Super Street Fighter IV: 3D Edition 3DS

User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 181 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 7 out of 181

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 27, 2011
    7
    Graphically, this game showcases the power of the 3DS and the fact that it is basically the same exact game as it's PS3 and XBox 360 counterparts is a true accomplishment. However, one thing holds this game back, and that is the 3DS's design itself. Since Street Fighter is my favorite game series I figured that even if the controls were not up to par that I would at least enjoy the game.Graphically, this game showcases the power of the 3DS and the fact that it is basically the same exact game as it's PS3 and XBox 360 counterparts is a true accomplishment. However, one thing holds this game back, and that is the 3DS's design itself. Since Street Fighter is my favorite game series I figured that even if the controls were not up to par that I would at least enjoy the game. The problem is, half of the fun of this game series is mastering the input required to unleash your moves and combos, and with the 3DS's controller layout it is simply not fun. As a casual gamer, the touchscreen can make up for that fact but even then every character is severely limited which takes away much of your options. If you're a casual fan who is just picking this up to mash some buttons and beat up on some people, add a point or 2 to this score because at least the core game is solid. But as a hardcore fan who has played Street Fighter for 20 years, this was a day one return for me simply because of how uncomfortable it is to play. Expand
  2. Apr 25, 2011
    7
    I played this game on 360 and found it pleasing and a fun online title, then i got my 3ds and decided to give it a go on my new console. Visually its amazing and the fighting feels almost intact except for it felt a little less fluid but thats understandable. But the spoiler of it all was LITE control mode which allows new users to tap the touch screen to repeatedly pull of advancedI played this game on 360 and found it pleasing and a fun online title, then i got my 3ds and decided to give it a go on my new console. Visually its amazing and the fighting feels almost intact except for it felt a little less fluid but thats understandable. But the spoiler of it all was LITE control mode which allows new users to tap the touch screen to repeatedly pull of advanced moves...this is good and well but not one person uses the PRO mode online so you get matches where someone will just sit there tapping their touch screen constantly so it becomes not a test of skill or a fight it becomes who can spam their touchscreen the fastest doing the same move over and over. I saw the option to accept only people to fight using PRO mode (non lite mode) but when i searched for someone to VS there was not one single person...i tried for a week and got 2 matches after searching for ages (one of which disconnected before he lost) so i took this game to the store and traded it in. CAPCOM should have made lite mode for offline only so ppl could not exploit it like this, so all in all if you want to play single player this is a great game but if you want multi...stick to PC, 360 or PS3 for this one. (unless you enjoy trying to out-spam your opponent) Expand
  3. Sep 19, 2011
    7
    This game blew my eyes when I first started it up - it really shows off what the 3DS is capable of. Though perhaps not the best game to use the 3D effects even though they look good. Huge character selections, solid controls and some intense online fighting, you can't go wrong with this one. My only problem is having my hands cramp up while I play this, but then again, I have big hands, soThis game blew my eyes when I first started it up - it really shows off what the 3DS is capable of. Though perhaps not the best game to use the 3D effects even though they look good. Huge character selections, solid controls and some intense online fighting, you can't go wrong with this one. My only problem is having my hands cramp up while I play this, but then again, I have big hands, so I can't really knock the game on that one. Expand
  4. Jul 4, 2012
    6
    This is a good game, mainly because I'm not a "traditional street fighter player" and know like no moves", so they added moves for the touch screen, which is good. But unfortunately I've gotten bored of it because I'm bad at multiplayer and none of my friends have this game.
  5. Nov 20, 2012
    7
    A solid fighting game, nonetheless it's a downgrade from its console counterparts and since the WFC its not the best for supporting frantic multiplayer, you will experience most of the times some lag.
  6. Jan 12, 2013
    7
    This game is really good, i love playing this game on the train or bus and the online is also very fun. The game also looks great on the 3DS. SSF4 is by far one of the best fighting games on the 3DS.
  7. Feb 21, 2013
    7
    This is a good fighter game, and I think a 7 is a bit low... but an 8 is too high. I got this after already having DOA: Dimensions, and the latter is definitely better in my opinion. The backgrounds in the fights don't move, and the fighting is very simplistic. Once again, these are just my feelings after having played DOA for much longer. It's a solid fighting game though, and onlineThis is a good fighter game, and I think a 7 is a bit low... but an 8 is too high. I got this after already having DOA: Dimensions, and the latter is definitely better in my opinion. The backgrounds in the fights don't move, and the fighting is very simplistic. Once again, these are just my feelings after having played DOA for much longer. It's a solid fighting game though, and online mode is enjoyable. Expand
  8. Mar 8, 2013
    7
    This is a good port, but not great. I have played the pc version and the xbox version and they are far superior. The graphics here seem dead and frozen and the character models are okay, but not amazing. The big advantage here is the portability, so if that's important to you, then this is worth it. multiplayer is very under developed and not rewarding, so don't count on it alot.
  9. Jun 21, 2015
    7
    I Love the street fighter series it is one of the best fighting games in my opinion. I Picked up this game in game for £9 so I was lucky it was on sale, the game is definitely good but to be honest it was not really the street fighter I was expecting. Street fighter in my opinion is all about mashing buttons but with the ability to just tap on the screen to use a move in this game it justI Love the street fighter series it is one of the best fighting games in my opinion. I Picked up this game in game for £9 so I was lucky it was on sale, the game is definitely good but to be honest it was not really the street fighter I was expecting. Street fighter in my opinion is all about mashing buttons but with the ability to just tap on the screen to use a move in this game it just felt a little too meh to me still a decent game Expand
Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 69 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 67 out of 69
  2. Negative: 0 out of 69
  1. Dec 12, 2011
    85
    As of the writing of this, Super Street Fighter IV: 3D is the best title that I've had the privilege to play for the system. Not only are the fights fast paced and enjoyable, but the use of 3DS features such as Streetpass show some promise and the in game figure collection/battle system is something that is sure to keep people engaged for some time.
  2. Oct 20, 2011
    80
    A fast and pretty arcade beat 'em up. You can do several hard special moves just by touching the lower screen, but that's fine, since you can't use an arcade stick. [May 2011]
  3. May 22, 2011
    90
    This is easily the best title in the 3DS launch lineup, and it's proof that the potential is there for the slow-starting system.