Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 85 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 790 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time is being remade in 3-D for the 3DS.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 84 out of 85
  2. Negative: 0 out of 85
  1. Jun 15, 2011
    100
    This game is one of the greatest things that video games have ever achieved.
  2. Jun 27, 2011
    100
    I wonder how anything will ever better Ocarina of Time in its small but vital corner of this bloated industry.
  3. Dec 6, 2011
    100
    Beautiful graphics, that wonderful soundtrack, the enthralling story and that damn annoying fairy, the 3DS version has it all and is easily the best port to ever be made of the legend.
  4. 95
    If you've never played Ocarina of Time before, run out and buy this immediately. If you're intimately familiar with the game, there's nothing too new in this version to pull you in, though if you ever get the urge to play it again, Ocarina of Time 3D lets you experience all your wonderful memories with a brand new modern feel.
  5. Jun 15, 2011
    93
    My new favorite way to play one of my top 10 games of all time. Its updated visuals look great in 3D, the touch-screen streamlines inventory issues, and aiming with the gyroscope feels like much more than a gimmick. [July 2011, p.92]
  6. Jun 29, 2011
    90
    The Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time 3D is a classic that still works, even though it's essentially the same game as it was in 1998. It would surprise me if Nintendo in the future doesn't feel the need of releasing a new console with a battery that lasts longer between recharges, since that is the biggest issue with his remake. Using the gyroscope doesn't match well with the need of having your 3DS connected to the wall socket. But all in all, the excellent adventure remains intact.
  7. 70
    Not entirely a bad remake – the great adventure catches everyone but controls are clumsy and 3D effects are far from what we expected. [July 2011]

See all 85 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 12 out of 235
  1. Jul 31, 2011
    10
    great game. you wont a good rpg for 3ds. Zelda is the game to get. 3d effects are awesome. game looks great. varrys from easy to hard. this isgreat game. you wont a good rpg for 3ds. Zelda is the game to get. 3d effects are awesome. game looks great. varrys from easy to hard. this is realy a A++ game. Expand
  2. Jun 19, 2011
    10
    OoT was an amazing game in 1998. It was many gamers first experiences with such a large, seemingly open world game. There was so much to do,OoT was an amazing game in 1998. It was many gamers first experiences with such a large, seemingly open world game. There was so much to do, and such a highly rewarding feeling of exploration. Many of the N64 era of gamers consider this to be one of the greatest games ever made. Thankfully, this version of OoT doesn't change any of the original game features or mechanics, however it does add a few features that take advantage of the 3ds hardware. Is this game still to be considered the best game ever made? Or is nostalgia a greater factor than the actual aspects of the game?

    Well, many die hard Zelda fans may be dismayed to hear this, but nostalgia is a HUGE factor of whether or not gamers will feel that this game is still amazing. Players who have never played OoT before this are surely going to love the story, the music, and the exploration and atmosphere, but may not feel it is one of the best games of all time.

    But as for the many of us who fell in love with the original, this is the same game, plain and simple. The 3ds specific features are overall enjoyable, but not game changing or breaking for that matter. the gyroscopic controls are a surprisingly well implemented idea. The 3D effect adds depth, and definitely has some moments that actually pop from the screen, however, again, it isn't game changing or necessary. Like it or not, OoT is just as amazing now as it was in 98. With the revamped graphics, the master quest, boss rush, and optional hints for newer players, this game is surely deserving of the attention of anyone who enjoys video games.
    Expand
  3. Jun 16, 2012
    10
    The game is the same, but the graphics, some sounds and of course the 3D and gyro sensor features add some welcomed improvements. I wouldThe game is the same, but the graphics, some sounds and of course the 3D and gyro sensor features add some welcomed improvements. I would definitely recommend this game if you have, or are considering a Nintendo 3DS. Expand
  4. Dec 30, 2011
    10
    Ocarina of Time is widely known as the best Zelda game ever made, if not the BEST game ever made. Everyone was dreaming for the day a remakeOcarina of Time is widely known as the best Zelda game ever made, if not the BEST game ever made. Everyone was dreaming for the day a remake would be made. Nintendo 3DS had no AAA games at the time, so it was a no brainer to make it for that system. How did it fare? Let's find out.

    Gameplay: This is the same game you have come to know and love. The only big change is the way you use your items. The touch screen is used to great effect, allowing you to use your items with the touch of a item. This allows for a less cluttered screen, and being able to see more of the action. Other then that, it really is the same gameplay as the original, with a less clunky controller. The added addition of the master quest is a nice bonus too, as it is a re-design of the dungeons from the original Ocarina of Time, and a tougher version as well. Great for people who played the original to death, like myself.

    Visuals: Now this is the biggest change of the game. The graphics look great for the 3DS, and amazing compared to the original graphics. The 3D is used to great effect, and is actually a huge difference when turned on compared to being off. It can be a little overpowering at times, but can easily be adjusted. All character models are smoothed out, no more jaggy edges, and no sudden pop up textures. This is Ocarina of Time with a fresh coat of paint. You will see no complaints from me about the visuals, this is a amazing looking game.

    Controls: Another big change from the N64 Original is the controls. You can now use items such as the Slingshot and the bow with the gyroscope controls of the 3DS. The only drawback is it can easily put the 3D feature out of wack. However, this can be turned off, if you wish to use the traditional controls of the control stick. The ocarina also has been overhauled, and is controlled by all the buttons, not the c buttons of the original N64 controller. Other then that, this is the same control scheme you know and love.

    Sound: HEY LISTEN! HEY LISTEN! The sound is great. Navi is still as annoying as ever, and it actually sounds like the sound has improved. Sword hits sound great, and Link still has his usual grunts and yells. Music is still great, from Hyrule Castle, to Lost Woods.

    Summary: The greatest game ever made in my opinion, made even better. This is the game to own for a 3DS owner, and the reason to buy a 3DS for a non owner.

    Score: 10/10
    Expand
  5. Jun 24, 2011
    10
    Best zelda ever made, made even better. Amazing, Fantastic, Perfect, Flawless, Best video game ever made. Buy it now! Stop thinking about it!Best zelda ever made, made even better. Amazing, Fantastic, Perfect, Flawless, Best video game ever made. Buy it now! Stop thinking about it! Sell your dog and buy this game. Expand
  6. Jun 20, 2013
    9
    Ocarina of Time 3D was the first 3DS game I got.
    And, wow, was it the best remake of a game I ever played. Hands down.
    - Amazing Redone
    Ocarina of Time 3D was the first 3DS game I got.
    And, wow, was it the best remake of a game I ever played. Hands down.
    - Amazing Redone Graphics, extremely impressive for early 3DS
    - Story is a classic among classics
    - Smooth Controls when using the Circle Pad, not so much when movement with the system itself is used (Bow, Looking Around, etc.)
    - Music is also amazing, sad that it isn't redone
    - Added features from the original, such as 4 item slots and hints for new players using the Sheikah Stone
    - Challenging Redone Master Quest after being the Normal Game
    - Lots of Replay Value
    This game is great, and I think it's better than the original.
    Buy this game now!
    Expand
  7. Jul 25, 2013
    2
    I got the game, and I can honestly say that I'm not too impressed. After playing a few hours through the game, I found it dull, and lacking.I got the game, and I can honestly say that I'm not too impressed. After playing a few hours through the game, I found it dull, and lacking. For those who say the game is a "masterpiece", I would say think again. The people who find this game amazing, they are just legend of zelda fanboys that have an extremely biased opinion. There are so many other good games out on the market, that this one isn't worth it. Expand

See all 235 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Quarterly Report: The 25 Best Nintendo 3DS Games

    Quarterly Report: The 25 Best Nintendo 3DS Games Image
    Published: December 31, 2014
    Our Quarterly Reports provide a handy list of the 25 best games for each platform, both for the current year so far and for all time. Here are the best games available for the Nintendo 3DS.
  2. The Best Videogames of 2011

    The Best Videogames of 2011 Image
    Published: December 23, 2011
    It wasn't just your imagination; 2011 was indeed a great year for videogames. In our yearly report, we take a look at the year's best releases overall as well as the top games for each platform.