Arkanoid DS DS

Metascore
61

Mixed or average reviews - based on 29 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 29
  2. Negative: 7 out of 29
Buy On
  1. As a whole, Arkanoid is addictive and even though it's not the only retro title Taito has released lately, for my money it's the best one.
  2. Arkanoid DS is a great game for portable play. It's simple enough to lend itself to playing in short sessions while on the go, but challenging enough to bring you back for more play.
  3. 83
    Arkanoid is, at best, mindless -- as is any variation of Breakout -- but that also makes it one of the better time-wasters out there.
  4. Arkanoid is as much fun today as it was 20 years ago, and the DS version is arguably the best yet.
  5. It's easier to play on the touch-screen than the d-pad, and the visuals and music are cool, with the option to buy additional backgrounds and tunes in later levels.
  6. Arkanoid DS is an excellent handheld title that will resonate with casual gamers, arcade aficionados, and nostalgic gamers. Some may find the gameplay mechanic to be repetitive and even dull, but the majority of gamers should be pleased with the quick, intuitive play and multiplayer options.
  7. 80
    For $20, Arkanoid DS isn't just a steal, it's a requirement. It's fun, it looks and sounds great and it has options for both the solo and multiple players.
  8. Criticisms aside, it makes for a fantastic handheld game. It’s tailor-made for quick bursts of play (like that morning subway ride, or ahem, bathroom breaks) or longer sessions (especially multiplayer matches).
  9. Electronic Gaming Monthly
    72
    Business as usual. [July 2008, p.84]
  10. 70
    I recommend the paddle controller. If you're up the import, Arkanoid DS becomes quite interesting, but otherwise it's a well-done, extremely casual affair.
  11. Arkanoid was a sensation when first released in ’86, but its flaws are inescapable. Being a faithful adaptation of the original arcade experience, this hand-held version tempers nostalgia with frustration.
  12. A decent casual title, as long as you don't go expecting another Tetris DS. Ideal for puzzle fans.
  13. Games Master UK
    69
    No new tricks, but this is well-presented and still has the same old appeal. [Sept 2008, p.84]
  14. So while I definitely enjoy playing an updated classic on the DS, it just doesn't hold up as well against other recent, and successful revitalizations of older series.
  15. Official Nintendo Magazine UK
    66
    It's simple, feature-light and there's no variety in here ("Tetris DS" is much better value), but for a budget price it's not a bad stop-gap game. [Aug 2008, p.101]
  16. Nintendo Power
    65
    Though not as glossy as "Space Invaders Extreme"(another Taito update from Square Enix), brick-breaker Arkanoid DS takes advantage of the DS hardware more than its classic-reborn cousin by offering a vertical playing field and a touch-control option. [July 2008, p.89]
  17. The ability to play Arkanoid online is extremely welcome but ultimately this somewhat lightweight DS instalment fails to improve on previous versions of Taito's classic Breakout clone.
  18. Arkanoid DS is a great old-school title, but it comes off as trying to be a hip skateboarding, Pepsi-drinking old dude that just needs to wear his age proudly.
  19. This particular offering utterly fails to capture the magic of its predecessor or even to meet the standards set by contemporary offerings.
  20. It's not all that innovative and some of the format choices are questionable, but the stylus control works great and you're getting a lot of the same stuff for a low price.
  21. games(TM)
    50
    There are so many cheaper, better versions in existence that it’s very hard to recommend. [Sept 2008, p.125]
  22. 50
    Arkanoid bounces back on DS, yet misses the point completely.
  23. The stylus controls are the only redeeming quality.
  24. 45
    The Paddle Controller was the only thing this title had going for it in its Japanese release, and with it taken away in the US version you can see that Arkanoid DS just doesn't have what it takes to be the true Breakout clone.
  25. While the background tunes are enjoyable and obscure, they don’t match similar title like Lumines(which seems to have been an influence). If you want to experience old-school gaming with a new-school twist, Space Invaders Extreme is EXACTLY how you do it.
  26. Arkanoid DS disappoints in so many ways. Even with a retail price of $19.99, the game is just not worth picking up. If you're looking for a great remake of a classic arcade game, then pick up Taito's other retro remake - Space Invaders Extreme.
  27. It’s almost like Taito didn’t know why Arkanoid is fun. With Space Invaders Extreme they really went in a new direction and made a great remake of a classic game, but Arkanoid DS is too conservative and the innovations that are there only undermine the concept.
  28. Nintendo Gamer
    28
    We want the fancy controller. [Sept 2008, p.70]
  29. And thanks to poor ball physics, the ball can quickly get stuck in a "loop" of identical bounces against indestructible blocks if you're unlucky.

Awards & Rankings

#73 Most Discussed DS Game of 2008
User Score
7.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 5 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 2
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 2
  3. Negative: 1 out of 2
  1. MrPerson
    Sep 17, 2008
    10
    To all reviewers and users: If you gave this game anything less than a green score, let me give you some advice. Head over to www.ebay.comTo all reviewers and users: If you gave this game anything less than a green score, let me give you some advice. Head over to www.ebay.com (make sure it's the American one) and buy a Paddle Controller. I too thought this game sucked when I played it with the D-Pad, but if you have a Paddle Controller it's the best ball-breaking game ever, not to mention the best old-school arcade game on any current-gen console. Full Review »
  2. rb
    Jul 5, 2008
    2
    Unplayable. The unnecessary narrow field and split screen do nothing but damage, and I am furious with myself for having spent money on this Unplayable. The unnecessary narrow field and split screen do nothing but damage, and I am furious with myself for having spent money on this when my son and I were having so much more fun with Blasterball 3 on the PC -- which we ought to have bought by now, having reinstalled the demo at least five times. And the arcade feel is absolutely gone. I used to love this game and dropped 20p at a time on it every weekend at the tennis court lounge. Again, sick to my stomach that I paid for this. Undeveloped, unsophisticated, unacceptable. Full Review »