Metascore
64

Mixed or average reviews - based on 72 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 119 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Yoshi's Island brings Yoshi and Baby Mario back with flutter jumps, ground pounds, egg throws, and a host of new actions that use the unique features of the Nintendo 3DS.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 72
  2. Negative: 4 out of 72
  1. May 11, 2014
    85
    Yoshi's New Island is a fun, cute and a lot easier platformer than other recent Nintendo games. It's a perfect match for a platformer novice, but gives thrills to a veteran too, especially when used as a sedative between much harder games. [Apr 2014]
  2. Mar 13, 2014
    79
    Yoshi’s New Island’s inconsistent art and tacked-on new ideas are all layered on top of the same strong platforming and level design that made the original great. This deep understanding of pacing and flow helps Yoshi’s latest adventure stand out as the best iteration on Yoshi since the SNES original. Even if I wanted to play with the sound turned off.
  3. Mar 24, 2014
    70
    Like modern gastronomy, Arzest uses state of the art techniques with noble ingredients to create dishes that are both beautiful and delicious. It's a pity the studio didn't elaborate more audacious recipes, which would taste less familiar. This rather easily cooked Yoshi's New Island will please a wide and young audience though, while keeping enough spice for the hard boiled eggs lovers.
  4. Apr 7, 2014
    65
    Solidly made and good fun, but lacks the killer creativity that overflowed from the SNES original. [May 2014, p.66]
  5. Mar 31, 2014
    60
    Even though it has some "Nintendo magical moments" Yoshi's New Island never truly shines.
  6. Mar 13, 2014
    60
    Nintendo are famous for reinventing the wheel with their games, and throwing new ideas into old series that should have long become tired and repetitive but, sadly, Yoshi’s New Island just isn’t one of these titles.
  7. Mar 13, 2014
    40
    It might look a little like Yoshi's Island, then, but it's a worse game in every regard. 19 years on from the original, its design has been denuded of almost everything that made it great: a series once fecund with ideas is now coasting on past glories.

See all 72 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 34
  2. Negative: 9 out of 34
  1. Apr 24, 2014
    10
    Ok this game is definitely not as good as the original aesthetically, but the gameplay is pretty much the same. I don't understand how poepleOk this game is definitely not as good as the original aesthetically, but the gameplay is pretty much the same. I don't understand how poeple could rate this game lower than Yoshis Island DS. If you don't mind the new style and visuals this game is pretty good! Expand
  2. Mar 14, 2014
    9
    A wonderful game. I'll cut straight to the point and say the music isn't really that great. It sucks, even. But the graphics are colorful andA wonderful game. I'll cut straight to the point and say the music isn't really that great. It sucks, even. But the graphics are colorful and fun, the gameplay is tight, and challenge is where it's due. Some other reviews are saying the game is a skip, but skipping this one might cause regret. Expand
  3. Mar 14, 2014
    8
    This game has its own flow and pace, when you set aside your expectations and delve into its wonderful world and mechanics, there is a lot toThis game has its own flow and pace, when you set aside your expectations and delve into its wonderful world and mechanics, there is a lot to love about Yoshi's New Island.

    The lack of checkpoints, the sudden death traps and the difficulty of finding each collectible item lengthen the game unnecessarily. If you just want to walk through the game it's a relaxing, albeit short, experience. If you try to collect and explore everything it can get rather frustrating.

    Once you decided that this game can never live up to being a true sequel to the SNES Yoshi's Island, but rather a game being very akin to Yoshi's Story on N64, Yoshi's New Island is a very good way to spend your time and you'll find a lot to love about it.
    Expand
  4. Mar 18, 2014
    7
    I wasn't expecting to see a ground-breaking game of the Yoshi series that would be completely different of everything that I have saw from theI wasn't expecting to see a ground-breaking game of the Yoshi series that would be completely different of everything that I have saw from the series before. I was expecting a fun experience. And this game was what I was expecting. This game is fun to play, the art style is amazing, even though I think it looks kinda messy at some points. The game plays fine, but nothing to different from the previous one. See the problem here is that there isn't nothing different. It is fun, yes, but it doesn't brings anything new to the table. Yoshi's New Island feels more like a remake than a sequel, but if you just want a fun 3DS platformer, then why not check this out? Expand
  5. Sep 17, 2014
    6
    The actual game is great fun! Cute graphics with memorable enemies and puzzle scenes. Unlike Mario, there's no timer so the game is designedThe actual game is great fun! Cute graphics with memorable enemies and puzzle scenes. Unlike Mario, there's no timer so the game is designed to to be explored. Levels are puzzles and that's fun. Getting all the "collectibles" in each level is fun because finding them all is a puzzling challenge rathe than a chore and gives each level some replay value.

    Then we get to the non-optional, gimmicky accelerometer based mini games. 3.1 has the mini game that prompted this review.

    The game turns your yoshi into a sub (yes, a **** submarine). You then need to use your accelerometer and torpedoes to get through the level. There's no acceleration control, so you move at a constant speed. There's also no target control, meaning you may need multiple rockets to take out the thing in front of you. Add in the fact that every time you fire you STOP moving, and the fact that there is a timer and you have one frustrating mess which will ensure I never play 3.1 stage again, just to ensure that I don't have to play that mini game again. The worst part is, the same game could have been accomplished with the awesome sliding D-pad that the 3DS incorporates.

    In short, this game is a load of fun to someone who never played the original yoshi games, but the accelerometer is a gimmick that apple already tried to push as the next stage of gaming. Nobody wants to hold their 3DS wrong side up and nobody wants to look like a douchebag playing the damn thing. If you're not into frustrating forced in features that should really be mini games added in as cute, gimmicky and optional extras, this game can't be for you.

    I couldn't give the game a 3/10 like I wanted to, because the ACTUAL GAME is a load of fun - easily an 8/10 if you think Mario is a 7/10. But being arse-raped with game features you were not expecting nor wanted, nor enjoyed having been forced to use, limits this game's experience in a way that could be so easy to avoid.
    Expand
  6. Mar 14, 2014
    4
    There is nothing "New" about Yoshi's New Island. Nintendo brought nothing innovated to the franchise and the artwork and especially the musicThere is nothing "New" about Yoshi's New Island. Nintendo brought nothing innovated to the franchise and the artwork and especially the music is so childish that only kids under 4 would like it. After one minute I turned off the volume. I wished that Nintendo would have created a different soundtrack for older fans. Expand
  7. May 14, 2014
    0
    No thanks!!! I am NOT getting this!!! Why did nintedo continue this series? It is so....freaking....HARD!!!!!! Why, Nintendo? Why?! WHY???????!!!!!!!!

See all 34 User Reviews