Final Fantasy: The 4 Heroes of Light DS

Metascore
71

Mixed or average reviews - based on 49 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 49
  2. Negative: 1 out of 49
  1. Dec 22, 2010
    74
    There is no doubt that if you like old style RPGs, you will like The 4 Heroes of Light.
  2. For everything the game does right, though, there's the pervasive, underlying whiff of a brand in crisis.
  3. Less than ideal for RPG newcomers. Charm wins through, but you'll have to be v-e-r-y patient.
  4. Feb 15, 2011
    70
    Final Fantasy The Four Heroes of Light is a nice addition to the ever growing collection of the franchise. While not deliberate enough in it's efforts to be a numbered entry, it still represents the series as a whole.
  5. 70
    Naïve in looks but brutal in nature. Final Fantasy: The 4 Heroes of Light certainly isn't for the wide audience. Fan of the recent games in the series are likely to throw away their DS in frustration over defeat upon defeat. But it is sure to satisfy old-school Final Fantasy-fans, and the minimalistic approach is refreshing.
  6. Jan 3, 2011
    70
    4 Heroes of Light is a JRPG fix. It looks alright and it plays alright and the baggage it carries is something you can either get past or despise depending on your attitude towards JRPGs.
  7. Jan 1, 2011
    70
    While it's cute, has great music, has its fun moments, and introduces a great new job system with the crowns, the tediousness and lack of interest make it a subpar RPG.
  8. So, maybe this isn't really a Final Fantasy game. It doesn't really matter, because 4 Heroes is supremely challenging and occasionally inventive - and what recent, successful Final Fantasy game can you really say that about?
  9. Its back-to-basics approach strips away much of the pointless frippery of the modern JRPG without stripping out the satisfaction of playing them. The DS isn't short of absorbing RPGs, but 4 Heroes of Light is a worthwhile addition, particularly for anyone with fond memories of simpler, happier times for Japanese role-playing.
  10. A great game for those who are nostalgic or meticulous or for large families.
  11. Dec 22, 2010
    67
    If you like old-school JRPGs, flaws and all, you should enjoy this game.
  12. Final Fantasy: 4 Heroes of Light drops the cinematic look of the franchise for a much more traditional gameplay. It's an halfmade attempt however because many features are excessively out-of-date and players find theirselve struggling more against an unfriendly game-design than the monsters inhabiting the world of Brandt and his friends. With an excellent visual and art direction as its best feats, Final Fantasy: 4 Heroes of Light is a JRPG which will appeal nostalgic players especially, but it is nowhere close to the quality provided by Dragon Quest IX: Sentinels of the Starry Skies.
  13. Dec 22, 2010
    60
    Final Fantasy: The 4 Heroes of Light delivers an RPG that has far more in common with early iterations of the Final Fantasy series than anything after V, and slips in a fair number of direct references to them.
  14. Final Fantasy: The 4 Heroes of Light isn't glitchy or broken, but that's the highest compliment I can muster.
  15. Dec 22, 2010
    55
    "Quotation Forthcoming"
  16. Mar 11, 2011
    50
    FFT4HoL revives an old-school design with a new aesthetic, but which misguided aspects of that design come along with it will divide the line between appealing and off-putting to players.
  17. Dec 19, 2010
    50
    It's a shame, because despite all of the rampant bad old-schooliness (I'm coining that phrase right here, right now), 4 Heroes of Light has some good qualities and I actually started enjoying it right about the midway point when you get your whole party together and the crown system kicks in full swing. The problem is that you have to slog through the first half to get there, and even then all the annoyances and frustrations are still lurking – they're just a little easier to ignore.
  18. 50
    The story and dialogue aren't deep -- the play and art are the stars of the show -- but what little there is comes off as morally confused.
  19. An unappealing mix of role-playing clichés and purposefully limited gameplay options that has little to do with Final Fantasy, past or future.
User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 34 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 15
  2. Negative: 3 out of 15
  1. Jan 19, 2012
    4
    This is one of those games I wanted to like so much, but it just couldn't live up to its potential. I'd just come off an invigorating EtrianThis is one of those games I wanted to like so much, but it just couldn't live up to its potential. I'd just come off an invigorating Etrian Odyssey binge, and I wanted another game where you get to customize your characters with class/skill levels and gear and whatnot. And it really does sound promising. You have a team of four heroes who can constantly switch classes in order to learn new skills and become even more powerful as time goes on. There is a pretty huge catch, though: rarely do you control all four at one time until close to the end of the game. This led to frustrating sequence after frustrating sequence as every time I felt I had characters that complemented each other well, one of them would bugger off and leave me with just one character plus a worthless TEMPORARY one. And don't get me started on the gems. Oh, the gems...because if you want to level up your classes, you better be memorizing what gems are showing up where when you fight, because otherwise you can't learn new skills at all without them. These two things combined with a very limited inventory system that punished you on boss fights for not looking at a FAQ beforehand were enough to kill my enjoyment of the game. The music was fine, the graphics looked good, the plot...was a Squeenix story, I guess. I just wanted a fun game to play, and I didn't get one. Full Review »
  2. Aug 16, 2011
    10
    The 4 Heroes of Light is everything you love about old school RPGs, requiring a lot of exploring with a just-big-enough world to explore and aThe 4 Heroes of Light is everything you love about old school RPGs, requiring a lot of exploring with a just-big-enough world to explore and a hint of guidance. It comes wrapped in a deceptively cute aesthetic, with lush, painterly graphics which I hope to see more of from Square. Full Review »
  3. Nov 6, 2010
    9
    This game is not like modern day games whereby it is easy to move through a dungeon.
    This game has complicated dungeons whereby the maps are
    This game is not like modern day games whereby it is easy to move through a dungeon.
    This game has complicated dungeons whereby the maps are huge and it is hard to move through them.
    The crown system in this game, is truly remarkable as players can try to use many different jobs rather than sticking to one throughout the whole game which many games have these days.
    The graphics of this game is quite appealing too, although some of the major towns and cities are abit messy. For example, players of the game should know the town of Urbeth, which is very messy (the shops are all spread out).
    However, the point where monsters level up as you level up, I feel, is one of the best gifts of this game. This function is not only rarely seen in such games, but is also a function that people can appreciate and not get bored of. Reason being is that players need to grind at certain points of the game. If the monsters levels are not boosted, grinding would be very hard. This function thus enables players to grind easier. However, one thing that I don't like is the lack of space to hold items. (A total of sixty items for four characters; that's pretty little).
    Full Review »