of amusement, and starred incredible voice actors and writing. 2)There are reallyFirst off, let me say that Skylanders for 3DS does not have anything that makes Skylanders for 360/PS3/Wii any good and it is ABSOLUTELY NOTHING LIKE MARIO 64! It's much closer to Crash Bandicoot 1. 1)There is no plot, and while the original game's plot wasn't exactly stellar, it did provide many moments of amusement, and starred incredible voice actors and writing. 2)There are really no upgrades for your characters. The only bonuses you get are from leveling- and you level INSANELY fast. 3)The game is incredibly short (3-4 hours) with very little replay value, again unlike the original. 4)No Multiplayer 5)Many of the unique play mechanics of the first one are gone such as Stealth Elf's invisibility and Spyro/Sonic Boom's flying abilities. All in all, it's really not worth your money. Buy the console version instead. It is infinitely better. Expand
  2. Oct 19, 2011
    4
    The other review does not address the "meat" of the game and is mainly an attack on the marketing scheme used to sell the game. In my opinion the other reviewer was warranted in attacking the way the game was marketed but after purchasing the game I have a few things to note. 1)The figurines are simply unlocks for in game content they do not contain the actual DLC

    2)The 3DS version as
    The other review does not address the "meat" of the game and is mainly an attack on the marketing scheme used to sell the game. In my opinion the other reviewer was warranted in attacking the way the game was marketed but after purchasing the game I have a few things to note. 1)The figurines are simply unlocks for in game content they do not contain the actual DLC

    2)The 3DS version as expected is a bit castrated. You cannot use one of the adventure packs on the 3DS version

    3)The 3DS version does not allow you to view your character information when setting a figurine on the portal
    4)The 3DS version does not allow you to wipe your figurine data to trade with someone else

    5)The 3DS version does not allow you to nickname your character

    6)There are conflicting reports of this as the game manual and one very brief in game dialogue box state that you can save your stats to your figurine. Some fan forums are claiming the 3DS simply notes which figurine you currently have and saves the stats with the games cartridge save. 7)The 3DS version is not "future proof" it has been rumored any future adventure packs and figurines will not be compatible with the 3DS version.

    8)The 3DS version is not "wireless" it uses the IR port like a TV remote and has to be pointed at just the right angle to communicate with the "portal of power"

    9)The 3DS version "gameplay" consists of simply rushing to the end of a level for every level.

    As far as the gameplay goes, the 3DS version has essentially the same level repeated over and over. You rush to the end of a level using normal platformer mechanics. Without the fun and challenge of something like super mario 64. It's honestly the same level mechanics copy pasted over the entire game. The console versions are sort of like an RPG. That being said the game is beautifully done and a lot of work has gone into cut scenes obviously geared towards children. The voice acting could have been much worse and the game is fairly bug free. However the game cannot be completed unless you have one figurine of each element so in essence you're buying an incomplete game from the start. In the case of the 3DS version you're buying an incomplete game with copy pasted level design and enemies at the same price as a console version with more features. I leave it up to the reader to decide if it's worth a purchase
    Expand
  3. Dec 24, 2011
    0
    Once again Activision has paid all critics. The truth is that this game sucks almost as much than mw3 (that got really bad reviews from users) I you liked old spyro dont get this crap (even legend series was better)
  4. Mar 14, 2012
    1
    This is not spyro. Thanks activison for AGAIN ruining a GREAT series. If a series is doing good, LEAVE IT ALONE and DONT TOUCH IT. Keep your grubby nasty fingers away from Ratchet and clank, Sly, and ty. You guys KILLED spyro. Legend of spyro was one thing, but slylanders goes over the limit!
  5. Dec 9, 2011
    0
    Even for a series that has never exactly been stellar, Skylanders: Spyro's Adventure sets the bar particularly low. The story is exceptionally trite, the script asks very little of the voice-actors, and the gameplay is bare-bones simple (even as it holds your hand through the most rudimentary mental exercises). There are no platforming elements to speak of (you can't even jump in theEven for a series that has never exactly been stellar, Skylanders: Spyro's Adventure sets the bar particularly low. The story is exceptionally trite, the script asks very little of the voice-actors, and the gameplay is bare-bones simple (even as it holds your hand through the most rudimentary mental exercises). There are no platforming elements to speak of (you can't even jump in the console versions!) and practically any platforming-esque mechanic is either performed automatically (conveniently placed bounce-pads replace the aforementioned jumping) or is explained a half dozen times by in-your-face visual cues, constant narrative hints, and pop-up text explanations. The enemies in this game are laughable and should never pose the slightest threat to your life total. Graphically, the Spyro series was never really a powerhouse, and it is obvious that the same amount of effort went into this title. This could have been a PS1 title. It is marketed towards the elementary-school set, though, so it gets a pass. The toy mechanic itself is cute and sure to be a hit with kids from ages 9 to 90, but when taken as a whole with the design decisions in the game proper, it comes across as exceptionally aggressive marketing. Different characters basically play exactly the same as any other, even Spyro himself (which explains the loss of jumping and gliding: lazy design), with one financially relevant caveat. The element attached to each character serves as a key to access locked areas (ie: only a fire element skylander can unlock a fire element area) and a damage modifier is applied for certain elements in some areas as well. What this effectively does is force you to pay for additional figures in order to unlock the full content of your already expensive purchase. And why wouldn't you, after finding the character-specific advertisements sprinkled about each level that unlock abilities and short intro videos for figures that didn't come with the core package! There are already expansion packs available as well. When distilled to its purest form, Sklanders: Spyro's Adventure is essentially a poorly made toy tie-in game that thinks you or your children aren't intelligent enough to figure out how to solve basic challenges without being told exactly what to do in at least three separate ways. To unlock the full breadth of this franchise-turned-shovelware experience you must needs spend something to the tune of a hundred dollars, though you do get some cute toys in the process. And hey, at least there are hats. Expand
  6. Jan 27, 2012
    0
    This game is the worst game ive ever played. This 1, is not spyro. They only used the name spyro for it to sell. They should of left spyro alone and started a new IP. But no, they yet again gotta ruin the spyro name. Why dont they learn and go back to the original spyro that always got good reviews. (not enter the dragonfly tho).
  7. Jun 23, 2012
    0
    I'd like to say first I've not actually played this game. But I can tell you I won't be buying it because of the marketing- if I buy a game, for £60, I expect to get a full game. But skylanders, you don't- you have to shell out an absolute fortune in order to get the full game. A game would have to be absolutely AWESOME to get me to pay out hundreds of pounds to get other characters.I'd like to say first I've not actually played this game. But I can tell you I won't be buying it because of the marketing- if I buy a game, for £60, I expect to get a full game. But skylanders, you don't- you have to shell out an absolute fortune in order to get the full game. A game would have to be absolutely AWESOME to get me to pay out hundreds of pounds to get other characters. Normal games just have unlockable characters in game- I know this is a new and novel idea, but it's an expensive one that the majority of gamers (especially children) can't afford to pay out for. Expand
  8. Aug 1, 2012
    0
    This game is a horrible addition to the spyro franchise. Not only do the graphics make our beloved old and new characters look like hideous monsters, but the gameplay is extremely dull and lacks anything different. It lacks plot, and in turn, anything at all that links it with the original spyro (Unlike the carefully crafted previous Spyro reboot, which cleverly winds in parts of originalThis game is a horrible addition to the spyro franchise. Not only do the graphics make our beloved old and new characters look like hideous monsters, but the gameplay is extremely dull and lacks anything different. It lacks plot, and in turn, anything at all that links it with the original spyro (Unlike the carefully crafted previous Spyro reboot, which cleverly winds in parts of original Spyro) and has completely ruined every effort made previously to bring spyro into the modern world, yet keep it the same. Personally, I am furious that this abomination ever happened, because it has completely destroyed part of my childhood. This game is nothing but more proof that Activision ruins everything. Expand
  9. Jul 1, 2013
    3
    This is sad. When I first saw the game, I didn't even recognize Spyro. The commercial made him sound like a girl. So of course I was f****** confused on who was who. Sony should have stuck with the original cast and not make it to where no one can tell who the hell Spyro was. When Sega had to change how Sonic looked, they didn't change who he was completely. Just a pallete change, addThis is sad. When I first saw the game, I didn't even recognize Spyro. The commercial made him sound like a girl. So of course I was f****** confused on who was who. Sony should have stuck with the original cast and not make it to where no one can tell who the hell Spyro was. When Sega had to change how Sonic looked, they didn't change who he was completely. Just a pallete change, add color to the eyes, and change how his shoes looked. Sega didn't make him look like a rabbit or anything. He was still Sonic, but he was recognizable. Someone please put poor Spyro to rest instead of torturing him. Expand
  10. Jul 2, 2016
    4
    I never did like skylanders and never will. This game I think is sluggish. Activison did this for one reason just for more profit. They put spyro in cause they couldn't think of any creative skylanders. Well none of then are creative. This game is fun at some points but very rare. Controls ain't so bad. But this game deserves a skip.
Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 8 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 8
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 8
  3. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. Jan 4, 2012
    81
    Whether you've been an Spyro fan from the beginning or are just looking for a good jump'n'run for Nintendos 3DS, you can't go wrong with Skylanders: Spyro┬┤s Adventure.
  2. Nintendo Gamer
    Dec 7, 2011
    78
    Almost as surprisingly great as the Wii version, so worth the money. [Dec 2011, p.72]
  3. Nov 18, 2011
    83
    Skylanders is a fun game, and it does have it's challenging moments. Aside from Hektore pursuing you after getting a crystal and the ice world being a pain, I'm a little disappointed that there's no multiplayer in the 3DS version unless I'm really just missing it. Still, it is one I recommend if you like a good platformer. Just be prepared to spend some money if you plan to unlock everything.