Tetris Axis Image
Metascore
74

Mixed or average reviews - based on 33 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 21 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Tetris for Nintendo 3DS will allow fans to experience the game like never before – in 3D! With over 20 eye-catching game modes, Tetris for Nintendo 3DS delivers a rich mix of both traditional and innovative ways to enjoy playing the Tetris game.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 33
  2. Negative: 1 out of 33
  1. Oct 3, 2011
    100
    Tetris: Axis is one of the sweetest 3DS games you'll find. It lacks the fun Nintendo themed stages that made Tetris DS unforgettable, but there's so much content, we doubt players will mind; and seriously, you should already own a copy of Tetris DS anyway.
  2. Oct 29, 2011
    80
    Tetris for the Nintendo 3DS may not win over players who didn't like the game in the first place, but old fans can look forward to plenty of fun modes, including an excellent online experience for up to six players.
  3. Nov 14, 2011
    80
    Still pining for some Tetris after all these years? Tetris 3DS is yet another great addition to the franchise, with tons of modes and exciting multiplayer action.
  4. Oct 4, 2011
    75
    Axis' presentation just plain doesn't quite stack up to other versions on the market - most notable Tetris DS - and the uninspired use of Miis comes off as more lazy than fun.
  5. Nov 4, 2011
    70
    If you're after a quick Tetris fix, and you own a 3DS, this iteration is an obvious choice. For those who have every other version on the market though, it might not do enough to continue the blocky wonderland.
  6. Oct 17, 2011
    70
    I liked the addition of dancing Miis and club-style classical music remixes, and the graphical presentation and 3D novelties were neat, but none of this really satisfied my craving to play some good ol' Tetris. Somehow the standard-ish Marathon mode wasn't doing it for me.
  7. Oct 25, 2011
    40
    This new version of Tetris adds nothing great to the good old formula. Augmented Reality is good fun for 5 minutes, but nothing here really overshadows Tetris DS, which was actually much more interesting and fun.

See all 33 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 6
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 6
  3. Negative: 2 out of 6
  1. Jan 8, 2012
    10
    this game is very fun but challenging I wish they would have thought of better things to add in tetris axsis after playing all the tetris games in it's life time it is all boring Expand
  2. Oct 5, 2011
    10
    This is the Tetris game to get. This game has so many modes, and is so addicting. I am having fun making bit art 3-d models in the shadow editing mode. Nintendo is good at including little touches that make the game a bit more fun then you would expect. The quick play menu is a real plus for jumping into a Tetris game quickly. Collapse
  3. Oct 17, 2011
    9
    This is a surprisingly great game. There is a lot of content and for, some games, the 3d effect seriously add to the experience. I have been playing this game a lot in the past few days and I can already say that this is one of the few games that I will keep for a long time. Expand
  4. Jan 23, 2012
    7
    I am a fan of Tetris...okay so that being said, there was something, and I couldn't quite put my finger on it, but something I just didn't like about this game. I mean, it's Tetris, so it can't be that bad, right? I don't know if it was the annoying sound effects and music, or the fact that I'm used to Tetris DS (my favorite version) and this one just didn't quite live up to it. It's the intangibles that differentiate Tetris versions and this game's intangibles just aren't that good. If you like Tetris, good, this game is Tetris. If you have money for a better version (such as the aforementioned Tetris DS) then you're better off getting that one. Expand
  5. Feb 2, 2014
    2
    Unfortunately it is becoming impossibly difficult very fast, all those new types of game are not necessarily fun for you, but original Tetris is not good here. Expand
  6. Nov 20, 2013
    1
    This game is not fun at all. It has lame modes and is cheaply difficult. It is also very boring. The only reason this isn't a 0 is that Yoshi Touch & Go is worse. Play Tetris Blitz instead, it is so much more fun and inexpensive. Expand