Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 85 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 658 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time is being remade in 3-D for the 3DS.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 84 out of 85
  2. Negative: 0 out of 85
  1. Jun 15, 2011
    100
    This game is one of the greatest things that video games have ever achieved.
  2. Jun 27, 2011
    100
    I wonder how anything will ever better Ocarina of Time in its small but vital corner of this bloated industry.
  3. Dec 6, 2011
    100
    Beautiful graphics, that wonderful soundtrack, the enthralling story and that damn annoying fairy, the 3DS version has it all and is easily the best port to ever be made of the legend.
  4. 95
    If you've never played Ocarina of Time before, run out and buy this immediately. If you're intimately familiar with the game, there's nothing too new in this version to pull you in, though if you ever get the urge to play it again, Ocarina of Time 3D lets you experience all your wonderful memories with a brand new modern feel.
  5. Jun 15, 2011
    93
    My new favorite way to play one of my top 10 games of all time. Its updated visuals look great in 3D, the touch-screen streamlines inventory issues, and aiming with the gyroscope feels like much more than a gimmick. [July 2011, p.92]
  6. Jun 29, 2011
    90
    The Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time 3D is a classic that still works, even though it's essentially the same game as it was in 1998. It would surprise me if Nintendo in the future doesn't feel the need of releasing a new console with a battery that lasts longer between recharges, since that is the biggest issue with his remake. Using the gyroscope doesn't match well with the need of having your 3DS connected to the wall socket. But all in all, the excellent adventure remains intact.
  7. 70
    Not entirely a bad remake – the great adventure catches everyone but controls are clumsy and 3D effects are far from what we expected. [July 2011]

See all 85 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 11 out of 217
  1. Sep 15, 2011
    10
    This game has been a point of adoration since I first played it, when I was 6. It is so amazing to see it with updated graphics, and having it's minor nuisances fixed (Setting boots as items for easy changing, better depth-perception with 3d, etc.). I really can't get over the reviews that say 'Teh or1g1nal wuz b3ttr.' These people obviously have not played this version, as this is the EXACT SAME GAME, down to every Tektite, every pot, and it's contents, and every NPC. It's sole purpose of being re-released is so that people can finally have a portable version of the same game they knew and loved, or for those new to the game, to put it on a platform that they currently own, instead of having to go out and buy an N64. (I'm sorry that this is turning a bit into a 'Reviewer Review', but I want to clear some things up for those who haven't played the game yet.) I love as well, when thenix says "platforming wasn't good...", or Vlado with "...lack of a jump button...". This game never was, and never will be a platformer. Where even is this 'platforming' that he talks about being "not very good"? Then as far as the lack of jump button is concerned, Link already jumps or climbs over things when he needs to! And as far as Navi's 'worthless hints' that everyone keeps going on about? Simply ignore them if you don't like them! Nintendo makes it's games playable for such a huge variety of gamers, both young and old, so these hints, which many say are useless, are in fact completely invaluable to, say, a six year old playing this game. ( I can remember playing as a six year-old, and not knowing where to go, but having Navi chime in, and let me know.) Anyways, now that that little rant is done, I just want to say that this really is one of the most timeless (no pun intended) games of all... time... (Again, no pun intended) and is most definitely worth your time. (Agh! that's three times now! AH! FOUR!) Expand
  2. Jun 19, 2011
    10
    OoT was an amazing game in 1998. It was many gamers first experiences with such a large, seemingly open world game. There was so much to do, and such a highly rewarding feeling of exploration. Many of the N64 era of gamers consider this to be one of the greatest games ever made. Thankfully, this version of OoT doesn't change any of the original game features or mechanics, however it does add a few features that take advantage of the 3ds hardware. Is this game still to be considered the best game ever made? Or is nostalgia a greater factor than the actual aspects of the game?

    Well, many die hard Zelda fans may be dismayed to hear this, but nostalgia is a HUGE factor of whether or not gamers will feel that this game is still amazing. Players who have never played OoT before this are surely going to love the story, the music, and the exploration and atmosphere, but may not feel it is one of the best games of all time.

    But as for the many of us who fell in love with the original, this is the same game, plain and simple. The 3ds specific features are overall enjoyable, but not game changing or breaking for that matter. the gyroscopic controls are a surprisingly well implemented idea. The 3D effect adds depth, and definitely has some moments that actually pop from the screen, however, again, it isn't game changing or necessary. Like it or not, OoT is just as amazing now as it was in 98. With the revamped graphics, the master quest, boss rush, and optional hints for newer players, this game is surely deserving of the attention of anyone who enjoys video games.
    Expand
  3. Aug 2, 2012
    10
    A true test of a masterpiece is how it stands up over the years. I believe Ocarina of Time is still as good as the day it was released almost 15 years ago. Nintendo have done a great job upgrading the graphics and integrating some other new features such as 3D and the addition of gyroscopic controls. Overall the game is basically the same game that it was in 1998, but that works in its favour as OoT has always been the second best Zelda game (Link to the Past will always be #1). Expand
  4. Mar 30, 2012
    10
    The is easily the definitive version of this game. Everything that was improved is for the better, most notably the graphics. It looks great in 3D as well as 2D. The interface changes integrating the touch screen also streamline things nicely. People have been complaining about the Z-targeting not being improved. And while it's largely the same, it's not worse but any means, and not really ever a hindrance to the game play. In fact, I'm glad they didn't tinker with the mechanics too much. Nearly fifteen years after its release, this game is still fun and engaging. Sure, this 3DS port is basically just a shiny new coat of paint, but that's all this game really needed anyway. Expand
  5. Jun 21, 2011
    10
    It's literally the same exact game as the Ocarina of Time that came out over a decade ago, and its just about as brilliant. However, it doesn't quite capture the same magic that I experienced with the N64 version. This is mainly because the dialogue is just shot out at you at ridiculously fast speeds. There's not the same sort of drama that the original had - the dialogue was spelled out as if the characters were speaking it word by word, and in this one its all just thrown at you as if it wants you to finish the game more quickly or not give much attention to this wonderfully put together scenes. But besides that the game is fantastic and offers much more along with a game that is already a classic. It's remastered and the 3D really helps bring you into the world. Some of the dialogue is even changed slightly to make it more understandable - like the guy (or chick - the gender always confused me) who wants to buy stuff from you now more accurately declares that he wants to buy something that you carry in a bottle rather than any old item. Also the build-up to meeting Princess Zelda is put together well. Boss Mode is a great addition as well as Master Quest, which is like looking at the game all over again from new eyes - it's more difficult than the original simply because the world is mirrored and at times that can be very confusing. Pretty much everything we loved from the original is there, just it's all made to look even more impressive and sound more real (except they kept the music and a few sound effects of monsters and that sort of stuff). It's a masterpiece, like the original, but I can't really say it beats the original - mainly just because of that sped up dialogue. Oh! - and it's the best 3DS game out there, so buy it! Expand
  6. Apr 16, 2014
    9
    This gmae is great. This is the first zelda game I have played and it got me hooked on the other games. The gameplay and puzzles are perfect and it doesn't seem very dull. Collecting all the heart peices and killing all the skulltulas can become a pain, but otherwise its a must get if you have a 3ds Expand
  7. Jul 25, 2013
    2
    I got the game, and I can honestly say that I'm not too impressed. After playing a few hours through the game, I found it dull, and lacking. For those who say the game is a "masterpiece", I would say think again. The people who find this game amazing, they are just legend of zelda fanboys that have an extremely biased opinion. There are so many other good games out on the market, that this one isn't worth it. Expand

See all 217 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Quarterly Report: The 25 Best Nintendo 3DS Games

    Quarterly Report: The 25 Best Nintendo 3DS Games Image
    Published: March 24, 2014
    Our Quarterly Reports provide a handy list of the 25 best games for each platform, both for the current year so far and for all time. Here are the best games available for the Nintendo 3DS.
  2. The Best Videogames of 2011

    The Best Videogames of 2011 Image
    Published: December 23, 2011
    It wasn't just your imagination; 2011 was indeed a great year for videogames. In our yearly report, we take a look at the year's best releases overall as well as the top games for each platform.