User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 72 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 62 out of 72
  2. Negative: 8 out of 72

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 22, 2012
    9
    I absolutely loved this game on PC and the 3ds port is awesome too with lots of user based levels (which are much harder) to keep you busy even if you already beat the game. The 3D effect is very lacking in this game though and the aspect ratio is off but putting that aside this is a title worth picking up
  2. Feb 10, 2012
    10
    I first bought and played this game on PC and I LOVED it. I love old school games so the raw difficulty of this game, the neo-old school atari-esque graphics, the brilliant music, and the charming short 'n' sweet dialog all make this game perfect for a gamer like myself. The game boasts quite a few challenges that will cause you to die repeatedly, but the action starts back up the momentI first bought and played this game on PC and I LOVED it. I love old school games so the raw difficulty of this game, the neo-old school atari-esque graphics, the brilliant music, and the charming short 'n' sweet dialog all make this game perfect for a gamer like myself. The game boasts quite a few challenges that will cause you to die repeatedly, but the action starts back up the moment you die at the nearest check point. I purchased this game again because I loved it so much I thought I might as well have it on the go. Expand
  3. Feb 9, 2012
    9
    Definitely a good game at a great price. It's filled with tons (the story mode plus some user created levels) of very hard platforming goodness.
    BE WARNED: Very challenging, there are many checkpoints but be prepared to die. Again. And again. If you're not the type that enjoys a tough challenge (but again, MANY checkpoints) then you should think hard before getting this. If you enjoy a
    Definitely a good game at a great price. It's filled with tons (the story mode plus some user created levels) of very hard platforming goodness.
    BE WARNED: Very challenging, there are many checkpoints but be prepared to die. Again. And again. If you're not the type that enjoys a tough challenge (but again, MANY checkpoints) then you should think hard before getting this. If you enjoy a platforming challenge like I do, it's a very great buy.
    Expand
  4. Nov 20, 2012
    10
    An amazing game, with retro-esque plataforming and a great difficulty, newbies must stay away from it, they should go play something more of their level like CoD. For seasoned gamers or one who enjoys a challenge, you can't go wrong with this game!
  5. Mar 11, 2012
    10
    It has all the charm of the 80s and all the after thought of being released after the turn of the millennium. The personality is charming sci fi goodness. You'll love it. Just be patient.
  6. May 7, 2012
    9
    If you have a 3DS, and it's connected to the eShop, get VVVVVV! GAMEPLAY: the games controls are very tight, responsive, and never once let me down. Instead of jumping to get from place to place, the game has you flipping gravity (ceiling becomes floor, floor becomes ceiling). The idea feels fresh, and forces you to think a little more creatively when it comes to overcoming obstacles.If you have a 3DS, and it's connected to the eShop, get VVVVVV! GAMEPLAY: the games controls are very tight, responsive, and never once let me down. Instead of jumping to get from place to place, the game has you flipping gravity (ceiling becomes floor, floor becomes ceiling). The idea feels fresh, and forces you to think a little more creatively when it comes to overcoming obstacles. DIFFICULTY: the game has a retro feel, and that's reflected in it's difficulty. You will die, a lot, but the difficulty always seems to feel like it stems from devious planning rather than cheap tricks (and there are a generous amount of checkpoints), so it never gets too maddening, and no matter how many times you fail, you feel compelled to try it 'just one more time'. LENGTH: the main game lasts about 2-3 hours (depending on whether or not you go for the collectables), and while that would normally be quite short for the price, the game includes 16 additional "Player Levels" that really flesh out the experience. Whether it's through an even tougher difficulty, new obstacles, lack of checkpoints, or greater emphasis on story, each of these special levels do something that sets them apart from each other (and the main game), so it never feels old. There is also a "Flip Mode" that allows you to play everything from a flipped perspective, if that's your thing. GRAPHICS: I'll tell you right now that I'm not quite old enough to truly appreciate the nostalgia they were trying to get at with this one, but I still enjoyed the game's colorful charm. If I found one flaw with the game, it's that it doesn't make full use of the 3DS's widescreen support, and the 3D is a bit weak. With that said, it is a PC port, so those issues were a bit expected, and never once hampered gameplay, so it was a very minor annoyance at worst. SOUND: this game's soundtrack is simply beautiful. I can't post any links here to to the site's rules, but I urge you to find a way to listen to the game's music, it's that good. STORY: because of the retro design of the game, it does take a minimalist approach to storytelling, but that seemed to suit it just find. If you are however, really eager to find out exactly why you're doing all this, there are numerous computers scattered throughout the game world, which will give you more insight into the game's happenings, which is a nice touch. CONCLUSION: this game is a must own for any 3DS owner (unless you don't have eShop access for whatever reason). It has a few minor graphical issues, but the game is simply a masterpiece in the gameplay department. Expand
  7. Oct 15, 2012
    10
    This game is absolutely fantastic. As someone who never played it on PC, I decided I absolutely NEEDED to play it on 3DS. I was blown away. As someone who never grew up with the Atari and Activision games of yesterday, I can still tell that this game is a loving tribute to all things of that nature, with an incredible soundtrack and love put into practically every piece of the game. If youThis game is absolutely fantastic. As someone who never played it on PC, I decided I absolutely NEEDED to play it on 3DS. I was blown away. As someone who never grew up with the Atari and Activision games of yesterday, I can still tell that this game is a loving tribute to all things of that nature, with an incredible soundtrack and love put into practically every piece of the game. If you own a 3DS and haven't bought VVVVVV, you have made a huge mistake. Expand
  8. Feb 27, 2013
    10
    When I saw this game on Steam, I was hooked. 8-bit era Gravity Guy for $5!? I took the bait, hook, line, and sinker. Unfortunately, I didn't have money to cough up for it, so I wallowed in self-misery. Then I realized I still had money in my 3DS E-Shop account. Within minutes, I had shelled out $8 and downloaded it. I put on my headphones, set the 3D to max, and started playing. The gameWhen I saw this game on Steam, I was hooked. 8-bit era Gravity Guy for $5!? I took the bait, hook, line, and sinker. Unfortunately, I didn't have money to cough up for it, so I wallowed in self-misery. Then I realized I still had money in my 3DS E-Shop account. Within minutes, I had shelled out $8 and downloaded it. I put on my headphones, set the 3D to max, and started playing. The game feels like it was made for the 3DS. The Gravity Guy/Mario style platforming was easily controlled with the circle pad. Tricky sections requiring a deft touch reverted to the old d-pad. I frequently died, but [thankfully] there was no life limit, so I respawned at the last checkpoint I touched. After finishing the story, I cried. No game has ever captivated me this thoroughly in my life. After that emotional moment, I went to the menu. Imagine my surprise when I found extra levels, ripe for the picking. Overall, the game lasted less than 10 hours, but this is one of the few games I will pass on to my [future] children and say "You have to play this." Expand
Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 19 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 19
  2. Negative: 0 out of 19
  1. Aug 20, 2012
    80
    Take away anyone of its gameplay elements, and VVVVVV will crumble. But, as it is, it's one hell of a game, difficult but not frustrating, innovative but simple.
  2. Jun 25, 2012
    90
    Razor sharp platforming and toe-tapping chiptunes keep you coming back. [Aug 2012, p.80]
  3. Jun 20, 2012
    90
    As thrilling to complete the first time as the fifth. [July 2012, p.105]