Contra 4 DS

  • Publisher: Konami
  • Release Date: Nov 13, 2007
User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 45 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 36 out of 45
  2. Negative: 3 out of 45
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 2, 2011
    10
    On Easy mode, this game is not too hard to complete. I'm happy to see this title, which is not for babies, so those who find it difficult, just begin practising.
    I've finished all challenges and bonus content really worth playing it!
    Great 2D graphics with a pinch of 3D, rocking music and a memorable 20-th anniversary for my childhood's favorite NES game.
  2. TomD.
    Dec 9, 2007
    9
    I got scared intitally by the critics that this game was too hard, while it is hard not scary hard like ninja gaiden. A lot like that game the difficulty is rewarded with precise contra action that has not seen the light of day since SNES. Good stuff good times. I wish it were a litttle prettier maybe a PSP version just keep the damn thing 2D.
  3. RalphH
    Nov 16, 2007
    10
    This game is just what the Contra series needed. Sure, it may be tough, but hey, it's Contra. It takes me back to the days when the series was still good. Hopefully, there will be more games like this, even if it's not from the Contra series. We need more old school games that make you earn the right to beat it.
  4. ChrisC.
    Dec 7, 2007
    9
    Easily the best NES game made in the last ten years. I'd forgotten what it was like to start a level and not have absolute certainty I'd be able to finish it in that play. Newer games coddle you so much. If they do have any difficulty, it doesn't matter if you die, because you can just go back to your last save five seconds ago and try again with full health. Contra IV is Easily the best NES game made in the last ten years. I'd forgotten what it was like to start a level and not have absolute certainty I'd be able to finish it in that play. Newer games coddle you so much. If they do have any difficulty, it doesn't matter if you die, because you can just go back to your last save five seconds ago and try again with full health. Contra IV is the first game I've played in years that if you beat a level, you freaking earned it. The only problem is that I wish things weren't shooting at you from both the bottom and top screens at the same time. You can't physically watch both screens at once. If you keep an eye on stuff in the top screen, something comes out of nowhere on the bottom screen to kill you. If you focus on the bottom screen, something from the top screen will drop something on you. Since you have such limited lives, it means the only way to get through is to memorize the game. Whereas in earlier Contras, you could *see* anything that was coming at you, so you could see it and deal with it instead of having to memorize where it is. Expand
  5. MattS.
    Jan 29, 2008
    10
    Contra 4 on the DS is definitely one of the best games available, and even more so in the realm of old-school challenges. Wayforward have crafted the best Contra available, and it's ready and waiting in your pocket!
  6. EricR.
    Nov 20, 2007
    8
    A very challenging game that I haven't even beat yet on easy, but it is very fun. If you are used to old school contra, super C, and contra 3 then you will love this game. you can even unlock contra and super C, but it's only 1 player. There are two negatives one is the occasional enemy bullet that will get lost in between the two screen and comes out of nowhere to throw you A very challenging game that I haven't even beat yet on easy, but it is very fun. If you are used to old school contra, super C, and contra 3 then you will love this game. you can even unlock contra and super C, but it's only 1 player. There are two negatives one is the occasional enemy bullet that will get lost in between the two screen and comes out of nowhere to throw you off. That's not to big of a deal, because you start to anticipate it and usually can avoid them. The other one is the only reason this game wasn't given a higher rating. I am very disappointed that there isn't 2 player with 1 card capability. If you want to play 2 players you have to buy 2 games. Very disappointing in my opinion. Expand
  7. UweP.
    Nov 21, 2007
    10
    When Konami outsourced development of Contra 4 to an american developer, I was certain it was the final nail in the coffin for the franchise. Wayforward have proved me very, very wrong, however. They have taken everything that I love about Contra - including the brutal, but fair difficulty level - and delievered a relentless thrill ride that never gets old. Not only do I consider it to be When Konami outsourced development of Contra 4 to an american developer, I was certain it was the final nail in the coffin for the franchise. Wayforward have proved me very, very wrong, however. They have taken everything that I love about Contra - including the brutal, but fair difficulty level - and delievered a relentless thrill ride that never gets old. Not only do I consider it to be on par with the series' pinnacle, Contra III, but quite simply the best gung-ho action game currently available on _any_ platform. Expand
  8. GioD.
    Nov 23, 2007
    10
    Contra is back baby! I, like many other people were skeptical. Developer Wayforward was handling da next contra!? NOOOO! But guys i owe u a huge apology, cause this game KICKS ASS. Everything u know n love about contra is here. Screen fillin bosses, insane difficulty, classic weapons, its all here. Dont let da fact dat its on DS put u off, it will turn u into little school girls n crush Contra is back baby! I, like many other people were skeptical. Developer Wayforward was handling da next contra!? NOOOO! But guys i owe u a huge apology, cause this game KICKS ASS. Everything u know n love about contra is here. Screen fillin bosses, insane difficulty, classic weapons, its all here. Dont let da fact dat its on DS put u off, it will turn u into little school girls n crush ur soul. N thats just how we TRUE contra fans like it. Buy immediately. Expand
  9. Pekka
    Dec 15, 2007
    9
    Even though I've already completed all 40 challenges from Challenge Mode (therefore unlocking everything that there is to the game) and finished the main game on Easy, Normal and Hard. I still enjoy playing this game. It's just so enjoyable. One of the best games I've played for a loooooong time. Highly recommended for 2D shooter fans, and especially for Contra fans.
  10. XianB.
    Dec 4, 2007
    10
    Remember in the 80s when people began predicting that children who played video games would grow up to be neurosurgeons and fighter pilots of the future due to better reflexes and hand-eye coordination? Contra 4 is a return to that kind of gaming. Everybody says it's hard, but the better word would be CHALLENGING. The level design is never cheap (nothing hidden in the gap on Remember in the 80s when people began predicting that children who played video games would grow up to be neurosurgeons and fighter pilots of the future due to better reflexes and hand-eye coordination? Contra 4 is a return to that kind of gaming. Everybody says it's hard, but the better word would be CHALLENGING. The level design is never cheap (nothing hidden in the gap on purpose), the enemies overwhelming but never impossible, and when you die you know precisely what you did wrong and who to blame. Not one for the soccer moms, but you needn't be super hardcore to enjoy Contra's over-the-top action either. Expand
  11. TylerW.
    Jan 21, 2008
    9
    Long-time Contra fans, let me assure you: This game is hard. Go get it!
  12. JohnL.
    Jan 27, 2008
    10
    Drips testosterone from beginning till Game Over screen - of which I've seen hundreds so far, but it does not frustrate me in the slightest. Yes, it is true that Contra 4 forces you to learn the ropes in the hardest way imaginable in these days of pampering developers who tell us to ''go there and do this", throwing health packs and check points at every corner of their Drips testosterone from beginning till Game Over screen - of which I've seen hundreds so far, but it does not frustrate me in the slightest. Yes, it is true that Contra 4 forces you to learn the ropes in the hardest way imaginable in these days of pampering developers who tell us to ''go there and do this", throwing health packs and check points at every corner of their prolonged, 'epic' games. In that sense, Contra 4 might seem unfair and 'archaic', but it is in fact part of its strength. From the moment you're dropped into Hell on Earth, going from one adrenaline-pumping set piece to the other, not a single second is wasted explaining or padding out anything. This, ladies, is a game for aggressive men like me: no filler, simply pure, distilled action, as it should be. Expand
  13. AnonymousMC
    Oct 11, 2009
    9
    This is probably my favorite DS exclusive game other than The World Ends With You. The concept is simple - run right and kill everything - but it's so challenging! The game seems to deliberatly try to be cheap at points, but it feels like it's part of the game. Challenge mode and tons of extras including bonous characters and the original Contra and Super C add a lot of replay.This is probably my favorite DS exclusive game other than The World Ends With You. The concept is simple - run right and kill everything - but it's so challenging! The game seems to deliberatly try to be cheap at points, but it feels like it's part of the game. Challenge mode and tons of extras including bonous characters and the original Contra and Super C add a lot of replay. The graphics are pretty and colorful, and the music rules (although the soundeffects suck). Try out this game first because I doubt everyone is into this kind of awesome game. Expand
  14. TonyG.
    Nov 14, 2007
    8
    Hardest game I have played in decades! Great graphics, great music, and great old school fun makes this an instant classic.2-D at its best. good luck even beating on easy mode!
  15. E.B.
    Nov 17, 2007
    10
    Finally, a game that's challenging and with no stupid dialog or cut scenes. Because of the reasons I just mentioned, Contra 4 is my favorite game on the DS.
  16. DavidT.
    Nov 19, 2007
    9
    This game is the perfect follow up to Contra III. Newcomers should try out Contra III (available on the Wii Virtual Console) first. Contra 4 has easily 3 times as much content III, plus emulated versions of Contra and Super C. Highly recommended for Contra fans, old-school fans, 2D shooter fans and action fans in general.
  17. AshishUbharani
    Nov 29, 2007
    10
    Yes I like that game and i like to buy it also but i dont know that what is the price of this game and should you send me the price of this chip game
  18. [Anonymous]
    Dec 29, 2007
    9
    It has a fun challenge mode, main game , and bonus features. The only things that makes it a 9 is the gap between the screens, and the difficulty (no game genie). Over-all a fun game worth buying.
  19. ERB
    Aug 2, 2013
    8
    All contra games are good but this one is the best.It is very fun playing it and it is also addicting as well.I must say this,this is far the best DS game I've ever played.
  20. Jul 22, 2016
    10
    I cannot say I grew up with contra since I was born into the 90s collect-a-thon games, even still this game is one of my favorite on the DS. This was my first contra game and I believe it is the best to start with because it gives you an easy mode (which is not easy the first time...). The game is difficult and probably the most difficult game on the DS, but it's the good kind ofI cannot say I grew up with contra since I was born into the 90s collect-a-thon games, even still this game is one of my favorite on the DS. This was my first contra game and I believe it is the best to start with because it gives you an easy mode (which is not easy the first time...). The game is difficult and probably the most difficult game on the DS, but it's the good kind of difficult. It rewards you for mastering it, and the controls are solid. You will need to master every side of them. After that, it's just run n gun. The fantastic part is that there is a 2 player mode as well, which non of the other similar games on the DS have. The graphics are smooth with a lot of attention to detail. I remember stopping and looking through a random broken window in one of the stages and finding a fully detailed office when they could've just added a grey background. Expand

Awards & Rankings

#8 Most Discussed DS Game of 2007
#2 Most Shared DS Game of 2007
Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 38 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 38
  2. Negative: 0 out of 38
  1. Nintendo Power
    85
    Otherwise, as long as you're open to its old-school approach, Contra 4 stands as one of the year's best pure action titles. [Dec 2007, p.81]
  2. 80
    Contra 4 is great Contra Fan Service. The core game design is a fresh fight that stays true to the 8 and 16-bit editions. At the same time, you can unlock two of the games that the fans hold near and dear, and via an in-game museum you can view the series' timeline through boxart and screen grabs.
  3. 75
    While Contra 4 doesn't necessarily improve on the respected series template, it's unquestionably a return to form, likely to sate rabid fans while simultaneously terrorizing unprepared newbies.