Brain Age 2: More Training in Minutes a Day DS

Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 37 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 37
  2. Negative: 0 out of 37
Buy On
  1. AceGamez
    90
    More Brain Training is a game that has great lasting appeal. It might not take you more than a couple of weeks to unlock everything, but once that's done, the lifespan of the game continues with improving your brain age, beating your high scores on the challenges and completing the Sudoku puzzles.
  2. If you’ve played the first Brain Age title (and according to statistics, if you own a DS you’re about 90% likely to have done so), enjoyed it, but have since grown bored of it, then it’s a no-brainer that Brain Age 2 is the perfect solution to get your prefrontal cortex running smoothly once more.
  3. Brain Age 2 is a no-brainer. If you liked the original, you should be smart enough to figure out that this is an excellent sequel.
  4. Brain Age 2 uses the same formula from the first game with some different variables thrown in. Your opinion of the original Brain Age will have to sort out whether that’s a good or bad thing.
  5. 80
    With the exception of Sudoku, every brain challenge in this sequel is fresh, and even if you played the first game to death there's a lot more mind-building challenges here, many of which are a lot more fun and addictive than the ones in last year's series premiere.
  6. It’s anecdotal, I know, but since I received Brain Age 2 I have played it nearly every day in my attempts to work my Brain Age to the ideal “20” – it’s been an uphill climb though it’s nice not to see “80” show up on a regular basis.
  7. 80
    Brain Age 2 fixes some old problems (you'll no longer shout words over and over to be understood), but introduces new hiccups as well -- good luck learning to write Dr. Kawashima's way without a couple dumb screwups. And a couple words on Dr. Kawashima: The guy is as condescending as ever; clearly, success has gone to his big, fat, disembodied head.
  8. 80
    If a game can make you smarter, or at the very least make you feel like you're getting smarter, maybe our detractors will get with Dr. Kawashima's program and opt for making change and sketching mathematical symbols over tallying curse words and counting sexual acts.
  9. The challenges included are great, the more full-featured games are excellent and the multiplayer games are a must play if you have friends with handhelds.
  10. Some annoying quirks remain, but the all new tasks and fun multiplayer modes keeps More Brain Training from Dr Kawashima: How Old Is Your Brain? top of the class.
  11. The wonky voice and touch screen recognition annoys us, but we always give Brain Age 2 another chance, probably because we buy Nintendo's line that it makes us smarter.
  12. 80
    Nice quick bursts of gaming.
  13. While still a solid game that gets its point across, it could stand to use a few more brain-training exercises or other play modes. What we get is perfectly satisfactory and will either make or break you in terms of whether or not you’re a total nincompoop or some sort of genius.
  14. 90
    All things said and done, Brain Age 2 is a very good sequel to an already entertaining title.
  15. An interesting and entertaining way to spend 30 minutes a day, lavished with as much charm and consideration as Nintendo has ever been able to afford.
  16. The Sudoku mini-game is worth the entire game itself and will provide many hours of fun.
  17. Pelit (Finland)
    80
    It's not a game, but it's still fun to play. Speech and hand writing recognition has few flaws, but otherwise DS's interface is very intuitive. [Oct 2007]
  18. Games Master UK
    80
    Too similar to the original to unreservedly recommend, but still excellent. It'll sell well. [Sept 2007, p.76]
  19. Sure, Brain Age 2 may be more of the same, but if the formula worked the first time, there isn't much reason to change it.
  20. Nintendo Gamer
    78
    The new challenges are fun, but there's not really enough different stuff here to make it a must-have purchase if you've already got the first one. [Aug 2007, p.60]
  21. Official Nintendo Magazine UK
    78
    It's a tired cliche, but it's never been more true - if you liked the first game, you should like this too. If you never played the first one, though, this is the better option. [Aug 2007, p.82]
  22. Either way, Brain Age 2 is a great way to continue your quest of making your brain work, and it's the only way to truly have two brain checks a day--that is, if you own the first one.
  23. The new challenges in this sequel are creative, addictive and pretty enjoyable and the addition of the multiplayer content is a great bonus.
  24. 80
    It's the perfect counter to the allegation that video games all rot your brain, and a tight, carefully designed experience to boot.
  25. 80
    In many ways, Brain Age has become the ideal videogame gateway drug. The games are accessible to anyone, don't require any special physical dexterity or experience, and feature a regular reward system in their daily measurement of your brain age.
  26. The game makes good use of many DS features. It has fun sound effects. It has competent, though not infallible, handwriting recognition. You have to speak to it, and most of the time it understands you - and it asks you before you begin your Brain Age Check if you are in a place where you can speak freely.
  27. It lacks the originality of the first, and it reuses most of the same art assets the first employed, which is both understandable, given its minimalist approach, but also disappointing to see so little effort put forth to set it apart from its predecessor.
  28. Those new to the series or new to gaming in general may be better served by the easier puzzles in the original; however those up to the challenge or those who have exhausted the previous version’s offerings will find more of the same great puzzle madness. It’s never been so fun to feel so stupid.
  29. 75
    However, don't expect too much more content than new tests and more Sudoku grids. [Sep 2007, p.80]

Awards & Rankings

24
21
#21 Most Discussed DS Game of 2007
User Score
7.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 21 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 12
  2. Negative: 1 out of 12
  1. Mar 16, 2017
    8
    I might be ten years late to the party but figured I'd give a quick review for this. I haven't played the first but this title was one of theI might be ten years late to the party but figured I'd give a quick review for this. I haven't played the first but this title was one of the few interesting Nintendo DS titles that I quite enjoyed. i was decently entertained by Dr Kawashima's humour. Most of the tests make good use of the touchscreen and other hardware and I found them decently challenging. Full Review »
  2. Nov 23, 2013
    7
    I never played the original Brain Age, but from I got from the this game, I like. The concept is original, and your brain actually feels likeI never played the original Brain Age, but from I got from the this game, I like. The concept is original, and your brain actually feels like your excercising. There are some puzzles that pretty boring, but this is a great game to pick up and play. Full Review »
  3. Apr 2, 2013
    6
    There are many good memories to be had with this game, everything from Dr. Ryuta Kawashima telling me how stupid my brain is to stressfulThere are many good memories to be had with this game, everything from Dr. Ryuta Kawashima telling me how stupid my brain is to stressful calculations and word games. The game includes fun exercises like speedy calculations, change-making, and piano playing, but at some point, all of those little practices will get repetitive and you will likely drop your whole brain routine in maybe a month. It's a shame, too, because the game does execute quite nicely. I remember starting off with the brain of a 34-year-old to the brain of a 25-year-old, and I was 15 at that time. The game persistently tracks your progress, and even the good doctor is quite encouraging (and very quirky). Oh, and did I mention it has tons of sudoku puzzles to complete? But here are the problems with the game: exercises involving text will eventually repeat itself at some point in time, making the minigame a chore, instead. By the way, don't believe the kid that has the syllable minigame world record. He already knew what the answers were because he played it beforehand. And that's another problem: usually, exercises not involving math will not only not be recorded after doing them a second time in a day, but they will also repeat itself, limiting the play time of the game. Also, after playing all of those games for days and keeping a solid brain workout routine, Brain Age 2 will eventually get repetitive, and you will drop routine after maybe a month. But that does not mean in any way that you shouldn't get the game. Full Review »