Castlevania: Dawn of Sorrow Image
Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 52 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 186 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The year is 2036, one year after the events of "Castlevania: Aria of Sorrow." Soma Cruz finds himself at the center of a mysterious cult's plan to resurrect their evil lord and master Dracula. In order to save himself and protect the lives of those he loves, Soma must infiltrate the enemy'sThe year is 2036, one year after the events of "Castlevania: Aria of Sorrow." Soma Cruz finds himself at the center of a mysterious cult's plan to resurrect their evil lord and master Dracula. In order to save himself and protect the lives of those he loves, Soma must infiltrate the enemy's home base, a towering replica of Dracula's castle that is teaming with monstrous creatures. Defeat foes with the "Magic Seal" system using the touch screen. Exchange souls with other players via the DS wireless connection. Features an incredible musical score, next-gen graphics & stunning special effects. [Konami] Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 50 out of 52
  2. Negative: 0 out of 52
  1. Controls are dead on, giving the gamer the feeling of knowing that any mistakes made in the game are the fault of the gamer themselves, not the controls.
  2. Bigger, tougher, meaner, and more next-gen. Castlevania: Dawn of Sorrow fills every part of the Nintendo DS's two-inch screen with new bosses, levels, and dozens of backdrops that are drop-dead gorgeous.
  3. Game Informer
    93
    Its sublime mix of puzzles, great bosses, perfectly paced exploration, and enormous variety make this an utterly amazing adventure. [Nov 2005, p.176]
  4. Dawn of Sorrow is what is right about Castlevania. And it's what the Nintendo DS should be doing in it's games, rather than trying to be something it's not.
  5. A classic game. Entering a big castle, defeating monsters, and killing giant bosses. We did it all before, but it rarely was as fun as in this game.
  6. 85
    If you liked "Aria of Sorrow," pick up DoS. If not, steer clear.
  7. 70
    Perhaps it is time for the series to evolve again rather than looking inward, just as it did nearly a decade ago when SotN was unleashed on an unsuspecting world. [JPN Import]

See all 52 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 42 out of 50
  2. Negative: 5 out of 50
  1. MahebruH.
    Oct 9, 2005
    10
    Yes. a "10". it's that good.
  2. IsaacS.
    Feb 4, 2006
    10
    The game is brilliant. It has a very good stating movie with very good graphics for a DS. The interseting storyline and gamplay is very The game is brilliant. It has a very good stating movie with very good graphics for a DS. The interseting storyline and gamplay is very adictive you wont want to put it down. The magic seal system is an ingenius idea that makes the game more exciting. The power to upgrade weapons with the souls you have collected via Yoko's power is fantastic. A thoroughly good game. Expand
  3. Jul 26, 2017
    10
    It is the first Castlevania that I had, but not the first that I played, because the first one was SOTN. If you have already played the SOTNIt is the first Castlevania that I had, but not the first that I played, because the first one was SOTN. If you have already played the SOTN (Symphony of the Night), you may see similarities with Dos (Dawn of Sorrow). The difference is that is another history, a completely different castle and also better graphics. You can see the evolution of Konami developing the Castlevania games. You may play it if you enjoy a good 2 game and if you enjoy searching secrets rooms and stealing rares souls. Expand
  4. ROBBMAC
    Oct 7, 2005
    9
    9.5 is my score... I think this game is pretty good, I actually like the fact that they didn't go over board putting gimmicky touch 9.5 is my score... I think this game is pretty good, I actually like the fact that they didn't go over board putting gimmicky touch screen features in this game. I would have given it a 10 had they left the touch screen parts out all together, but they usage they chose IS fitting. Expand
  5. JayG.
    Dec 8, 2005
    9
    This is what the DS was waiting for. A perfect side-scroller with huge environments,lots of weapons, and amazing bosses. I'd recomend This is what the DS was waiting for. A perfect side-scroller with huge environments,lots of weapons, and amazing bosses. I'd recomend this game to any DS owner. Expand
  6. Jul 10, 2011
    9
    Epic game. As almost every Castlevania ever released. The game is very fun to play through, and collecting souls is less boring than itEpic game. As almost every Castlevania ever released. The game is very fun to play through, and collecting souls is less boring than it sounds. The only issues are the dated graphics, which resemble too much it's prequel, and the somewhat boring and unbalanced alternative game mode. As that's gimmicky anyway and doesn't affect the basic gameplay, still a solid 9. Expand
  7. ChrisK.
    Oct 10, 2005
    0
    Hattori, surely you can't be so ignorant to think they made this game for the DS groundup. One year for a Castlevania game? No, it began Hattori, surely you can't be so ignorant to think they made this game for the DS groundup. One year for a Castlevania game? No, it began as a GBA game, and they just threw in some gimmicky touch screen soul things to make people think it's a DS game, it's worked on you I guess. Collapse

See all 50 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Ranked: Best and Worst Horror Videogames

    Ranked: Best and Worst Horror Videogames Image
    Published: October 25, 2010
    Our Horror Week continues with a look at some of the best and worst horror videogames ever released, from "BioShock" to "Left 4 Dead." Plus, vote on your all-time favorite horror game series.

Awards & Rankings

3
6
#6 Most Discussed DS Game of 2005
2
#2 Most Shared DS Game of 2005