Sonic: Lost World 3DS

Sonic: Lost World Image
Metascore
59

Mixed or average reviews - based on 34 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 147 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Sonic Lost World sees Sonic partner with Dr. Eggman to take on six menacing creatures known as the Deadly Six.
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 34
  2. Negative: 6 out of 34
  1. Oct 18, 2013
    85
    This game is even better on handheld than on console. Sonic looks amazing.
  2. Oct 21, 2013
    80
    Considering how disappointed we were with Generations, Lost World is the Sonic game 3DS deserved. The wealth of tricky environments, hidden items and even four-person races for ambitious players make it a worthwhile purchase, even at $39.99.
  3. Oct 22, 2013
    78
    Despite the big problems with the control system, the intriguing level design of Sonic Lost World makes it an excellent platform.
  4. Oct 18, 2013
    60
    Again, it’s a shame, because there’s good here, but it’s often buried beneath a quagmire of frustration...So, yes, this is a better game than its more powerful counterpart, but Lost World on the 3DS, despite a few excellent asides, remains a largely average, occasionally frustrating outing for Sonic. Again.
  5. Oct 29, 2013
    50
    What could be a fluid experience and well organized in terms of design, gives place to a number of gaps and inconsistencies that prevent the game to achieve the desired success.
  6. Oct 18, 2013
    50
    In trying to incorporate 3D environments and ideas from the Wii U title, Dimps has rather tied Sonic's red boots together, causing him to often stumble and fall.
  7. Oct 21, 2013
    20
    Sega obviously tried to emulate aspects of Super Mario Galaxy or other 3D Mario games to make this leap in the Sonic series, but Sonic: Lost World suffers with each “feature” they have added to the Sonic’s successful formula: running and jumping.

See all 34 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 49
  2. Negative: 15 out of 49
  1. Oct 31, 2013
    10
    I like this game. The sonic haters only excuse is "OMG SANIC IZ TOO SLOWWW" people call this a galaxy rip off, but sega came up with theI like this game. The sonic haters only excuse is "OMG SANIC IZ TOO SLOWWW" people call this a galaxy rip off, but sega came up with the galaxy like gameplay first. Face it hater retards. This game rocks Expand
  2. Nov 13, 2013
    9
    Sonic Lost World For 3DS Is Amazing And Is A Worthy Handheld Partner For The Wii U Version Of Sonic Lost World
    + Awesome 3D Levels
    + Catchy
    Sonic Lost World For 3DS Is Amazing And Is A Worthy Handheld Partner For The Wii U Version Of Sonic Lost World
    + Awesome 3D Levels
    + Catchy Music
    + Cool Multiplayer

    - Camera Angle Not That Good
    Expand
  3. Jan 14, 2014
    8
    HOW IS GENERATIONS RATED HIGHER THAN THIS? People dismiss this game as a ripoff of Galaxy just because of its 3D. Seriously? Plus, there'sHOW IS GENERATIONS RATED HIGHER THAN THIS? People dismiss this game as a ripoff of Galaxy just because of its 3D. Seriously? Plus, there's online play for up to 4 players. Also, the Deadly 6 aren't ALL that bad. While there's Zazz (GONNA BEAT YA LIKE A DRUM!) and Mister Pudgy, everyone else is OK. Expand
  4. Nov 14, 2014
    6
    Frustrating. if ya wanna a Review in a Nutshell,that's the words to describe it.

    it starts Promissing. The Parkour freatures are easy to
    Frustrating. if ya wanna a Review in a Nutshell,that's the words to describe it.

    it starts Promissing. The Parkour freatures are easy to learn and hard to master,and to me this is ok and the way it should be. Sonic can be controlable in any way you want,and that makes the game able for inteligent game design,that focus much more on platforming than on high speed. and i think that a good balance of both is what makes a sonic game,and dimps made it right.

    but the positives ends here.
    While Windy Hill and Desert Ruin are basically easy levels,the game starts to become more life threatening when you enter Tropical Island. the majority of the next leves are good,but the Gimmicks of wisps,Rockets and Snowball Monsters,in certain levels (Tropical Island act2,Frozen Factory act 3 and Sky Road Act 3) will make you tear your hair off. while Tropical Island and Frozen Factory are still enjoyable with enough practice (that is a good thing in my opnion,and the way it should be),i still did not find a way to play properly in sky road act 3... that level will make you scream... oh boy...

    the error here is the focus on gyro controls, the use of it on Sky Road is confusing,and i cant get it to work properly... and this is a huge disapointment to me. and the Special stages are another case of bad use of gyro controls. while i enjoy the way they are presented to me,like sonic is a jet fighter, stand up,turn the 3DS up and down and all arround (Speed highway reference) made me dizzy a lot of times... i needed to sit down for 2 or 3 minutes after every play on the special stages just to be oriented properly again...i swear you lose your sense of direction playin' that special stages.

    The ammount of Do or Die situations doesn't help either,half the game you can do with no problems,but the other half you'll need to get every gimmick right,or else you'll plummet to the earth and die. with some training you can do it... but prepare to see the game over screen a lot of times if you're not carefull. and for those who just want to run at full speed,NO,this is not the game for you. you need to use your head in a lot of situations,and often slow down a bit. i know it's boring,but for me that's how sonic design should be. not dumbly going at 3000km/h like in generations.and train the use of the wisps because you'll need it... some i like (Laser,Drill,Burst,Lightning),some i dislike(Asteroid,Quake).

    and the bosses: Seriously that they are deadly?! hahaha... they are pushovers in battle. with the right strategy,or the use of wisps,you can take them down in 30 seconds,or less... what makes them look like child's play. but one good point of them is that i like their personality,especially the over the top Zazz... overall they are ok... just easy...

    well the history:
    it's allright in my opnion,and i like the focus on more serious words ("You goin' home in a box,and "I'll get fat from eating your black hearts,you eggman wannabes")... those were the more memorable moments and the cherry in the cake. i personally like it a LOT. but is is adequate for a sonic game?! well... no...
    the story is well writen,and will make you laugh at times... but it has it's hard moments...

    Music: oh my god... if there's one thing that Sonic team and Dimps knows how to do,is the sound track,it is AMAZING. and while i mentioned i hated sky road act 3,it's music is so badass i often turn the game on just to listen to it. every song in this game is beautiful... Dragon Dance,Frozen Factory1 and Juice Archipelago being my favorites.

    RC Vehicles and Itens: the Rc vehicles will be your table of salvation. have them always with you,because you'll gonna need them. my favorites are the Jet,the Stealth Bomber and the Hovercraft. because they are much usefull in their gold modes... but in my opnion the golden vehicles for the most part spoils the game... so,you should only use them in the stages i mentioned before: ESPECIALLY IN SKY ROAD ACT 3. you gonna need the golden hovercraft,believe me... the other ones... the helo is okay and the Omochao... well... kinda unecessary... but okay too... and have always the life capsule item with you,ya gonna need it. make a lot of them and always go on with at least 10 or so of those things.

    My final Veredict: 6/10
    if it wasn't frustrating at some points and used the game design better with less do or die situations it could be ranked much higher. This engine of dimps has promisse,it just needs to be used Right in my opnion. less focus on dificulty and do or die situations,and more focus on inteligent design. if this is done correctly,i can picture it beign much better.
    Expand
  5. Sep 30, 2016
    5
    My review may not be accurate, but as well as looking at mine, you should view other people's perspectives of the game.

    The gadgets you can
    My review may not be accurate, but as well as looking at mine, you should view other people's perspectives of the game.

    The gadgets you can make in Tails' Lab was redundant, as I hardly needed any aid.
    The levels don't engross you that much and aren't very memorable excluding a few of the 2D stages.
    The bosses are pretty good.
    The story was okay.
    The music is very good, just like it's predecessors'.
    The visuals are sometimes too colourful and can irritate me.
    Overall, I think this is very mediocre and I think that Sega should've done better instead of making this mediocre.
    Expand
  6. Mar 6, 2016
    4
    Well, like most games I have reviewed, I am a few years late. I decided not to trust the reviews, for they may not truely represent the game.Well, like most games I have reviewed, I am a few years late. I decided not to trust the reviews, for they may not truely represent the game. However, this game is rubbish. Only a handful of time do I feel like I wasted my money on a 3DS game. Read the negative reviews below and you shall see some of the salient problems. Noteably, the boring levels. Absolutely boring with no place in a game where the character is meant to be fast (really, pushing apples and then being punished by falling down a well of water. Really, really!?!?1). Don't waste you money, unless it is under 10 dollars. I bought it on the eshop and am quite pissed. Stay away and enjoy something else! Expand
  7. Jan 26, 2014
    1
    Frozen Factory 3. That is all. As if the game wasn't terrible enough already due to incredibly bad controls, they give me Frozen Factory 3. IFrozen Factory 3. That is all. As if the game wasn't terrible enough already due to incredibly bad controls, they give me Frozen Factory 3. I actually ragequitted there for real. If you don't believe me, look up the Sonic Lost World 3DS playthrough by Cobanermani456 on youtube. That guy is known for his unbelievable patience, and even he ragequitted on Frozen Factory 3. Later, he did beat it, but then he ragequitted again, permanently, on Sky Road 2.

    This game is the new Sonic 06, avoid at all costs.
    Expand

See all 49 User Reviews