• Publisher:
  • Release Date:
  • Also On: 3DS
Harvest Moon: The Tale of Two Towns Image
Metascore
68

Mixed or average reviews - based on 6 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 12 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Harvest Moon: The Tale of Two Towns has players farming for food in hopes of one day reuniting the two rival towns.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 6
  2. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. Oct 6, 2011
    80
    There's definitely enough fresh ground in The Tale of Two Towns to entice series fans back for more agricultural adventure. [Oct 2011, p.84]
  2. Oct 20, 2011
    70
    It hits all the right buttons that Grand Bazaar and Island of Happiness couldn't, and gives the player tons to do without ever feeling stale. Two Towns is polished, and shows that the Harvest Moon series can stay fresh when given a nice shell to work with. It provides endless hours of entertainment, and with there being so much content to explore, the time flies by.
  3. Nov 8, 2011
    70
    Each season presents even more new additions and mechanics that will delight series fans. If you can get past the excruciatingly long first season, Two Towns will keep you entertained for a very long time.
  4. Sep 28, 2011
    65
    The Tale of Two Towns doesn't stray much from the Harvest Moon formula, but it hits most of the addictive sweet spots fans will care about.
  5. Aug 3, 2012
    65
    A game with plenty of virtues that serie lovers will appreciate, and very engaging for a very long time. It has all the elements that make this series special, but the formula and visuals have aged a lot, and only hardcore fans will be interested.
  6. Sep 23, 2011
    60
    I just wish the farming here didn't have to take place in the middle of such negative emotions. It's hard to love a game that's so based on hate.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 4
  2. Negative: 0 out of 4
  1. Sep 30, 2011
    10
    I think that the fact the two towns are fighting over such a stupid reason will keep you playing just so you can bring them back together and end there childish behavior. I believe that if you really love Harvest Moon then you'll love these despite what's clearly wrong with it. I mine that shops being close because it's raining....apparently these are towns filled with wicked witches. I mean it's just a little water. Also there is the no shipping bin thing. Really that is what made harvest moon so good. There were shipping bins everywhere now...we just don't have one? Then there the have-to-run-all-the-way-home-to-save thing we hate so much. You know your gonna have that moment were your DS is about to die on you, your running home like no tomorrow and when you finally get home BOOM.....it dies on you. The fact that you can save anywhere makes a game way more appealing but I don't think it would save this game. If your just getting into the series or your not REALLY a fan of the game I say don't buy this game. But if your a fan for life then go for it. By the by check out the Rune Factory games there SO AWESOME!!!!! Peace my Harvest Mooners. ^W^ Expand
  2. Oct 31, 2011
    8
    I have to say, this is the most fun I have had with a non Rune Factory Harvest Moon game in some time. Two Towns may seem simplistic, but I think Harvest Moon needed to get rid of some of the clutter that boggs down other entries of the series. Choosing ranching or farming was a great idea. In most Harvest Moon games getting a proper ranch going takes ages. Only 8 days into the first year I have purchased a lamb and a check with money left over. Speaking of money, it is much easier to come buy in Two Towns than past entries. Some die hard fans may not like it and admittedly the shops close too often, but for casual fans or fans wanting a change of pace, this is a must buy. I would say with the simpler difficulty a great entry for new fans of the series as well. Collapse
  3. Sep 23, 2011
    6
    At this point, I'm still working on my last year of my first play through. Unfortunately, as I've played, my opinion of it has dropped, not increased. The graphics aren't all that good, and it's obvious they're supposed to get their depth from the 3DS. While I'm looking forward to seeing that, it takes something away from the NDS version, making the game areas feel significantly smaller. I'm aware that the Rune Factory series is a fork of the Harvest Moon series, but I keep finding myself holding this game up to the Rune Factory series as a whole, and finding it wanting. The questing feature is there, and you have the ability to see how fatigued you are, I'm happy to say. But was there any particular reason why I don't even get my own shipping box anymore? I feel a bit silly about it, comrade, but how could you be able to credit people for their efforts with such a system? At the very beginning of the game, you're forced to take sides in the childish bickering of two towns, Bluebell and Konohana. I'd just gotten the game home, and I swear I nearly put it back in the box and took it back. I can't stand such bickering in real life, and most people can't (which is why most avoid politics), so why would I want to play a game based upon this premise? The series as a whole is a bit notorious for having very long opening sequences, but ToTT really takes the cake on this one. I found myself genuinely wanting to throttle my new mayor before the primary tutorial was over. Once it was, I went to look for the option to increase the text speed only to find it no longer exists. Then to bed, just to find the tutorial wasn't actually over. Don't get me wrong, I don't hate it, but it's a far cry from the best of the series so far, and I must say I am disappointed. Expand
  4. May 12, 2013
    5
    I played More Friends of Mineral Town when I was young. My brother got this game and I decided to try it out. I was hooked for a few days, but when I figured out that there really wasn't much to the game aside from what I had been doing for the past 6 hours, I saddened. No mining. The farming aspect seems to be downplayed a little in favor for heightening the marriage aspect of the game, something that was just a small facet on a big glittering gem in MFOMT. Expand