Metascore
91

Universal acclaim - based on 81 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 662 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The Legend of Zelda: A Link Between Worlds is a new game with a new storyline set in world of the Super NES classic The Legend of Zelda: A Link to the Past.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 79 out of 81
  2. Negative: 0 out of 81
  1. 100
    No two ways about it: if you own a 3DS, this Zelda is a must. It’s an intelligent and entertaining action game, brimming with fresh ideas and fascinating worlds. [Issue#237]
  2. Nov 14, 2013
    100
    Painting over any cracks that were starting to appear in the Zelda series, A Link Between Worlds is a refreshing experience and another Nintendo 3DS masterpiece.
  3. Nov 14, 2013
    96
    A stellar game all the way around. A Link Between Worlds maximizes the concept of depth, from the 3D, to the 2D mechanic, to the characters. This game certainly fits well in the pantheon of amazing Zelda games.
  4. Nov 14, 2013
    90
    It’s not just a nostalgic trip; A Link Between Worlds is an excellent game on its own. That said, this title functions most effectively as fan service to us old heads — the references to the source material are as numerous as they are captivating.
  5. Dec 11, 2013
    90
    A Link Between Worlds boasts excellent characterisation and spacial design. Even a too-shallow difficulty curve can't hold this long awaited entry back.
  6. Nov 27, 2013
    90
    Even the most stalwart, traditionalist series fan should be able to appreciate A Link Between Worlds for what it is: the most interesting new Zelda game since Wind Waker.
  7. Nov 14, 2013
    65
    A Link Between World's main problem at the end of the day is a complete lack of heart. There's no defining moment, no memorable villains or characters, and no truly "new" items that make their mark on the series. It's certainly playable in every sense of the word, but I didn't feel the magic I had felt so many times before.

See all 81 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 9 out of 164
  1. Nov 22, 2013
    10
    What initially looked like a game leaning on the aging crutches of A Link to the Past has turned out to be a thoroughly poignant, vivid and immensely satisfying game worthy of standing on its own two feet. Set in the world of A Link to the Past, Link Between Worlds makes the serendipitous combination of a reinvigorating spark with a meaty hit of nostalgia. Presenting freedom of choice gameplay not seen since the original, The Legend of Zelda: A Link Between Worlds makes no effort to hold the players hand through the richly dense world of Hyrule and it works brilliantly. Rather than following in the footsteps of Game Freak and introducing the franchise to a new generation of audiences at the risk of patronising its long term fans, (I’m looking at you Pokémon X and Y) Link Between Worlds pays homage to those of us who have followed Link since his debut over 25 years ago all whilst paving the way for a reinvention of what it means to make a Zelda game. The puzzles in Link Between Worlds are, as aforementioned, immensely satisfying. I could almost hear the pieces of a riddle snap together in my head as I strived to calculate the answer. It’s a feeling experienced whilst playing the Professor Layton series, but puzzle-solving in this game is made relevant and interesting by the vivid world, close to perfect combat and awe-inspiring imagination. This is a beautiful game, presenting a colourful and vibrant world that just seems to radiate adventure and exploration. The characters are complex and interesting, but perhaps the biggest achievement in terms of its presentation is the silky-smooth 60fps frame rate which stays consistent throughout this 18 hour adventure even with the 3D effect turned on. Expand
  2. Nov 30, 2013
    10
    What I at first that would be an annoying adventure soon turned into my favorite. I thought the item rental would be a pain since it seemed like you would always be losing your items it ended up making hhis game unique and great. Also the whole entire landscape is a nostalgic trip for those who have played LttP dozens of times. My only complaint is that the game can be completed way too fast, but it will make it more fun to speed run this game. Expand
  3. Dec 29, 2013
    10
    This game is the best Nintendo has had to offer, puzzle-wise. The vast area holds plenty of things to discover, and you're never on a linear path. The puzzles respect your intelligence, and are never unfair. The graphics are indecisive, sure, but they grow on you. It's a classic game with a very shiny new coat of paint. While the story is a little lacking, I felt Nintendo put lots of care into it, like Mario 3D land. Focusing on game play, this is an easy 10. Story, however, isn't great, but it's not bad, either. This is truly a masterpiece. This game has endless charm, great music, awesome puzzles, and multiple dungeons. Not to mention that it makes good use of Street Pass. Please get it! It's a benchmark in hand held games! Expand
  4. Nov 25, 2013
    10
    I don't typically write many game reviews. I bought this game with a few other titles, some for the ps4 and new super Mario 3d world. All of these games were great but a link between worlds was something special. I was expecting to play it for a few minutes get the jist of it and move on but all of a sudden Nintendo captivated me a cliche story we've all come to grow and love but the humor behind it and hilarious scenarios takes Zelda to a whole new level. Without spoiling anything I'll just say not only does this game produce critical thinking but the story is by far the funniest and well written than all Zeldas before it. Even for a 3ds game this should be GOTY. I wasn't expecting much from this game and didn't care for the videos or screenshots. I was pleasantly surprised at how good this game is. If you don't have it go get it now Expand
  5. Dec 31, 2013
    9
    It is a great game, the story caught my attention because it is related to ocarina of time's story, the graphics are beautiful, although the map is smaller than I expected. There are a few things that disappointed me though, like the fact that you have to buy the items you are going to use in dungeons instead of finding them there or the absence of a cool partner like Navi or Midna (at least for the first 3 dungeons, I haven't finished it). Still, awesome game for anyone, especially Zelda lovers like myself. Expand
  6. Aug 30, 2014
    9
    The Legend of Zelda: A Link Between Worlds is without a doubt an awesome game, one that is surely to become a classic in our hearts in the somewhat distant future. It is undoubtedly a worthy successor to A Link To The Past. This game retains its roots from its predecessor, yet still manages to innovate with concepts that are new to The Legend of Zelda series. This is one game that you should definitely pick up sometime. Furthermore, the game has certainly become one of my favorite Zelda installments (it is now second only to Ocarina of Time).
    The world in The Legend of Zelda: A Link Between Worlds seems massive for a Nintendo 3DS game, in which I pleasantly surprised by the size of Hyrule alone. Discovering Lorule just seemed to reinforce the variety of activities and secrets in ALBW that were just waiting to be discovered. I've spent hours merely exploring both worlds within the game, just in awe of how much there is to do in the game. Completing side quests, playing minigames, collecting Pieces of Hearts, slaughtering monsters, finding Easter eggs, treasure hunting, Streetpass, etc. They're all in the game, and more.
    Speaking of Streetpass, I concur that it was used quite well. For those who do not know, individuals with the game can Streetpass each other, then fight "Dark Link" versions of others using their personal combination of weapons. The Dark Links are AI-controlled, and also account for the number of hearts an individual may currently have, as well as potions, fairies, and other healing items. With this feature, also comes a list of accomplishments, each of which that can be unlocked by completely certain tasks during these fights.
    I found the wall-merging sections of the dungeons to have been used quite effectively as well. They truly added another layer of difficulty to the puzzles present within this game by innovating this brand new mechanism. More than few times did I find myself stuck in specific areas of the dungeons throughout the game, perplexed on how to continue. For that, I applaud the developers; fantastic job, Nintendo EAD.
    In fact, I'd even go as far as to consider the entire world in the game (Hyrule and/or Lorule) as one giant puzzle, that you must slowly solve as you travel between worlds, merge through walls, conquer dungeons without a specific order, and complete certain tasks. It's actually a tad difficult to explain, but I suppose if you were to play the game yourself for a few hours, you might have an idea of what I'm talking about.
    By the way, Ravio is an absolute jerk in the beginning of the game. Seriously bro, you break and enter my house wearing a purple bunny mask, then have the audacity to ask to stay there for awhile. Soon after, you claim MY house as your own, then proceed to turn into a shop that sell various weapons for ridiculous prices. That other purple mask must have been responsible for his utter disrespect. Really bro, who does that?! Oh, and not to mention that you force your birdlike slave to fly to the other side of Hyrule (and sometimes Lorule) to a dangerous dungeon, have it steal my items, then leave me there to die. It doesn't matter what he did later on in the game, the point is that Ravio can stay in Lorule alone for all I care. I never want to see that stupid and cowardly Nabbit-ripoff again in my life. Please understand.
    Expand
  7. May 12, 2014
    2
    Let me start by saying I specifically registered this metacritic account to post this review, hence the user name, and am a huge Zelda fan (twilight princess triforce tattoo included).

    So when I say I was horrendously disappointed by this game, I feel the need to share why and think the single best word to describe it would be "uninspired". That said, maybe you need a bit more of a break down.
    1) Mini-games - Hoping for shooting galleries? bomb-chus? Deku sprout flying? Prepare to be disappointed, usually the "most" fun gameplay, instead the completion-ist in you is almost deciding to pass on playing, luckily they're beyond easy so you won't get 'bored', you'll just get done ASAP.
    2) The flattening gimmick - Its like combining annoying camera angles but because of the tool "Rental" system your going to use it non-stop to check for dead ends 4 screens away. Because walking back and forth is fun! (It's really not).
    3) "Rental System" - Do you not completely suck at games, and have played 1 or more Zelda games previously? Prepare to have more money than you care about. Rent everything the first time you have enough money, cause boy you aren't going to ever need to scrounge!
    4) Easiness of puzzles - Thinking water temple hard? Nope, not even close, in fact, if not for all those blind alleys and walking back and forth (see above), you could do every dungeon practically at a dead run!
    5) Characters - Nope, no minish cap sassy companion, no dark mask vendors, no good or evil midna, I mean even a robot with no emotion is more interesting than nothing.
    6) Storyline - You would think with all of the content, they would of nailed the "nostalgia" factor atleast, unfortunately the storyline is such a direct rip-off/merge of the single most popular Zelda title and the one it stole its title from that you don't care about anything or anyone in the universe.
    7) GAMEPLAY - Gimmick aside, it plays like a Zelda for SNES. Now you may be thinking (I liked that game, it was fun to play) but really, from trains to touchscreen controls the handheld titles have been the creative platform (and cause motion controls suck - sorry guys) for numerous innovations, this one adds nothing.

    In summary, uninspired. Thanks Nintendo. It's pretty bad when Ocarina of Time remakes are somehow more original than your newer titles. Give us Majora's Mask remastered and I'll consider forgiving you....maybe.
    Expand

See all 164 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best Videogames of 2013

    The Best Videogames of 2013 Image
    Published: December 30, 2013
    In our annual ranking of the year's best video games, get a list of 2013's best and worst releases by platform, view a comparison of the various game consoles, and find out which title earned Metacritic Game of the Year honors.