Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 85 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 705 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time is being remade in 3-D for the 3DS.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 84 out of 85
  2. Negative: 0 out of 85
  1. Jun 15, 2011
    100
    This game is one of the greatest things that video games have ever achieved.
  2. Jun 27, 2011
    100
    I wonder how anything will ever better Ocarina of Time in its small but vital corner of this bloated industry.
  3. Dec 6, 2011
    100
    Beautiful graphics, that wonderful soundtrack, the enthralling story and that damn annoying fairy, the 3DS version has it all and is easily the best port to ever be made of the legend.
  4. 95
    If you've never played Ocarina of Time before, run out and buy this immediately. If you're intimately familiar with the game, there's nothing too new in this version to pull you in, though if you ever get the urge to play it again, Ocarina of Time 3D lets you experience all your wonderful memories with a brand new modern feel.
  5. Jun 15, 2011
    93
    My new favorite way to play one of my top 10 games of all time. Its updated visuals look great in 3D, the touch-screen streamlines inventory issues, and aiming with the gyroscope feels like much more than a gimmick. [July 2011, p.92]
  6. Jun 29, 2011
    90
    The Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time 3D is a classic that still works, even though it's essentially the same game as it was in 1998. It would surprise me if Nintendo in the future doesn't feel the need of releasing a new console with a battery that lasts longer between recharges, since that is the biggest issue with his remake. Using the gyroscope doesn't match well with the need of having your 3DS connected to the wall socket. But all in all, the excellent adventure remains intact.
  7. 70
    Not entirely a bad remake – the great adventure catches everyone but controls are clumsy and 3D effects are far from what we expected. [July 2011]

See all 85 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 11 out of 224
  1. Sep 8, 2011
    10
    You know, the HD graphics were fantastic enough to me, but I had no idea the 3D was going to be so amazing with this. It's a fantastic remake of a classic game, loving every minute of it! Expand
  2. Jun 19, 2011
    10
    OoT was an amazing game in 1998. It was many gamers first experiences with such a large, seemingly open world game. There was so much to do, and such a highly rewarding feeling of exploration. Many of the N64 era of gamers consider this to be one of the greatest games ever made. Thankfully, this version of OoT doesn't change any of the original game features or mechanics, however it does add a few features that take advantage of the 3ds hardware. Is this game still to be considered the best game ever made? Or is nostalgia a greater factor than the actual aspects of the game?

    Well, many die hard Zelda fans may be dismayed to hear this, but nostalgia is a HUGE factor of whether or not gamers will feel that this game is still amazing. Players who have never played OoT before this are surely going to love the story, the music, and the exploration and atmosphere, but may not feel it is one of the best games of all time.

    But as for the many of us who fell in love with the original, this is the same game, plain and simple. The 3ds specific features are overall enjoyable, but not game changing or breaking for that matter. the gyroscopic controls are a surprisingly well implemented idea. The 3D effect adds depth, and definitely has some moments that actually pop from the screen, however, again, it isn't game changing or necessary. Like it or not, OoT is just as amazing now as it was in 98. With the revamped graphics, the master quest, boss rush, and optional hints for newer players, this game is surely deserving of the attention of anyone who enjoys video games.
    Expand
  3. Aug 2, 2012
    10
    A true test of a masterpiece is how it stands up over the years. I believe Ocarina of Time is still as good as the day it was released almost 15 years ago. Nintendo have done a great job upgrading the graphics and integrating some other new features such as 3D and the addition of gyroscopic controls. Overall the game is basically the same game that it was in 1998, but that works in its favour as OoT has always been the second best Zelda game (Link to the Past will always be #1). Expand
  4. Feb 20, 2012
    10
    This is got to be the second best game ever, next to skyward sword. It is one of the 11 games that can actually get a ten in my book. It tells an amazing story, with amazing gameplay, mind-boggling puzzles, beautiful graphics, beautiful music, and awesome action. If you haven't played this game, you should definitely. Even if you end up hating it, you can say you've beten and amazing game with great diversity in gameplay throughout the entire adventure. Expand
  5. Jun 29, 2011
    10
    It was perfect in 1998 and it's perfect in 2011. The game is flawless from gameplay to story to the updated graphics etc. I just wish all of the music would have been orchestrated and it would have had some more special features. Still a 10/10 though. Expand
  6. Mar 19, 2014
    9
    A perfect update to a classic game updated just the right amount. As a longtime Zelda fan, I have to say the game stays true to OoT for the N64, yet the visuals are stunning and smooth for a handheld console update. It's the classic game we all know and love, and if you're looking to introduce someone to OoT, I'd highly recommend telling them to get this version. Expand
  7. Jul 25, 2013
    2
    I got the game, and I can honestly say that I'm not too impressed. After playing a few hours through the game, I found it dull, and lacking. For those who say the game is a "masterpiece", I would say think again. The people who find this game amazing, they are just legend of zelda fanboys that have an extremely biased opinion. There are so many other good games out on the market, that this one isn't worth it. Expand

See all 224 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Quarterly Report: The 25 Best Nintendo 3DS Games

    Quarterly Report: The 25 Best Nintendo 3DS Games Image
    Published: June 30, 2014
    Our Quarterly Reports provide a handy list of the 25 best games for each platform, both for the current year so far and for all time. Here are the best games available for the Nintendo 3DS.
  2. The Best Videogames of 2011

    The Best Videogames of 2011 Image
    Published: December 23, 2011
    It wasn't just your imagination; 2011 was indeed a great year for videogames. In our yearly report, we take a look at the year's best releases overall as well as the top games for each platform.