Zero Escape: Virtue's Last Reward 3DS

Zero Escape: Virtue's Last Reward Image
Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 15 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 197 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Zero Escape: Virtue's Last Reward has players taking on the Nonary Game again, as it's back and more deadly than ever.
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 15
  2. Negative: 0 out of 15
  1. Jan 3, 2013
    100
    VLR builds on a pre-existing universe a new layer with new characters and sets the stage for the probably last volume of a series that messes with the heads of all who are involved.
  2. Nov 21, 2012
    100
    Zero Escape: Virtue's Last Reward is nothing short of a masterpiece. Riveting from beginning to end, it sets a new standard for interactive storytelling, and demands an emotional investment from the player that ultimately pays off with one of the most satisfying endings in recent video gaming memory. Unless you have yet to experience its prequel 999, there is simply no excuse for you not to play this game.
  3. Nov 12, 2012
    95
    Virtue's Last Reward is a worthy follow-up in the Zero Escape series. You need to play it. Just, you know, play 999 first.
  4. Nov 15, 2012
    90
    The excellent story hooked me in from the opening minutes and I didn't want to let go. With branching paths, multiple endings, and truly mysterious characters to interact with, Virtue's Last Reward will keep you thrilled for hours on end.
  5. Mar 14, 2013
    88
    If you want a suspenseful crime story with sci-fi flair, dramatic conflicts and puzzles that are as varied as they are challenging, look no further. This is a grand adventure.
  6. Games Master UK
    Nov 25, 2012
    88
    This is smart, powerful storytelling and one of 2012's shiniest hidden gems. [Christmas 2012, p.91]
  7. Dec 17, 2012
    60
    If you like seeing stories from various personal angles, Virtue's Last Reward offers many hours of value, but you might feel betrayed by the storytelling grind of this longwinded horror adventure.

See all 15 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 44
  2. Negative: 5 out of 44
  1. Feb 22, 2013
    10
    I don't think I could love this game more if I tried. This game is the visual novel/puzzle sequel to the DS game '999: 9 Hours 9 Persons 9I don't think I could love this game more if I tried. This game is the visual novel/puzzle sequel to the DS game '999: 9 Hours 9 Persons 9 Doors', and after loving the first game, this one completely surpassed my expectations. This one included increasing text speed and also being able to go to different points in the game, which were very frustrating in the original. This means you won't have to play a room twice if you don't want. It's heavily text based, but there are lots of good puzzles and escape the room type scenarios to enjoy. As far as the storyline goes, it's confusing at times, requires some thinking, but it's completely captivating. I enjoyed all the characters, and it managed to be funny and touching. There's only one save slot, but I can understand why, so it wasn't an issue for me at all. There's also a noted bug in the 3DS version where if you save in certain rooms the game becomes corrupted, this did not happen to me, as I followed advice to not save while in an active puzzle room. I totaled about 45 hours with the game and all paths completed. This is THE 3DS game for me. Collapse
  2. Nov 20, 2012
    10
    Easily one of the best games of the year. Virtue's Last Reward is one of the best stories ever told in video games. I clocked in just over 32Easily one of the best games of the year. Virtue's Last Reward is one of the best stories ever told in video games. I clocked in just over 32 hr to complete everything the game has to offer. It is an incredible value. Expand
  3. Feb 2, 2013
    10
    Now, let me start out by saying this is one of the greatest games I have ever played. Just... DON'T get the 3DS version. It has someNow, let me start out by saying this is one of the greatest games I have ever played. Just... DON'T get the 3DS version. It has some well-known bugs that I doubt will ever be fixed, that all involve corrupting your save data. I knew of the bugs that could corrupt your save data while saving during a puzzle room, but I decided i just wouldn't save during a puzzle. So I didn't. But I DIDN'T know that during one of the endings that you have to get to complete the game, the game can crash at random, corrupting all of your data. So I lost 27 hours of game time, and the experience of the game was ruined. So, I'm giving the 3DS version a 6, but if it weren't for the bugs my review would be much higher, probably a 10. Summary: Save yourself the trouble, wasted time, and disappointment and invest in the Vita version if possible. Expand
  4. Nov 13, 2012
    10
    Obviously one of the best 3DS games out there. Words cannot even describe how great, but mind-boggling the story is. Finishing this gameObviously one of the best 3DS games out there. Words cannot even describe how great, but mind-boggling the story is. Finishing this game makes me want the sequel even more now. Expand
  5. Nov 12, 2014
    9
    This is a very surprising, experimental and truely unique game.It is part video game and part graphic novel. The puzzle squences are quiteThis is a very surprising, experimental and truely unique game.It is part video game and part graphic novel. The puzzle squences are quite challenging but add to the dark tone of the game--puzzles are not necessarily logical Professor Layton-like. However, what makes this game memorable is how it is constructed. You do not necessarily play it so as to engage in the puzzles--but to see how the story progresses, to find out who the characters are, and what will (or has) happened to them. What adds to the enjoyable of this is that this game is not necessarily linear--this you will have to experience for yourself because I do not want to add spoilers. A note: I have not player the first game. However, not playing the first game did not take away the enjoyment, excitement, suspense and quite a few scary and emotionally sad moments of this game. A very unique game that should be played. Additionally, I would say the 3DS version is the prefered version, as opposed to the vita version, because the bottom screen of the 3DS allows for note taking during puzzles and various other imporant interface options. Again, unique game. Enjoy. Expand
  6. May 6, 2016
    8
    Having played 999, I knew what I was in for when I got started. I was not disappointed in the sense that I knew it would not be anHaving played 999, I knew what I was in for when I got started. I was not disappointed in the sense that I knew it would not be an action-packed game (despite the frantic trailer that is associated with the game). The new features of the game (more endings, being able to jump between points quickly, more "memory segments" whereas 999 only had 1) are fantastic improvements, but the outrageous story (yes, more outrageous than 999) was well written and structured, but frankly too outrageous to be believable. Additionally, there was no sense of closure whatsoever (I'm only pretty sure I got all the endings), so I feel like that was a flaw in finalizing the game. The story has more endings this time around, but you'll find that about half of them are pretty generic, similar to how many of the endings in 999 simply involved you dying. There are a handful of meaningful and shocking moments, but not enough to give the game a 10. If 999 would have had the same features that this game did, it would have been superior to this one. Expand
  7. Apr 12, 2013
    0
    Fun up until the point it freezes, corrupts your save data, and makes you start all the way over from the beginning. DO NOT play this game onFun up until the point it freezes, corrupts your save data, and makes you start all the way over from the beginning. DO NOT play this game on the 3DS if you value your time and money. Expand

See all 44 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best Videogames of 2012

    The Best Videogames of 2012 Image
    Published: December 31, 2012
    As our Best of 2012 series continues, we reveal the year's best video games for each platform.