Harvest Moon DS: Grand Bazaar DS

  • Publisher: Natsume
  • Release Date: Aug 24, 2010
Metascore
68

Mixed or average reviews - based on 17 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 17
  2. Negative: 0 out of 17
Buy On
  1. 65
    Grand Bazaar isn't the best farming game out there, but it is wholly suitable for a younger audience or someone who just wants to play around on a portable farm for a few minutes at a time during their day.
  2. Harvest Moon: Grand Bazaar is a fantastic farming RPG that will please fans of the series. Spending countless hours performing mundane, repetitious, farming chores may not sound like much of a gaming experience, but if you have the time and patience this is one hell of an addicting, engrossing title.
  3. There's a good amount of game here for people drawn in by the concept. The gameplay mechanism of the bazaar is engaging and helps you keep going, although, a large amount of the game is a retread over previous versions.
  4. Oct 10, 2011
    80
    A finely crafted RPG-lite of the simple life, set against the backdrop of an idyllic rural world.
  5. Dec 23, 2010
    60
    It's the best portable Harvest Moon in quite some time, and the multiplayer is a promising development, but we're still waiting for another Friends of Mineral Town.
  6. Dec 12, 2011
    60
    Grand Bazaar is destined for those who play Harvest Moon for the first time. Many things work automatically, and the player will make money soon, especially thanks of the many options where are to earn it. But those seasoned Harvest Moon players may find the game dull and limited.
  7. Oct 17, 2011
    70
    Grand Bazaar is a good episode of a saga always equal to itself. The introduction of the bazaar is an idea that worked well and the constant support offered will help beginners to learn the basic gameplay of Harvest Moon.
  8. Sep 29, 2011
    65
    It's devloped in a cheap way, carelessely forgetting some important polishing. Some Farmville could actually be more fun than this.
  9. Harvest Moon enthusiasts might enjoy this unpolished gem for its sinfully cute graphics and marketplace feature, but, like that KFC commercial says, it's not for the faint of heart.
  10. Jan 16, 2011
    80
    Small gripes aside, Harvest Moon: Grand Bazaar is a strong showing for the farming franchise, with the addition of the eponymous market bringing a nice weekly structure to proceedings.
  11. Sep 28, 2011
    60
    A few baby steps forwards for the granddaddy of farming sims, but not enough to deserve a new game or your time and money.
  12. Nintendo Power
    60
    Although it's the fifth Harvest Moon title for the DS system, not much has changed in Harvest Moon: Grand Bazaar. [Sept 2010, p.89]
  13. A compelling and addictive farm-sim with a new weekly market-based twist. [Sept 2011, p.94]
  14. Nintendo Gamer
    80
    Lovely. [Oct 2010, p.65]
  15. Nov 5, 2011
    70
    Harvest Moon: Grand Bazaar continues to experiment with the franchise, in part for the better. The addition of the market brings a new element to the series and the core farming entertains and addicts as ever, but what lets it down is the lack of town activity. Without an invigorating community environment, though, Grand Bazaar doesn't quite reach the heights that it should.
  16. 77
    Grand Bazaar is by far the best game in the series to hit the DS. The problem? It just doesn't do enough new.
  17. 50
    While Grand Bazaar can be considered a solid entry to the Harvest Moon DS titles, its problem is that it doesn't really do anything new other than the bazaar.

Awards & Rankings

#35 Most Discussed DS Game of 2010
#29 Most Shared DS Game of 2010
User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 13 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 2
  2. Negative: 0 out of 2
  1. Oct 1, 2010
    7
    Not nearly as great as all the other harvest moon ds titles. Seems like something is missing to me. I played for awhile and then lostNot nearly as great as all the other harvest moon ds titles. Seems like something is missing to me. I played for awhile and then lost interest much sooner than even I expected, and I love games that take forever to level up or earn money etc. I do think of course I'll get back to this game. I hope it will have more to offer than it does at the start and a few seasons in. Still love harvest moon games. Perhaps they rushed a bit on this one. The bazzar element is a great idea and seems to work well, pretty fun too! Just happens only 4 times a season. Weekly does make sense though! :). High hopes for the next one Full Review »
  2. Sep 23, 2010
    8
    There have been what I would say, many Harvest Moon games, but it still impresses me after all this time. I don't have a Facebook so I haveThere have been what I would say, many Harvest Moon games, but it still impresses me after all this time. I don't have a Facebook so I have never tried Farmville, but if this is what itâ Full Review »