Dragon Quest Monsters: Joker 2 DS

Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 33 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 33
  2. Negative: 0 out of 33
Buy On
  1. Oct 20, 2011
    71
    Diehard DQ loyalists and tacticians will enjoy what this game has to offer, but those who want an experience – a game with heart and a story to tell – should spend their hard-earned medals elsewhere.
  2. Nov 14, 2011
    70
    Dragon Quest Monster: Joker 2 is a game aimed at combating and only for this purpose can it be truly enjoyed.
  3. Nov 9, 2011
    70
    Capturing monsters and making them stronger by using them in fights: It's a concept that has been done to death, but Joker 2 uses it with flair. The gameworld and story aren't as impressive.
  4. Nov 7, 2011
    70
    Dragon Quest Monsters Joker 2 might look like a soulless clone of the Pokémon franchise but it actually develops its own identity very fast. Although it's missing all the fun and charming features which make the Pokémon worlds such enjoyable in the first place, the addictive and depth monster-making system makes up for the lackluster plot and characters.
  5. Sep 17, 2011
    70
    A combination of endearing critters and solid role-playing gameplay make Dragon Quest Monsters: Joker 2 a pleasant portable adventure.
  6. Nov 29, 2011
    60
    A monster collector game that draws on the Dragon Quest series fauna of iconic monsters. Being more complex than Pokémon, this is a game to be played primarily for the joy of breeding and raising little monsters, as the story offers little interest. If you like Dragon Quest and Pokémon, this is the a game for you.
  7. Oct 9, 2011
    60
    If you feel more like a geneticist than an adventurer yourself, Dragon Quest Monster Joker 2 might keep you interested enough thanks to its enticing monster synthesis gameplay and its bestiary of hundreds of Dragon Quest monsters. But aside this core aspect, the journey lacks the extra spice, the combats sometimes feel out of place and artificially added in order to boost the game's longevity. Depending on your own tastes, you may see the full or the empty half of that glass.
  8. Oct 5, 2011
    60
    Quotation forthcoming.
  9. Sep 17, 2011
    60
    Joker 2 is one of those games that's fun in short bursts, but isn't all that memorable. It does borrow some of the great parts of Pokémon while carving out its own identity in the rich Dragon Quest world. But of all the things it had to borrow from Dragon Quest, why, why did it have to be the endless grind?
  10. 50
    Dragon Quest meets Pokémon but the resultant synthesis really only inherits the worst of both parents, despite some impressive visuals.

Awards & Rankings

#17 Most Discussed DS Game of 2011
#7 Most Shared DS Game of 2011
User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 15 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 4
  2. Negative: 0 out of 4
  1. Oct 16, 2011
    8
    Fun to any DQ or even JRPG player, I didn't realize where the time goes because you get immersed in the world and building/leveling yourFun to any DQ or even JRPG player, I didn't realize where the time goes because you get immersed in the world and building/leveling your team.

    For me the DQ and DQM series haven't been necessarily about story, it has been exploring and growing as well as changing my team. Moving from area to area is just a way to test and grow your team. At this DQMJ2 does an awesome job, you have a variety of monsters and moving them up is a fun process.

    The synthesis process, while fun, still is not 100% there. Changing classes, monsters is a crap shoot unless you go through lengthy online forums or even guides to say monster a is this and b is that. Through trial and error I managed to make a large dragon and some level B creatures, but never advanced beyond there. This also leads into the reason why the game is a solid 8.

    In synthesizing and leveling I guess I lost track of the games end goal as well and the ending, at least to me, seemed very sudden and I personally thought the game had more to it.

    But those gripes are minor at best, I still put in close to 30 hours into the game and again I would put this in the must buy for RPG fans and DS owners.
    Full Review »
  2. Oct 7, 2011
    8
    It's definitely a fun and addicting game. I think the game now has nearly twice the monsters as DQM 1 which was my main gripe in the previousIt's definitely a fun and addicting game. I think the game now has nearly twice the monsters as DQM 1 which was my main gripe in the previous instalement. I'm still not a fan of the synthesis in comparison with the breeding system found in Dragon warrior monsters 1 and 2, as it doesn't feel as natural. Despite how breeding has been omitted (which I think is because of the younger target audience), the synthesis of some monsters is extrodinarily time consuming. To make matters worse, monsters that are scouted once, or have been owned, are much harder to scout. The ranking system is also strange, and makes some monsters more valuable than others (though this doesn't usually reflect how valuable or how rare the monster is). Some cool features about DQM 2 Joker is that size was introduced. Now huge monsters actually are huge, and make up two or three monsters. This means that your team may consist of a single huge and powerful monster!

    I had fun with this game, just don't expect to collect every monster as this would require you to win some online tournaments.
    Full Review »
  3. Apr 28, 2012
    7
    I'm on fence right now whether this game's worth 6 or 7. On one hand, the game has certainly improved since it's first DS instalment. GiantI'm on fence right now whether this game's worth 6 or 7. On one hand, the game has certainly improved since it's first DS instalment. Giant monsters are now a prominent part of a gameplay, and can be both defeated and captured. The locations are also a lot better than the last time, even though they can still feel a little empty. Building and leveling your ultimate team is as fun as it's always been, while the graphics are quite nice to the eye. The monster's designs are a mishmash of both cute and badass, and many of them, in their sheer quirkiness, give Pokemon a run for the money (to give you an example, your starter monster is... two mutated peppers skewered on a BBQ spit). And yet, at the same time, the game manages to have an absolute worst plot I have ever seen, so bad that I had to write a sentence about it even though I normally don't give a crap about plot in those type of games. Many gameplay elements are flawed. Scouting (capturing) large monsters is a typical case of fake difficulty, while synthesising has an annoying rule about leveling monsters to level 10. Seriously, what's the point? To artificially bloat my gameplay time? No thanks, I'd rather do something else. Soundtrack was shamelessly cp'ed from the first game, which wouldn't even be that much of a problem if it was actually good. With all things considered, I'm giving this game a 6.5, rounded up to 7. If you're a plot sensitive type avoid this game at all costs. Those interested in a classic jRPG experience, though, should find something to enjoy in DQM:J2. Full Review »