Kingdom Hearts 358/2 Days DS

User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 170 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 16 out of 170
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. DarrenZ.
    Dec 10, 2009
    7
    The premise of this game is to tell you what happened between Kingdom Hearts and Kingdom Hearts 2. As it turns out, the answer is "not much". Despite the topnotch presentation, the story here is threadbare and largely uninteresting. But we all know that it's gameplay that matters and, well, 358/2 falls a little short there as well. While the RPG character development is handled quite The premise of this game is to tell you what happened between Kingdom Hearts and Kingdom Hearts 2. As it turns out, the answer is "not much". Despite the topnotch presentation, the story here is threadbare and largely uninteresting. But we all know that it's gameplay that matters and, well, 358/2 falls a little short there as well. While the RPG character development is handled quite well, the actual combat is repetitive and you'll find yourself just mashing the attack button over and over again with little variation. It's reasonably entertaining, all things considered, but there are better games out there. Expand
  2. Jun 23, 2012
    6
    This installment of Kingdom Hearts was a unique experience. Granted, I've seen better, but this isn't that bad of a game. Unique multiplayer characters, each with their own unique weapons and fighting styles, somewhat make-up for a rather slow story. The dialogue frequently makes you want to skip, but at the same time you will miss the story if you do.
  3. BryanH.
    Sep 30, 2009
    7
    A fun game that gets hampered by a mess of repetition. Moving from room to room can feel tedious, and for longtime fans, the use of many worlds they've already seen in previous KH titles is a disappointment. That doesn't mean there's a lack of quality, far from it. The story begins with Roxas, introduced in Kingdom Hearts 2 as the Nobody of Sora (please don't make me A fun game that gets hampered by a mess of repetition. Moving from room to room can feel tedious, and for longtime fans, the use of many worlds they've already seen in previous KH titles is a disappointment. That doesn't mean there's a lack of quality, far from it. The story begins with Roxas, introduced in Kingdom Hearts 2 as the Nobody of Sora (please don't make me explain that) as he joins Organization XIII (or that). The battle system, while somewhat simplistic, is still a blast. One of the best new features is the level-up system, which applies to more than just Roxas (spells, weapons, etc), gives you a great deal of control over how you prefer to play (spellcasting, melee, defense, and others). There's also a multiplayer mode, a first for the series, but sadly have yet to try it with friends (one of the DS titles where everyone must have the game to play multiplayer). Called Mission Mode, these extra missions can be unlocked as you progress through the main story mode, allowing you to earn items and XP. These can still be played single player. Kingdom Hearts: 358/2 Days might have one of the worst titles ever, but its a good game with one major flaw that takes down its quality as a whole. Lapsed fans of the series won't find anything new to bring them back, while the hardcore faithful will definitely be overjoyed by it. Newcomers, I'd suggest giving it a spin if possible before making a decision. (PS: If you were curious, the name is pronounced 'Kingdom Hearts Three Five Eight Days Over Two.' How that's possible is a question I too still ponder.) Expand
  4. [anonymous]
    Jan 24, 2010
    7
    It's okay. The pannel system isn't as great as the card or skill set battle systems from other games. The graphics are okay, but not the best. Like all the other games, the beginning and end cutscenes are incredibly good looking, though. The new mini-mission style of play also ruins the pacing. The enemies, locals, and music are all really interesting, but it's all recicled It's okay. The pannel system isn't as great as the card or skill set battle systems from other games. The graphics are okay, but not the best. Like all the other games, the beginning and end cutscenes are incredibly good looking, though. The new mini-mission style of play also ruins the pacing. The enemies, locals, and music are all really interesting, but it's all recicled from Kingdom Hearts 2. There are very few new things. The story is pretty much the only good part, but not as good as as any of the other except the first one. Unfortunatly the gameplay gets old fast. Oh yeah, if you beat the game and complete all the missions, you unlock some extra characters, which is pretty cool. In conclusion, this is the weakest one in the series other than the PS2 port of Chain of Memories. Expand
  5. Sep 10, 2011
    6
    While I enjoyed the two main Kingdom Hearts games, the portable releases have been rather weak. The developers deserve credit for adapting the gameplay of the console games on the DS but it's not without flaws. It's extremely difficult to control the camera to keep up with all the enemies, turning simple fights into frustrating ones. The repetitive and dull missions, which feel like aWhile I enjoyed the two main Kingdom Hearts games, the portable releases have been rather weak. The developers deserve credit for adapting the gameplay of the console games on the DS but it's not without flaws. It's extremely difficult to control the camera to keep up with all the enemies, turning simple fights into frustrating ones. The repetitive and dull missions, which feel like a tutorial for most of the game, really slow things down. The music and visuals are both very good, containing familiar areas, faces and tunes from the series. What really hurt the game is the weak story... for nearly the entire game, you're only given minor details and snippets of the story but I will say that the final few hours are absolutely fantastic and will put Kingdom Hearts II into a much more powerful perspective. This game is flawed but fans of the series will find some enjoyment in it. Expand
  6. Oct 3, 2012
    7
    Flaws: it's heavily combat-focused, and it gets really repetitive over the course of the 30 hour campaign; the story-telling isn't too stellar (poor pacing and not much feeling of the player advancing the plot); and the camera is really annoying, as you'd expect in most 3D DS games. The worst example of the last flaw came with one giant flying boss fight where the target continually moved,Flaws: it's heavily combat-focused, and it gets really repetitive over the course of the 30 hour campaign; the story-telling isn't too stellar (poor pacing and not much feeling of the player advancing the plot); and the camera is really annoying, as you'd expect in most 3D DS games. The worst example of the last flaw came with one giant flying boss fight where the target continually moved, had lots of health, and really powerful attacks, which was all the more frustrating in that most magic attacks need perfect aiming, and when you attack with your Keyblade you stay in one spot, so the target's moved after the first hit.
    Good points: I actually got really into the story and these characters, even if they weren't the deepest or most complex out there. The only reason I persevered through the aforementioned annoying boss-fight was because I wanted to see how the story ended, and I'm glad I did. Also, while repetitive and frequently frustrating, the combat still had just enough satisfaction and fun to it to keep going. I also quite liked the panel system they implemented for switching between different weapons, magic attacks, items, and perks. The extra modes were quite interesting too, in which you can play through previous levels with one of over a dozen different characters, including other Organisation members, Donald, and Goofy. Overall, I found it good, but not great. It was interesting enough for me to see it through to the end, but you'll likely find it incredibly repetitive and more than a bit frustrating.
    Expand
  7. Jun 18, 2012
    7
    This is a decent game. The gameplay is the same as kingdom hearts(More or less). The story is good. The voice acting, of whats there, is pretty good. Also, the boss fights offer a decent challenge some of the time. Graphically, this game is one of the best on the D.S. The slot system is interesting but can be a real pain. The multiplayer is somewhat fun but some of the characters youThis is a decent game. The gameplay is the same as kingdom hearts(More or less). The story is good. The voice acting, of whats there, is pretty good. Also, the boss fights offer a decent challenge some of the time. Graphically, this game is one of the best on the D.S. The slot system is interesting but can be a real pain. The multiplayer is somewhat fun but some of the characters you unlock are downright terrible. Still, 358/2 is a decent game. Expand
  8. Feb 2, 2013
    7
    The saddest part of the kh's story. Of course it's not even near the level of the ps2 titles and I expected a bit more from the graphics, but I still enjoyed it 'cause it's freaking kh.
  9. Feb 9, 2013
    6
    A technically impressive game but not the most fun. The game focuses on events before kingdom hearts 2 with you playing as Roxas. The story has some good points particularly near the end but overall it just didn't interest me that much. It was nice to develop the characters of organization XIII more but it just felt unnecessary and uninteresting. The combat is all well and good except theA technically impressive game but not the most fun. The game focuses on events before kingdom hearts 2 with you playing as Roxas. The story has some good points particularly near the end but overall it just didn't interest me that much. It was nice to develop the characters of organization XIII more but it just felt unnecessary and uninteresting. The combat is all well and good except the DS's lack of buttons means we get the terrible camera controls from KH 1. Also the difficulty spikes return as well and come literally out of nowhere. Also the game adds nothing new with the same locations as in kingdom hearts 2 and no new characters except Xion who confuses the plot even more than it already was. Expand
  10. Mar 1, 2013
    7
    If you know the KH story or have played other titles in the franchise, you will want to play or at least watch a play through of it. The story for 358/2 Days explains the events that occur between the first game and part 2. I gave it 2 of it;s points just for that. However, I did not give it many more because of the presentation of the story. It felt chopped up and crude. It wasIf you know the KH story or have played other titles in the franchise, you will want to play or at least watch a play through of it. The story for 358/2 Days explains the events that occur between the first game and part 2. I gave it 2 of it;s points just for that. However, I did not give it many more because of the presentation of the story. It felt chopped up and crude. It was frustrating how you had your Kingdom Hearts story line, then the distracting Disney story lines that chopped it all up. The conversations were a little crude at times as well. It is a great game though for, really, anyone. Roxas' story is a sad, heart breaking, and also very romantic. All you need to get into this games story is to know a little about the first game. The controls were descent for a DS game, but I felt they where over stretching the limits a little. So to sum all that up, good for Disney fans, KH fans, and somewhat hard core gamers. Expand
  11. Jul 16, 2015
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. As someone who loves the franchise and thinks Roxas is a good character this is on the underwhelming side. The plot is fairly lacklustre. the structure of the main game is different to your average kingdom hearts because instead of playing through the adventure in one go you do it in missions instead. Missions suit a handheld game well as they offer short bursts of gameplay on a bus ride or on the way to school. Notice how I didn't say THIS game well. Missions in this game fluctuate in length which can be very annoying since you cannot time your playthroughs to suit your journey length, sure this is not a problem if your playing at home but can be annoying when your not even half way through a mission and you have to stop because your journey ended. Another big issue is the structure you will usually have a completion bar. This means you can beat the mission but there is still stuff to do. This is fine in the first 3 hours but as you go on you stop 100% missions and then start skipping optional missions. The game has more padding then the first season of Dragon ball z which really sucks because I expected some decent gameplay that a Kingdom hearts title, portable or not offers. The incentive for completing all the missions or doing everything is very subjective. If you have friends who have this game it makes sense because beating all missions unlocks Mickey mouse in multiplayer and then 100% the missions unlocks Sora but if you know no one who plays the game why would you bother?The multiplayer is half and half for me. Its kind of lazy on the level design because they just repeat a handful not all a handful of missions meaning your favourite mission might not be there. The other half is that you can play as some of the major Kingdom hearts characters all with their own animations and special moves. Im not going to comment on the ability system because there is nothing to say. This game can be fun if your in the mood and looking for a game to pass the time Kingdom hearts fan or not. If there is one piece of advice I will give you if your going to 100% this game do it on your first time round because even as the biggest KH fan one play through is more then enough and I don't want to replay this. Expand

Awards & Rankings

#8 Most Discussed DS Game of 2009
#12 Most Shared DS Game of 2009
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 53 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 53
  2. Negative: 1 out of 53
  1. Feb 6, 2011
    70
    While it doesn't really add a great deal to the overall story of the series and recycles a lot of content from the previous games, what you'll find is a very enjoyable experience, chocked full of content that will keep you glued to your DS for a long while.
  2. 81
    If you've never liked Kingdom Hearts before, 358/2 Days will not sway your opinion, as it's basically the same action RPG seen on the Playstation 2 with a different (and one may argue, more interesting) customization system. However, if you like Kingdom Hearts or even action RPGs in general, 358/2 Days is a worthy game for you to spend time on.
  3. Nintendo Gamer
    75
    It's worth putting up with the nonsense as this is a satisfying action RPG. [Dec 2009, p.68]