Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 15 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 117 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Zero Escape: Virtue's Last Reward has players taking on the Nonary Game again, as it's back and more deadly than ever.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 15
  2. Negative: 0 out of 15
  1. Jan 3, 2013
    100
    VLR builds on a pre-existing universe a new layer with new characters and sets the stage for the probably last volume of a series that messes with the heads of all who are involved.
  2. Nov 21, 2012
    100
    Zero Escape: Virtue's Last Reward is nothing short of a masterpiece. Riveting from beginning to end, it sets a new standard for interactive storytelling, and demands an emotional investment from the player that ultimately pays off with one of the most satisfying endings in recent video gaming memory. Unless you have yet to experience its prequel 999, there is simply no excuse for you not to play this game.
  3. Nov 12, 2012
    95
    Virtue's Last Reward is a worthy follow-up in the Zero Escape series. You need to play it. Just, you know, play 999 first.
  4. Nov 15, 2012
    90
    The excellent story hooked me in from the opening minutes and I didn't want to let go. With branching paths, multiple endings, and truly mysterious characters to interact with, Virtue's Last Reward will keep you thrilled for hours on end.
  5. Mar 14, 2013
    88
    If you want a suspenseful crime story with sci-fi flair, dramatic conflicts and puzzles that are as varied as they are challenging, look no further. This is a grand adventure.
  6. Nov 25, 2012
    88
    This is smart, powerful storytelling and one of 2012's shiniest hidden gems. [Christmas 2012, p.91]
  7. Dec 17, 2012
    60
    If you like seeing stories from various personal angles, Virtue's Last Reward offers many hours of value, but you might feel betrayed by the storytelling grind of this longwinded horror adventure.

See all 15 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 35
  2. Negative: 3 out of 35
  1. Feb 22, 2013
    10
    I don't think I could love this game more if I tried. This game is the visual novel/puzzle sequel to the DS game '999: 9 Hours 9 Persons 9 Doors', and after loving the first game, this one completely surpassed my expectations. This one included increasing text speed and also being able to go to different points in the game, which were very frustrating in the original. This means you won't have to play a room twice if you don't want. It's heavily text based, but there are lots of good puzzles and escape the room type scenarios to enjoy. As far as the storyline goes, it's confusing at times, requires some thinking, but it's completely captivating. I enjoyed all the characters, and it managed to be funny and touching. There's only one save slot, but I can understand why, so it wasn't an issue for me at all. There's also a noted bug in the 3DS version where if you save in certain rooms the game becomes corrupted, this did not happen to me, as I followed advice to not save while in an active puzzle room. I totaled about 45 hours with the game and all paths completed. This is THE 3DS game for me. Expand
  2. Oct 31, 2012
    10
    Great game. Very strategic. Characters and environments are fun. IGN has reviewed the 3DS version but it had not posted to metacritic!? Is metacritic's 3DS person on strike?! Expand
  3. Nov 20, 2012
    10
    Easily one of the best games of the year. Virtue's Last Reward is one of the best stories ever told in video games. I clocked in just over 32 hr to complete everything the game has to offer. It is an incredible value. Collapse
  4. Jul 12, 2013
    10
    Pros: - Excellent Story on all Counts - Wonderful Character Development - Well Thought Out Puzzles - Tons of Replay Value Cons: - None that I can think of Expand
  5. Jul 13, 2013
    9
    Fantastic game, I received this game a week before my birthday and I played through all 35 hours of every ending possible with several days left until my birthday. You will be hooked from start to finish. The only reason I deduct a point is that there is a pretty bad bug in the game that apparently was in the japanese version but they did not fix it. And no-one talks about it, it's very easy to avoid if you know about it beforehand, they could have even patched in a warning on the title screen! To avoid your save data becoming corrupt, never save while you are inside a puzzle room. They aren't that long so this really isn't much of an issue once you know about it. The only other thing is that your game will crash in the PEC room if you don't do it in the correct order, but as long as you didn't save your save data is fine, it will just put you back shortly before that when you saved in the novel part. Just look up a walkthrough for that part, it's towards the end of the game. Expand
  6. Jan 2, 2014
    8
    I want to love this game even more, because there is a lot to love. The characters are mostly well-designed and multidimensional, the story leaves you on the edge of your seat, the puzzles are challenging, and the morality system is so well executed. But the game does have a serious flaw: the main character is incredibly idiotic and just generally unlikable.

    I found myself hating Sigma by the second mission. Through the events of the first mission, I wound up betrayed by another of the characters. Sucks to be me. I made a decision that backfired and was knocked further back in the game. Whatever, I can move on. Sigma, on the other hand, spends the rest of the mission sniping at the partner who betrayed him.

    Aside from that, the character is not very bright; worse yet, his lack of intelligence is inconsistent, weakening him as a character. How am I supposed to believe that a guy who:

    (A) doesn't know about Schrodinger's Cat or the prisoner's dilemma thought experiment, and
    (B) thinks being constantly hung up on past betrayals will help him advance in the future,

    is a PhD candidate who can solve puzzles that stump everyone else in the room?

    Granted, playing as an unlikable character can be effective (see: Bioshock Infinite), but the problem is that this game is much more choice-based, which makes it all the more important to feel immersed. Being constantly at odds with the character as a person, I didn't feel like I was making choices. I felt like I was babysitting a toddler.

    In my opinion, this problem could have been fixed by giving the character more dialogue boxes for interaction. You could still have some of his dialogue be automatically generated, but anything that reflects his personality could be decided by the player. After all, the game is a fascinating enough character study with the other characters in the game. You don't even need to remove his backstory or anything: just give the player more control over his actions.

    Despite that critical flaw, the rest of the game is spectacular and genuinely groundbreaking, pushing the envelope of video games to new horizons. The game builds tension masterfully and is effective at invoking emotion, especially suspicion of other participants. The puzzles are brilliantly designed and push your brain to its absolute limit, especially if you're going for full completion. The environments are well designed and contribute to the haunting and uncertain atmosphere of the entire game. While VLR is text-heavy, it makes wonderful use of that element to convey story.

    I would definitely pick this game up because of all the things it does well; just be prepared for Sigma to distract from the immersion.
    Expand
  7. Apr 12, 2013
    0
    Fun up until the point it freezes, corrupts your save data, and makes you start all the way over from the beginning. DO NOT play this game on the 3DS if you value your time and money. Expand

See all 35 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best Videogames of 2012

    The Best Videogames of 2012 Image
    Published: December 31, 2012
    As our Best of 2012 series continues, we reveal the year's best video games for each platform.