Age of Empires: Mythologies DS

  • Publisher: THQ
  • Release Date: Nov 24, 2008
User Score
7.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 21 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 21
  2. Negative: 4 out of 21
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 29, 2016
    8
    One of my favorite ds games. Fun strategy game without getting too compicated. The graphics are pretty great too (for a ds game at least). If you're interested in mythology then defintely check this one out.
  2. Nov 18, 2014
    1
    game-play is okay, but as if the game is developed by retards who know nothing about mythology!!!

    Poseidon has no access to cyclops but his brothers do; Hades has no access to Underworld Passage but his brothers do; indroduce Sobek (son of Set) but its only available to Isis?; Set can easily avoid Horus in aoem's system but they didn't sort it out; mix Nyx with the Olympian
    game-play is okay, but as if the game is developed by retards who know nothing about mythology!!!

    Poseidon has no access to cyclops but his brothers do;

    Hades has no access to Underworld Passage but his brothers do;

    indroduce Sobek (son of Set) but its only available to Isis?;

    Set can easily avoid Horus in aoem's system but they didn't sort it out;

    mix Nyx with the Olympian gods? (a goddess even older than Titans, they got no one else to pick?)...etc´╗┐
    Expand
  3. May 24, 2012
    7
    This strategy game offers a lot of time consumin but fun missions. The story within the campaign is boring, but the gameplay is another good addition for the genre.
  4. Mar 16, 2012
    0
    This game is absolutely sickly. I am repulsed by this game. It is a terrible version of it's AWESOME brother, Age of mythologies on the pc. DO NOT BUY. You will immediately regret it. It is maybe fun for ... um maybe.... 4 minutes? (the time it takes to complete all campaigns and scenarios.
  5. Mar 20, 2011
    5
    i wish i could give this game a higher score but i just would not be honest in saying this is a ground breaking game for the DS yes the graphics are better and the concept is cooler but that is about all that i think has improved from the AoK game released in 2006 which i still play unlike this game. on the map when it shows the figure the sizes are not prepotionate to each figure becausei wish i could give this game a higher score but i just would not be honest in saying this is a ground breaking game for the DS yes the graphics are better and the concept is cooler but that is about all that i think has improved from the AoK game released in 2006 which i still play unlike this game. on the map when it shows the figure the sizes are not prepotionate to each figure because you will have a small fire giant but a huge frost giant. also they made the fighting system worse, yes it is cool to see the units fighting and that has not changed but what has changed is the way they are arranged. in the previous game the units would start with 100 health and the battle cinematic shows 10 units with each one representing 10 health and once one is killed in the battle scene that represents10 damage has been taken and was easy to follow. but in this game they have like 4 figures and each represents 25 health, in what world is this an improvement. this game is also filled with glitches which can sometimes make the game unplayable. next is the story missions instead of being able to play in any difficulty you want with each faction representing a difficulty you must start with easy and work your way up and once you get to medium you cant pass the first mission which will drive you back to play pointless skirmishes that you will win easily or be crushed horrificly. leave this game on the shelf and play the 2006 version it is much better Expand
  6. BrianW
    Feb 24, 2009
    9
    Great addicting, time consuming game. It has just a few glitches in releasing god power. Doesn't do much in recording your scores, has a nice graph on your progress during game play though. Creative powers in picking up relics and god powers.
  7. SteveT
    Jan 23, 2009
    2
    Horrible, horrible, horrible sequel. I have no idea how it even gets anywhere near the same score as the original AoK for the DS. They've stripped out everything fun about that game (unit level ups, more civilizations, challenging campaigns) and threw in some bugs and poorly implemented changes to make a completely mediocre game. This is nothing but a poorly done re-hash to rake in Horrible, horrible, horrible sequel. I have no idea how it even gets anywhere near the same score as the original AoK for the DS. They've stripped out everything fun about that game (unit level ups, more civilizations, challenging campaigns) and threw in some bugs and poorly implemented changes to make a completely mediocre game. This is nothing but a poorly done re-hash to rake in some cash from the good name of a classic. Expand
  8. DavidL
    Dec 1, 2008
    10
    Very much like Age of Kings released a couple years ago, but a big step up in graphics and a much more interesting universe IMHO. WiFi multiplayer is also a big plus.
  9. AC
    Nov 25, 2008
    10
    Improves on everything from the original plus now we have online play! DS game of the year for me!
  10. Mar 16, 2012
    0
    This game is absolutely sickly. I am repulsed by this game. It is a terrible version of it's AWESOME brother, Age of mythologies on the pc. DO NOT BUY. You will immediately regret it. It is maybe fun for ... um maybe.... 4 minutes? (the time it takes to complete all campaigns and scenarios.

Awards & Rankings

#16 Most Discussed DS Game of 2008
#6 Most Shared DS Game of 2008
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 28 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 28
  2. Negative: 0 out of 28
  1. Nintendo Power
    70
    Mastering the logistical side of things offers plenty of rewards for thoughtful players, and there's nothing like clearing the map with the blades of your wolf-riding Valkyrie hordes. [Holiday 2008, p.84]
  2. 70
    That being said, if you haven't yet played an Age of Empires title on the DS, Mythologies is without question the most competent turn-based strategy game available for the console, and if you're a fan of mythology, all the better.
  3. 86
    A game that rivals that of Advance Wars, Final Fantasy Tactics Advance 2, and Disgaea. Age of Empires has returned to DS, and with it comes more units, more strategy, just as strong of an economy system, and even more to explore within the package.