Shenmue II Dreamcast
Shenmue II Image
Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 9 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.4

Universal acclaim- based on 153 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: It is the sequel to Shenmue, and was directed by Yu Suzuki of Sega AM2.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 9
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 9
  3. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. More action-packed than the original was.
  2. Shenmue II literally is 5 times the game Shenmue: Chapter 1 is...an incredible experience for me, from start to finish. The core gameplay formula isn’t much different from the first game, just packed with more action and improvements.
  3. The big improvement for me is that everything is a lot less linear then before; it really does feel that your actions directly influence Ryo’s progress through the adventure.
  4. Shenmue II is so much better than its predecessor, refining nearly every aspect of the original. It's a polished game that serves as a showcase for the DC and the evolution of the RPG genre, and fans should definitely find a way to play it.
  5. A disappointing sequel; it’s just not as good as the original which was in my opinion one of the greatest games of all time, it really was magical. Graphically it’s superior, but gameplay-wise, it’s just more of the same, albeit at a considerably slower pace.
  6. Fans of the original Shenmue will be delighted with the sequel while gamers new to the series should be able to get into the game's deep atmosphere with little difficulty.
  7. A breathtaking visual experience. X-Box, PS2, and GameCube may have titles that push more polygons, but it's Sega's attention to detail, quality of texture mapping, and the overall scale of the game world that makes Shenmue 2 stand out.

See all 9 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 36 out of 39
  2. Negative: 2 out of 39
  1. PeterW.
    Oct 27, 2004
    10
    Awesome,one of the greatest games i have ever played.....a masterpeice.cant wait for the third instalment, if it ever comes.
  2. MikeT.
    Feb 4, 2002
    10
    It's too good to be on the x-box!!!
  3. Mar 26, 2011
    10
    Quite simply the greatest game ever made. Amazing story, amazing characters, great gameplay and graphics. Something truly special. WorthQuite simply the greatest game ever made. Amazing story, amazing characters, great gameplay and graphics. Something truly special. Worth buying a Dreamcast just for this one game. Collapse
  4. PeetC.
    Nov 21, 2006
    10
    Despite the someimes odd dialogue and constant load time, it is the most immersive, entertaining experience in gaming.
  5. May 25, 2015
    10
    It was the best interactive experience of all time when it came out, and still is today. What Shenmue had achieved in 2001 is still unmatchedIt was the best interactive experience of all time when it came out, and still is today. What Shenmue had achieved in 2001 is still unmatched as of today. Expand
  6. Nov 21, 2013
    10
    This is a game that took me beyond, it has no rival to date.
    I played this on the Dreamcast when it first came out, I was a lad back then,
    This is a game that took me beyond, it has no rival to date.
    I played this on the Dreamcast when it first came out, I was a lad back then, and wow, the sheer scope, the advancement in gameplay and graphics, it hit me deep and hard, and brings me joy and great memories to this day.
    An amazing game that is unforgettable.
    10/10
    Expand
  7. Mar 31, 2014
    4
    im not saying its bad, but when i play a game im looking for gamplay, which is something this game doesn't do well, its literally a whole gameim not saying its bad, but when i play a game im looking for gamplay, which is something this game doesn't do well, its literally a whole game based on quick time events, one of the major sins of video games, not to Mention its high production value is one of the many reasons the dreamcast died. the only thing that's good here is the story Expand

See all 39 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. 30 Games That Emerged from Development Hell

    30 Games That Emerged from Development Hell Image
    Published: June 23, 2011
    After 15 years in development limbo, Duke Nukem Forever finally arrived in stores last week, though game critics aren't rejoicing. We look at that and other long-delayed games that eventually managed to shed their vaporware status, with results ranging from maligned to sublime.