Advance Wars: Days of Ruin DS

User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 99 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 80 out of 99
  2. Negative: 4 out of 99
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 24, 2015
    6
    I applaud the developer willing for change in art direction, as Advance Wars is such a successful series not everybody would have feel that need. But as kiddie as it was, i still prefer the Dual Strike cartoony style.
    Also, the lack of CO power make everything feel flat. Plot is cheesy as hell. The graphics for the fighting skirmishes are bad by 2008 standards.
    You can have some good
    I applaud the developer willing for change in art direction, as Advance Wars is such a successful series not everybody would have feel that need. But as kiddie as it was, i still prefer the Dual Strike cartoony style.
    Also, the lack of CO power make everything feel flat. Plot is cheesy as hell. The graphics for the fighting skirmishes are bad by 2008 standards.
    You can have some good times, but Dual Strike is better in any way (beside multiplayer ofc).
    Expand
  2. Aug 5, 2014
    10
    A nice evolution of Advance Wars. Intelligent Systems took a huge risk here and completely overhauled the Visual and even strategic nature of the game. While some may argue that the new gameplay elements are for the worse, I think that is largely just nostalgia talking. As someone who has played every AW released in the US, I think the new CO system is amazing, and the game overallA nice evolution of Advance Wars. Intelligent Systems took a huge risk here and completely overhauled the Visual and even strategic nature of the game. While some may argue that the new gameplay elements are for the worse, I think that is largely just nostalgia talking. As someone who has played every AW released in the US, I think the new CO system is amazing, and the game overall disposes of the clutter and imbalance issues that dual strike had.

    For once in an AW, there is a serious story. And it's actually fairly compelling, I would say even on the level of a good JRPG story. Days of Ruin takes war seriously, and recognizes the repurcusions of it, which is a nice change of pace from the fun and games of previous AWs. The difficulty is also set pretty high for the last few missions (I mean really really high) so the campaign lasts a good while, and S ranking the campaign is harder than ever.

    Overall, definitely rivals, if not bests previous AWs in quality and value. Excellent game.
    Expand
  3. Feb 18, 2013
    10
    Bottomline: Overall this is just the kind of reboot this series needed. There is so much to explore in this game, which makes the game so interesting and, what makes this game really amazing is how, they add all these new dimensions without damaging the core mechanics in advance wars that players have come to love. There was something truly interesting about Advance wars days of ruin thatBottomline: Overall this is just the kind of reboot this series needed. There is so much to explore in this game, which makes the game so interesting and, what makes this game really amazing is how, they add all these new dimensions without damaging the core mechanics in advance wars that players have come to love. There was something truly interesting about Advance wars days of ruin that stuck with me long after I put down my D.S and that was how much they explore in the game. There is a lot of depth to be explored in this game and while many players might enjoy the more cute and colorful experience of this game's predecessor there was so much about this game that truly caused players to explore the darker side of war. Players get to explore topics like post-apocalyptic worlds, unregulated science, charismatic megalomaniacs, how individuals select role-models, the dark side of being a soldier, fear, hope, mercenaries, governments, etc. all wrapped up in a turned based platform long-time fans of the series will love and is quick to learn for new players.

    In terms of game play there is a significant decrease in the number of commanders you get to choose from in multi-player mode, each commander holds little advantage over other commanders and Co-powers are less dominant in this game then in other games that share the advance war title. However, there is a major benefit to this new design and that how the playing field is leveled, which means players need to better major their resources in order to achieve a strategic advantage in battle against friends and AI enemies.
    Expand
  4. Dec 23, 2012
    9
    The story was brilliant, I enjoyed the living dickinson out of it. The gameplay was great, and everything about it was great... BUT the difficulty was quite weird. The level, "A Hero's Farewell" is one of the hardest (if not the hardest) things I have ever done in a game. The final level is a cakewalk compared to it. But this game is still just fantastic, and one of my favorite DS games.The story was brilliant, I enjoyed the living dickinson out of it. The gameplay was great, and everything about it was great... BUT the difficulty was quite weird. The level, "A Hero's Farewell" is one of the hardest (if not the hardest) things I have ever done in a game. The final level is a cakewalk compared to it. But this game is still just fantastic, and one of my favorite DS games. 9.25/10 BAM Expand
  5. Sep 18, 2012
    10
    I think it was a great step foward for the franchise, the campaing mode contain an amazing story and I found the combat more balanced than the past advance wars games, I really liked the way CO power works and there is just no need for 50 COs in it (just as dual strike did). So, I think thats it, my dream of a more hardcore advance wars came true.
  6. Dec 21, 2011
    8
    This is essentially the Advance Wars series perfected. In terms of gameplay, it is not such a major difference, but all the details are nailed and it is easily the best balanced game in the series, and the best turn based strategy game ever made, for that matter. Too bad they don't release it for iPhone, as I have essentially outgrown DS.
  7. Dec 16, 2011
    9
    Probably the best Turn based game for the DS I've ever played. One of the only reasons why I have a DS in the first place besides Pokemon. The post - apocalyptic change was pretty cool, it really adds more flavor to the game. Very good game overall.
  8. Nov 10, 2011
    10
    This game is very fun, the music is great and the difficulty, while high, manages to please. The story and setting also get a little more darker, which in this case isn't a bad decision at all, and it actually benefits the game. Characters are also likeable, and villains are detestable. Perfect!
    For TBS fans, this should be a must play. It's really awesome.
  9. May 23, 2011
    8
    This a really good ds game but somtimes gets boring and slow but most of the time it's fun it has good graphics for ds and there's so many classes and they all have good and bad things but it's a fun game overall!
  10. Aug 27, 2010
    7
    I am a fan of the series, but I was disturbed by the direction of this game. Part of the allure of the previous installments was that it allowed for a Turn Based Strategy game with a followable plot but none of the emotional depth. Bringing the ethics of war, genocide, and genetic engineering into the game made it more mature, but lost the causal gameplay status, in my opinion.
  11. MattG
    Jan 1, 2010
    7
    It is quite an enjoyable game! They kept a lot of the good points from past games, and included some new ones. The semi-deep plot for the story, the darker over-tones, and all that junk. I'm just saddened by the characters mostly. In the past titles, what I looked forward to would have to be the characters, even their respective nations. Almost every character from AW:DS and down was It is quite an enjoyable game! They kept a lot of the good points from past games, and included some new ones. The semi-deep plot for the story, the darker over-tones, and all that junk. I'm just saddened by the characters mostly. In the past titles, what I looked forward to would have to be the characters, even their respective nations. Almost every character from AW:DS and down was nearly memorable: Grit with his awesome indirects, Colin and his cheap units, the invincible Kanbei, and can anyone not forget how painful Sturm was? But in this new game I'm barely interested in any of the CO's, I mean I could go on a forum and ask someone: "Remember Tasha?" and the answer would probably come up as "Who?". It's not the presentation of the characters that labels them as forgettable, it's how they're used. In older AW games each CO usually had it's own type of strategy, but in AW:DOR they usually mold into just mech spamming, doesn't matter what CO power you have, maybe you might have an extra artillery or two, but when push comes to shove all the CO's are pretty much the same, and you can expect them to be the same. When I play with friends I usually end up being Forsythe so I just automatically start with a large CO territory boost, and not even have to worry about getting a CO power. Now about the Nation units: I was disappointed by the fact each nation didn't have individual types of units. I don't want to spoil plots, and I understand a lot of the nations/teams are pretty much from the same nation. But I mean there's no recognition between vehicles either, the only difference that I can see is that 12th Battalion, and NRA have GI helmets, and hold their guns at the waists, while Lauzarians and IDS have berets and hold their guns at their shoulders. Really? We've come this far and this is all we get? The Game Boy Advance had WAY more differences betwen their nations, right up to all the air units, and ships. I really enjoyed those aesthetic add-ons you know? But anyways it was a good game, and if you're a fan of the series, have a good maybe week to spare... You'll need a ton of patience as the difficulty curve for this game is HUGE, or you just like torturing yourself. This game isn't really a waste for your 20 or so dollars, and I hope you enjoy it. :) Expand
  12. MarkF
    Nov 1, 2009
    4
    I ask you, Is this TRULY advance wars? advance wars was a bright, cutesy, colourful turn based strategies with quirky characters and wierd and wonderful units to command. This has the same gameplay changed slightly (which makes it worse in my opinion) and puts everything in a dreary brown/grey outlook. Good gameplay, but the look of the game is a disappointment
  13. JamesK
    Jul 15, 2009
    10
    Soooooo good, amazing in every way. These are exactly the kind of gameplay changes that I was desperate for in AW 2 and 3, but now they've done it in an awesome post-apocalyptic setting.
  14. GuylianP.
    Mar 14, 2009
    3
    If they didn't used the name 'advance wars' it would have been a 7, but now they misused this name. Advance wars had it's own style and character list, which they completely ignored when they made this game. So in my opinion, it's rubbish because the name 'Advance wars' indicates a new part in the series, and this game is certainly NOT a new part in the If they didn't used the name 'advance wars' it would have been a 7, but now they misused this name. Advance wars had it's own style and character list, which they completely ignored when they made this game. So in my opinion, it's rubbish because the name 'Advance wars' indicates a new part in the series, and this game is certainly NOT a new part in the series, it's completely different. Expand
  15. BrendanM
    Jan 20, 2009
    10
    I learned of this game by reading a gaming magazine over someone's shoulder and I, owning the first Advance Wars on the GBA and enjoying it greatly, started to drool. Game reviews should be about what was achieved in the game we're actually talking about, not the company's changes from one story in the game world to another. I never played Dual Strike so maybe I'm not I learned of this game by reading a gaming magazine over someone's shoulder and I, owning the first Advance Wars on the GBA and enjoying it greatly, started to drool. Game reviews should be about what was achieved in the game we're actually talking about, not the company's changes from one story in the game world to another. I never played Dual Strike so maybe I'm not as "impartial" as most of you, but Days of Ruin was (and still is) definitely a ten out of ten in all aspects. Gameplay: a welcome change was making the tactics more unit-based, don't get me wrong, I loved my old Advance War game on the GBA but I often (more often then not) found myself using the CO's that were more neutral (like good ole Andy) than the others. The CO powers have to be earned in Days of Ruin where in the previous titles all you have to do is play and use them (more tactics involved, a plus) I also like the tutorial being built into the campaign mode so you can start plying for the first time and not have to do those cute little tutorial modes. Music: awe inspiring, the best music for Advance Wars (no longer annoying). Expand
  16. MrNintendo
    Dec 19, 2008
    10
    A welcome change. While Dual Strike was and still is an awesome game, it wasn
  17. TwoBitNews
    May 7, 2008
    9
    Story: In the plot department, Days of Ruin (DOR) is a dramatic departure from the familiar "let's all band together for good" storylines of the last three Advance War games. In place of those bunny-loving, rainbow-admiring themes, we have a dark, gritty, post-apocalyptic world where everyone is fighting for survival. Some are just looking to band with other survivors in the Story: In the plot department, Days of Ruin (DOR) is a dramatic departure from the familiar "let's all band together for good" storylines of the last three Advance War games. In place of those bunny-loving, rainbow-admiring themes, we have a dark, gritty, post-apocalyptic world where everyone is fighting for survival. Some are just looking to band with other survivors in the interests of finally getting a chance to score, while others are taking advantage of the chaos (also with the ultimate goal of scoring in mind). Meteors have rained down from space, leaving most of the world dead and spicing up the lives of morticians everywhere. In this world there is betrayal, death and greed. Among this mess, you follow a military student named Will. This young man is saved by Captain Brenner, whose goal is to rescue survivors, forge a bright future, and find a way to beat that ridiculously difficult X-men game for the Sega Genesis without cheating (good luck, cap'n). Gameplay: Those who are familiar with the Advance Wars series will feel right at home in DOR. Little has changed overall, but things have been tweaked to make the game a little faster paced and more balanced, likening it to sex on a tightrope. The change you will notice right off the bat is Commanding Officers Expand
  18. RolLeger
    Apr 28, 2008
    10
    As a big fan of the Dual Strike game, this follow-up is a standout game... One of the best in the DS library! I've now spent more than 100 hours+ on this game (trying to get the elusive "S" medal on every level) and have many more hours of fun on the way. A keeper!!
  19. SomeGuyFromAZoo
    Mar 25, 2008
    9
    It's a fun game, can get excruciatingly difficult at some points, and map maker is a lot of fun. If you have multiplayer that's supposed to be fun, i haven't been able to play multi. Plus if you enjoy the soundtrack there's a music room, as well as your current amount of (enemy name here) destroyed, of course this is all my opinion, i personally prefer this over Dual It's a fun game, can get excruciatingly difficult at some points, and map maker is a lot of fun. If you have multiplayer that's supposed to be fun, i haven't been able to play multi. Plus if you enjoy the soundtrack there's a music room, as well as your current amount of (enemy name here) destroyed, of course this is all my opinion, i personally prefer this over Dual Strike, mainly due to it's darker and more suitable theme for a war game. Expand
  20. StevenC.
    Mar 20, 2008
    8
    As said by quite a few, I'd still regard Dual Strike as a better game, with the giant array of CO's, the hours of unlockable content, the great feeling when you rip apart an army with a dual strike, there's just alot more reward to the game for a single player. That being said, the multi-player in days of ruin is a lot of fun, and the map making ability is alot more As said by quite a few, I'd still regard Dual Strike as a better game, with the giant array of CO's, the hours of unlockable content, the great feeling when you rip apart an army with a dual strike, there's just alot more reward to the game for a single player. That being said, the multi-player in days of ruin is a lot of fun, and the map making ability is alot more advanced in this game too. So in short, unless you're a wi-fi nut, Dual strike is alot more fun and rewarding, and has better longevity! Expand
  21. IanL.
    Mar 5, 2008
    9
    The strategy is as deep and fun as ever, but it seems like the game takes a few small steps backwards with the removal of the (somewhat overpowered) CO abilities and powers from the previous games. A standout title nonetheless.
  22. AlexB.
    Feb 17, 2008
    5
    Another example of the now all too familiar decision to cull so much of what was brilliant about a previous release, then say "but it's got multiplayer" as some cheap excuse for a lack of ideas and a lack of effort. it's half the game dual strike is, less CO's, less modes, less options. I've racked 80 hours on dual strike, yet there is nothing here to keep me beyond Another example of the now all too familiar decision to cull so much of what was brilliant about a previous release, then say "but it's got multiplayer" as some cheap excuse for a lack of ideas and a lack of effort. it's half the game dual strike is, less CO's, less modes, less options. I've racked 80 hours on dual strike, yet there is nothing here to keep me beyond the campaign. For those of us without the necessary online access, a crushing, crushing disappointment. Collapse
  23. MattA.
    Feb 12, 2008
    9
    The reason that i'm giving this game a 9 is because it is an Advance Wars game. And that is my favorite thing. However, i have grown attached to the old characters over the years, and miss the querky attitude of the older games. Sure, i did enjoy the darker look, but i didn't care about the characters as much as i had in the last game. i hope that one day the creators will bring The reason that i'm giving this game a 9 is because it is an Advance Wars game. And that is my favorite thing. However, i have grown attached to the old characters over the years, and miss the querky attitude of the older games. Sure, i did enjoy the darker look, but i didn't care about the characters as much as i had in the last game. i hope that one day the creators will bring back the old characters... I just felt that the game could have used more diverse COs and perhaps a War Room mode, and unlockables. This would have greatly increased the replay value. Although, Free play is unlimited in itself, it's just more fun unlocking things. Expand
  24. ChrisW.
    Feb 9, 2008
    9
    This game is by far the best game you may see on the DS platform. It takes a great formula for turn-based action and makes it perfect. If you are planning to buy this game then you are spending your money wisely. But alas! For this game has flaws... Some of the units in this game might have been extremely broken and no based on what they are actually meant to do. Helicopters can not This game is by far the best game you may see on the DS platform. It takes a great formula for turn-based action and makes it perfect. If you are planning to buy this game then you are spending your money wisely. But alas! For this game has flaws... Some of the units in this game might have been extremely broken and no based on what they are actually meant to do. Helicopters can not attack certain air-born units, anti-air vehicles are extremely overpowered(They can take down many units solo), and most of the units are spammed heavily online. One of the most common spam that I have seen is War Tank rushing. A player creates 20 War Tanks and then rushes you with an inevitable doom. Infantry spam and Anti-tank spam along with anti-air spam has been commonly seen online. But never less, great game. Map maker is perfect, storyline will keep you busy, and online battles are fun with the use of voice chat to communicate with your rival. I would have to say this game is an overall 9.5. Expand
  25. MattE.
    Feb 5, 2008
    10
    Advance Wars: Days of Ruin is exactly what I wanted and expected from the new iteration: A game that was true to it's roots, and still had enough change in it to be truly new. I find the changes to be extensive and extremely well placed, while not overwhelming. The actual changes to the game play were in my opinion one thing that needed fixed about this game. Certain units have been Advance Wars: Days of Ruin is exactly what I wanted and expected from the new iteration: A game that was true to it's roots, and still had enough change in it to be truly new. I find the changes to be extensive and extremely well placed, while not overwhelming. The actual changes to the game play were in my opinion one thing that needed fixed about this game. Certain units have been repriced. (MD Tank, slightly worse but cheaper and more economically viable.) Others have been rehashed. (Neo Tank and Mega Tank turned into War Tank... Which isn't overpowered or insanely overpriced.) There is a multitude of other changes as well, and naval combat has gone from being slow and tedious to high stakes and deadly, where everything can end in one clean stroke. Advance Wars: Days of Ruin is amazing because it has fixed the game in my opinion. Ever since the original, it's all become about higher firepower, this game reduces that element and creates a more balanced game. And who could seriously say this new look doesn't suit the game? And what of WiFi abilities? The fact that balance has been restored to the game makes WiFi amazing. Expand
  26. BarryB.
    Jan 30, 2008
    10
    This game improves on the gameplay of Dual Strike (which was nearly perfect) and gives the game a more grownup twist to try and interest casual browsers. Stop browsing and get this game. It is VERY good.
  27. PassaC.
    Jan 28, 2008
    10
    Awesome game, Advance Wars fans will be very pleased. It's a 100+ hour package.
  28. WillB.
    Jan 27, 2008
    10
    Better graphic, better info display, no more overpowered co-power, good story line, love the commander boarding system. definitely an improvement of Advance Wars Dual Strike.
  29. LukeM.
    Jan 26, 2008
    10
    Much more adult game, faster combat ( but all seems more stationary than before), much darker story line with artwork to match, the removal of the stupid tag powers that basically broke duel strike (they were fun tho!) and the co powers themselves beign a lot more tactical and having to plan ahead ot use them, lots of tactical depth here, hence the score The main complaint i have is Much more adult game, faster combat ( but all seems more stationary than before), much darker story line with artwork to match, the removal of the stupid tag powers that basically broke duel strike (they were fun tho!) and the co powers themselves beign a lot more tactical and having to plan ahead ot use them, lots of tactical depth here, hence the score The main complaint i have is simply why oh why did they have to rename it for the EU release, days of ruin is a much cooler title than dark conflict! Also the other problem is not with the game but with certain reviews saying that the war room has been removed, but there is a free battle mode that is effectivly this games war room AND you get the trial maps during the campaign as well (obviously Joe A hasn't spotted this :p ) Expand
  30. AxewhipeS.
    Jan 25, 2008
    8
    A great strategy game, The last Advance Wars game I played before this was Advance Wars for the GBA. In this you can play either with the stylus or without. The units are different from the last time I played & they got rid of the old happy art style and made a more feeling of war. The story seems believable & I like the graphics. It has WiFi & when you play a friend you can use a mic. A great strategy game, The last Advance Wars game I played before this was Advance Wars for the GBA. In this you can play either with the stylus or without. The units are different from the last time I played & they got rid of the old happy art style and made a more feeling of war. The story seems believable & I like the graphics. It has WiFi & when you play a friend you can use a mic. Overall its a good game & can get frustrating. 8.5/10 Expand
  31. TC
    Jan 25, 2008
    9
    I am only 6 battles in which means I have not made it to the really mind-bending battles. With that said I have played Dual Strike and I like Days of Ruin better. I like the sound better, everyone is not so happy and cheesy. It's war folks. I may have been missing something but the menu layout on this version seems more intuitive. I would say to take the time to read the manual toI am only 6 battles in which means I have not made it to the really mind-bending battles. With that said I have played Dual Strike and I like Days of Ruin better. I like the sound better, everyone is not so happy and cheesy. It's war folks. I may have been missing something but the menu layout on this version seems more intuitive. I would say to take the time to read the manual to at least understand your assets and what they can/cannot do. I HATED AWDS because of the Dual Strike aspect of the game so if you liked that you may miss it. I, however, am stoked that is gone as I often felt like the AI was cheating Puzzle Quest-style. EXCELLENT game if you like turn-based-strategy and fans of AW will not be disappointed in my opinion. Expand
  32. JamesR.
    Jan 25, 2008
    10
    One thing that most of these reviews fail to mention, is that this is a sequal to the NES version, "Famicom Wars" and doesn't follow the Advance Wars storyline we know and love. That being said, this stands out as the best portable game I have played since first picking up Advance Wars 1 for GBA. Purists be warned: This game is unit oriented- NOT CO Power-oriented like AW:DS. It One thing that most of these reviews fail to mention, is that this is a sequal to the NES version, "Famicom Wars" and doesn't follow the Advance Wars storyline we know and love. That being said, this stands out as the best portable game I have played since first picking up Advance Wars 1 for GBA. Purists be warned: This game is unit oriented- NOT CO Power-oriented like AW:DS. It makes for a harder game, but well rewarding. The music will blow you away and will keep you sucked in. The soryline... Very matured for an Advance Wars game. People who have been playing this series from the git-go will appreciate the maturity that each game gives in it's progression. This follows that in spades. I don't want to spoil much, but I have had more fun with this $35 game than shelling out $70 for Mass Effect:CE. Pick it up. Oh, you can play online too! Expand
  33. ChrisL.
    Jan 25, 2008
    10
    Finally! the adult visual upgrade to the series the little kid inside all of us has been secretly wishing for , my eyes have never been happier sure its missing a few fun elements from dual strike but all that can be forgiven instantly when u jump on wifi an play advanced wars with people all around the globe simply a must buy for any ds owner young or old.
  34. SteveS.
    Jan 24, 2008
    10
    AW:DoR has more balanced units, better AI, and online/wi-fi games are easy to set up. The game delivers 100%. Best game on DS.
  35. JoeA.
    Jan 24, 2008
    7
    It's Advance Wars we know and love, but I just can't seem to like it well enough, no matter how much I would like to do so. First of all, the soundtrack choices were terrible; everything sounds like awkward riffs that are nothing more than background noise--they are, in my opinion, much worse than that of Dual Strike. Even without using the comparison, they are pretty bad as far It's Advance Wars we know and love, but I just can't seem to like it well enough, no matter how much I would like to do so. First of all, the soundtrack choices were terrible; everything sounds like awkward riffs that are nothing more than background noise--they are, in my opinion, much worse than that of Dual Strike. Even without using the comparison, they are pretty bad as far as background musics go. Menus, though, are somewhat intuitive, and getting rid of DS battles and combat mode are a good calls. Also welcoming are subdued power differences between units; War Tanks, looking very much like Megatanks of Dual Strike, are now substantially weakened, and much of the newer units (black boat, etc.) are gone, for better or worse. AI also seems to be smarter than before, and CO powers are no longer the gamebreakers that it used to be; there is only CO power--no Super Power or Tag Power--so a lot more emphasis is taken on the tactics. CO info, though, I wish it was more comprehensive, and the lack of war room is missed. It's a good game, but for all they hype it had, it's kind of a disappointment. I probably won't play half as long on the new Advance Wars as i did on the old one (I racked up 200+ hours on Dual Strike). Expand
  36. ThisGuy
    Jan 22, 2008
    10
    Think of it as Advance Wars with an over-clocked Kick-Ass chip. You will not be disappointed.
  37. T.G.
    Jan 20, 2008
    10
    I don't know how they could have made Dual Strike better, but somehow they didnt just make it better, they made it probably the best game on the DS right now. Tons of units, amazing new art direction (I liked the old style too, but this is different and just as good) improved on a ton of features and included online wifi with up to four people. If you own a DS you must own this game, I don't know how they could have made Dual Strike better, but somehow they didnt just make it better, they made it probably the best game on the DS right now. Tons of units, amazing new art direction (I liked the old style too, but this is different and just as good) improved on a ton of features and included online wifi with up to four people. If you own a DS you must own this game, even if you hate advance wars. it's that good. Expand

Awards & Rankings

#4 Most Discussed DS Game of 2008
#20 Most Shared DS Game of 2008
Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 55 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 54 out of 55
  2. Negative: 0 out of 55
  1. Nintendo Power
    85
    If there were anything like the gaming equivalent of comfort food, Advance Wars would be it. [Feb 2008, p.86]
  2. 86
    Nintendo has removed some previous features and added a few new ones, but when it's all added up I miss the old more than I like the new. Days of Ruin still delivers the fun, though, and strategy fans will once again have their hands full.
  3. 85
    Days of Ruin offers plenty new, but it's possible it got rid of too much of the old. But just like with our ol' buddy Jake, we're OK with trading up all those bonus modes in Dual Strike for more tactically oriented units and real online play (though it'll still take us some time to get used to this new CO gameplay). Advance Wars has finally advanced.