Sonic Generations 3DS

Metascore
66

Mixed or average reviews - based on 29 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 29
  2. Negative: 2 out of 29
Buy On
  1. Despite the main game's brief length, Sonic Generations is fantastic fun. As long as you don't mind replaying the same levels to try to better your own records, which is a challenge in itself, this is an essential purchase for Sonic fans.
  2. Nov 22, 2011
    84
    Sonic's debut on Nintendo's 3DS is a real success. The combination of the two different hedgehogs in the colorful 2D and 3D environments is pretty cool. The game is a little too easy, but there's tons of Sonic flair and enough content to truly satisfy the player.
  3. Games Master UK
    Dec 16, 2011
    82
    Don't expect too much from the 3D, but otherwise a great handheld Sonic game. [Jan 2012, p.76]
  4. Jan 30, 2012
    80
    The blue speedster, both past and present, delivers a solid first outing on Nintendo 3DS.
  5. Nintendo Power
    Jan 4, 2012
    80
    Though I wish it lasted a bit longer, Sonic's birthday bash is a nearly pitch-perfect celebration of his storied career. [Dec 2011, p.88]
  6. Dec 4, 2011
    80
    Sonic, you are twenty years old now, happy birthday to you. We love your new and modern style with the added speed boosts, but the good old days were also wonderful. We know it for sure, every generation loves you Sonic.
  7. Nintendo Gamer
    Dec 7, 2011
    79
    Good-looking and fan-pleasing, but a bit short. [Dec 2011, p.65]
  8. Dec 2, 2011
    75
    A good platforming game and a good start for Sonic in the 3DS. It is different from the HD versions, so it is a good options for Sonic fans to complement the main Generations game. Its only flaws are its limited duration and the disappointing design of some stages.
  9. 75
    Sonic Generations on the Nintendo 3DS is certainly a well made game.
User Score
6.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 96 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 40
  2. Negative: 7 out of 40
  1. Nov 25, 2011
    10
    Don't listen to negative reviws of this game the cheap deaths are because they suck on difficulty. It is worth the money and definitlyDon't listen to negative reviws of this game the cheap deaths are because they suck on difficulty. It is worth the money and definitly compared to old sonic games this game seems to be the best sonic game since the genises. Buy this game and don't listen to trolls. Full Review »
  2. Nov 23, 2011
    8
    I liked it a lot once you get use to it. The only real complaint I have is that the classic sonic roll and modern sonic skid are not matchedI liked it a lot once you get use to it. The only real complaint I have is that the classic sonic roll and modern sonic skid are not matched to a single button. Instead of just pressing Y to roll or X to Skid you have to press down and press b which doesn't always work. That is very disappointing and upsets the whole of the game so instead of marking 1 point off for graphics and level design I am marking 2 off. Fun game but not worthy of 40 dollars. Maybe 30. Full Review »
  3. Jan 24, 2012
    9
    I love sonic generations 3D its my first ever sonic game and its soo fun!,

    Its very challenging which is very good. The only con is it is to
    I love sonic generations 3D its my first ever sonic game and its soo fun!,

    Its very challenging which is very good.

    The only con is it is to short D:.
    Full Review »