Final Fantasy Fables: Chocobo Tales DS

Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 42 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 42
  2. Negative: 2 out of 42
Buy On
  1. Final Fantasy Fables: Chocobo Tales is a great “starter” title for younger gamers, to introduce them to the Final Fantasy universe. One of the sharper-looking titles on the DS to date!
  2. For a title that contains one of the things I absolutely loathe thanks to the flooding of the market, I have to say I’ve come away from this title enjoying a lot more than I thought.
  3. The gaming equivalent of cotton candy: it’s not very substantial or filling, but it is sweet, fluffy, and enjoyable.
  4. 70
    A pleasant surprise. While its story elements are predictably clichéd and patronizing, the varied minigames and fun card battles make up for the annoying but easily ignored connective sequences.
  5. Nintendo Power
    70
    Chocobo Tales serves as an endearing diversion for FINAL FANTASY fanatics, and provides an affable introduction to the franchise for newcomers. [June 2007, p.104]
  6. Hardcore Gamer
    70
    You just have to be willing to put up with a really boring card game to get to all the good stuff, and there's something depressing about that. [June 2007, p.59]
  7. A simple videogame built from a slew of diverse but relentlessly derivative building blocks.
  8. 70
    On the face of it Chocobo Tales appears to be aimed at a younger audience; however the game has a delightful charm that will appeal to anyone who’s a fan of the Final Fantasy series.
  9. Final Fantasy Fables: Chocobo Tales is a mash-up of a variety of different ideas, and although none of them are executed perfectly, the game still manages to be quite entertaining.
  10. 70
    Chocobo Tales is more than just a bunch of mini-games, but sadly this feather powered adventure lacks staying power.
  11. Even as Chocobo Tales devours your children's attention, it successfully delivers at least 10 hours of safe and shareable gameplay for gamers of every feather.
  12. Irritating and irrational, Magic Picture Book treats you badly. Yet one flash of those choco-puppy eyes and your heart will flutter. The DS equivalent of Stockholm Syndrome. [JPN Import; Mar 2007, p.76]
  13. I definitely prefer Chocobos when they are being ridden into war, not when they are forced to climb beanstalks and play rhythm games. [May 2007, p.96]
  14. Electronic Gaming Monthly
    63
    But here, the stop-and-go progression between books and battles presents an identity crisis: Is this an RPG or another DS "minigame"? Either way, it didn't keep my attention long. [May 2007, p.86]
  15. 60
    Its parts are largely equal, which only leads to confusion. What becomes most important: building card decks, or mastering the minigames? Or, in the big picture, do you buy this game to play minigames or go on a chocobo adventure? There are simply too many things vying for your attention, and more than likely, none of them will get much of it.

Awards & Rankings

#52 Most Discussed DS Game of 2007
#56 Most Shared DS Game of 2007
User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 28 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 6
  2. Negative: 1 out of 6
  1. Sep 6, 2015
    9
    One of the greatest late Square Enix games. A combination of great design of mini games taking advantage of the NDS stylus, beautiful art andOne of the greatest late Square Enix games. A combination of great design of mini games taking advantage of the NDS stylus, beautiful art and a great mix between card combat and RPG makes this game an absolute must for the NDS collection. Full Review »
  2. Aug 11, 2015
    8
    Sure, it's a bit childish, but it's honestly one of the best RPGs I've played in quite some time, and infinitely better than the FF3 remake.Sure, it's a bit childish, but it's honestly one of the best RPGs I've played in quite some time, and infinitely better than the FF3 remake. It's simple, but the card mechanic is unique and refreshing, and it's just the right length to boot. Cute, but certainly the finest 7th gen. FF in my opinion, and the only RPG I've played which tops it is the 3DS's Bravely Default. Full Review »
  3. Feb 2, 2013
    8
    The graphic and general feeling are so inspired and unique. I liked the mini games more than the card battles, some of them are real fun! GoodThe graphic and general feeling are so inspired and unique. I liked the mini games more than the card battles, some of them are real fun! Good music as every ff games and the chocobos are just cute. Full Review »