• Publisher: Ubisoft
  • Release Date: Jun 21, 2007
Metascore
72

Mixed or average reviews - based on 27 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 27
  2. Negative: 1 out of 27
Buy On
  1. An excellent example of what can be done on the DS platform when a developer puts enough time and effort into a project.
  2. Nintendo Power
    90
    If not for a few minor AI, collision, and camera issues, this game might have been a contender for the first perfect-10 rating in Nintendo Power History. [Aug 2007, p.86]
  3. 88
    Gearbox Software have managed to squeeze another ounce or two of power out of the DS, and it's all put to very good use. The game ultimately makes a success of itself because the experience is not only believable, but great fun to play.
  4. An extremely fun and well-designed game that sets a new standard in terms of graphics and sound. If it proves successful, we will hopefully see a slew of shooters arrive for the platform, shooters that will hopefully implement WiFi Connect so we can all start going head-to-head.
  5. Brothers in Arms DS pushes all the boundaries of technology while delivering a solid action war game whose only fault is that it is over all too quickly.
  6. Official Nintendo Magazine UK
    81
    You'll be amazed at what the developers are squeezing out of the DS. [July 2007, p.78]
  7. Games Master UK
    81
    Far better than we had any right to expect - this is solid third-person action on DS. [Aug 2007, p.77]
  8. games(TM)
    80
    There’s no reason why sharpshooters shouldn’t like this version as much as any other. [July 2007, p.112]
  9. 80
    It looks and sounds absolutely fantastic, and the gameplay is almost up to that same quality.
  10. Nintendo Gamer
    80
    A full console game intelligently squeezed into a handheld. [Sept 2007, p.58]
  11. My personal opinions about the overproduction of WW2 titles aside, Brothers in Arms DS is utterly playable and an incredibly ambitious graphical step for the DS. It's slick, action-packed and surprisingly atmospheric for such a small screen, although its problems are very noticeable, and getting shot through supposed "cover" can get extremely irritating.
  12. Brothers In Arms DS is a good little action-shooter that makes great use of the DS's unique interface. With the tactical aspect of its gameplay removed in favour of a linear action approach, it loses some of its style and identity, but it's nevertheless the first war shooter for DS, and sets a high standard to beat.
  13. Brothers in Arms: War Stories would have seriously benefited from some focus group testing, especially considering the fact that playing the game can bring on physical pain. It isn't a bad game, it just...really doesn't feel necessary.
  14. Though Brothers in Arms DS is admittedly short and has only a 'barely-there' multiplayer component the single-player gameplay is involving and the engine shows off what the DS is capable of doing.
  15. It'd be great to see a sequel with better multiplayer options and a few more single-player goodies. These war stories deserve a read – and definitely an expansion.
  16. It may be a little short but the replayability comes in from the extra difficult levels and their newly gained in-game bonus features.
  17. AceGamez
    70
    Unlike its more strategic predecessors, Brothers In Arms DS is an out-and-out shooter, and the fast action, the usefully wide-angled over-the-shoulder camera, the intuitive controls and the short missions all combine to make this a brilliant handheld game. Make no mistake - shortcomings aside, this is fantastic.
  18. A technically impressive game, but a few weak elements keep it from being a truly great game.
  19. It’s too bad that the game feels so bad. Literally, this hurts to play. The controls are a mess. My hand cramped shooting with L and aiming with a stylus.
  20. 65
    Good while it lasts. It’s just a pity it doesn’t last very long.
  21. With some tighter programming, and far fewer invisible barriers and dumb deaths, BiA could have been rather good. As it is - flawed and fun - it's a fantastic signpost.
  22. Besides some seriously bad camera angles where you lose sight of the action briefly and a skimpy wireless multiplayer mode, Brothers in Arms DS is a solid WWII action experience. It lacks the high gloss HD-ness of its console counterparts, but makes up for it in cinematic quality and pacing.
  23. With Brothers In Arms DS, Ubisoft has proven that it's technically possible to bring the series to the DS--but just because you can do something doesn't mean you should.
  24. 60
    If you're looking for a break from the usual DS fare of brain boosters and quirky "impress the girl by beating a billion mini-games" titles, this game will fill the need. But for those looking for a more definitive way to defeat Hitler -- and in the original "story boards" for the war, he sported a Fu Manchu moustache -- the wait continues.
  25. Quite how Gearbox's pocket shooter turns so many negatives into such a playable game is inexplicable, but sometimes the most unpolished combat boots are the most comfortable.
  26. 60
    The controls just feel flawed and the mission design is remarkably uninspired.
  27. 40
    Impressive a feat as creating a 3D shooter with cinematic aspirations for the DS may be, it doesn't mean much when it's not fundamentally fun to play.

Awards & Rankings

44
18
#18 Most Discussed DS Game of 2007
User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 25 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 25
  2. Negative: 3 out of 25
  1. JV
    Feb 20, 2009
    9
    I think the graphics in this 3D shooter are great and what help to send this game over the top. I'm a bit surprised at the critic's I think the graphics in this 3D shooter are great and what help to send this game over the top. I'm a bit surprised at the critic's reviews. The user ratings would be more accurate in my opinion. I have completed this game and can say the game overall was alot of fun and somewhat challenging at times. I liked the fact that you had multiple weapons at your disposal and were able to drive various military vehicles. I have several games and this one is in my top 3 list! Full Review »
  2. 213374U
    Feb 26, 2008
    7
    This is an okay game for the DS. The graphics are pretty good, considering it is a DS game, and the controls feel very nice. Also, the wide This is an okay game for the DS. The graphics are pretty good, considering it is a DS game, and the controls feel very nice. Also, the wide variety of weapons is pretty cool. I do, however, have quite a few problems with it. The vehicles are very hard to control and there are quite a few bugs and glitches. If you stray too far from the area where you are supposed to be playing the enemy soldiers there unresponsive. Also, some of the instances feel as if they are set. For example, if there is a machine gunner in a tower and you step on a certain area you will automatically be killed by the gunner, no matter what. Also most of the weapons are not authentic. The Thompon SMG holds 32 rounds while in real life it holds 20 or 30. Overall, I would say this is a good game but not a great one. It definitely isn't Road to Hill 30. Full Review »
  3. Forget_your_lifeno-last
    Aug 17, 2007
    1
    Starts off great. look at the graphics!!! Then as soon as your outta the tree you start running into battle. unfortunatly you also run into Starts off great. look at the graphics!!! Then as soon as your outta the tree you start running into battle. unfortunatly you also run into everything else, invisable walls, fences and the back of non-reactive enemies since you went the wrong way and the game has no idea where you are!? Then there is the vehicles!! dont even get me started on those...they drive so bad there sould be an in game cop issuing you a DUI and a night in detox! Full Review »