User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 54 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 48 out of 54
  2. Negative: 2 out of 54

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 4, 2011
    9
    An excellent upgrade to an already awesome classic Super Nintendo title. This time around, the compilation includes all the games and mini-games from the SNES release along with even more new games (Including one starring Meta Knight) and mini-games than before! The graphics and audio have been updated from the original release and new features have been added, there is also new music tracks, bonus video clips and even more bosses that where not in the original version. You can play this game multiplayer by using two game cards and a download play demo with minigames and Spring Breeze but both players have to share one DS screen. With all the high quality content crammed into one cartridge along with multiplayer support, any fan of Kirby should not pass up this amazing compilation. Expand
  2. May 26, 2011
    9
    So many games in one! I would've like more unlockable minigames, however. But that is a minor complaint. This game is a gem, and you should definitely own this.
  3. Nov 28, 2011
    7
    Kirby Super Star Ultra takes what is widely considered the best Kirby game and gives it a face lift and even more modes to play than the original had. This is one Kirby game that will not disappoint any in terms of length. The partner system is unnecessary and makes the game even easier. Just the same, it is appreciated for its two player capability. With a wide variety of powers and multiple ways to use each, it is easy to forgive the game for erring on the easy side of things. Expand
  4. Oct 5, 2012
    10
    Another exelent title from nintendo,all af the stories and upgrades makes this game so awesome!
  5. Jun 24, 2011
    10
    this game is the most **** awesome game ever on the ds and it is **** epic and the music is epic oh yea and so is the twist ending lolololololololol XD
  6. Nov 9, 2011
    6
    A great game, but really has no in-depth. There are only a few missions to beat as well as the lack of campaign gameplay. However, the boss fighting mode (forgot the name) is epic and fun due to the availabilty of partners. If you are a avid fan of Kirby, try playing it.
  7. Jul 31, 2013
    10
    A truly amazing game, it's very challenging at some points! I love the fact that this game is a remake to Kirby super star from the 90's, a game I always wanted to play. I love the feature to play as meta-knight, my fav character from the kirby series! Overall, this game is a must have for any DS owner, and any kirby fan, I love this game so much! It's amazing!
  8. May 20, 2012
    10
    I love kirby superstar ultra! Aprilbutte, Multiplayer can be done with two game cards too, and both ds can see the screen (Awsome!) Kirby superstar ultra can have it's momments! There are 11 game modes. Here they are. ----------------------- -Spring breeze -Gorment race -Dyna blade -The great cave offensive -Meta knight's revenge -Milky way wishes -King dedede's revenge
    -Metaknightmare ultra
    -The arena
    -Helper to hero
    -The TRUE arena
    ----------------------------------

    There are 5 minigames
    -----------------------------------
    -kirby on the draw
    -Kirby card swipe
    -snack tracks
    -Megaton punch
    -Samurai kirby
    ----------------

    The music is wonderful and the game is charming and wonderful!

    This for any nintendo fan!
    Expand
  9. Jun 20, 2013
    9
    Lot's of fun characters, fun gameplay, and fun worlds. Even if you complete everything in the game, the different games are so fun that it's easy to enjoy playing them over and over and over again. It might have been nice if there were more characters that weren't enemies, but to play as or interact with, but, it's a good game either way. Definitely recommended.
  10. Mar 15, 2014
    9
    Kirby Super Star Ultra is an evolution of the original with new modes that are just as awesome as the old ones, while retaining its incredibly fun gameplay. The best Kirby game made better
  11. Jul 22, 2014
    9
    Kirby Super Star Ultra. While the DS has never been my favorite device to play my games on as I much prefer consoles and PCs, I did have a few good games on the system. Heck, I still enjoy playing all of the Mario games that I have on the DS. They are very enjoyable and fun for all ages. As for this game, it is actually a remake of Kirby Super Star for the SNES. So, does this remake recapture the magic of the SNES classic, or is it a disgrace to the memory of that wonderful game? Let's find out. This game is about as simple as an action platformer can get. You move from platform to platform fighting enemies and solving puzzles along the way. What makes this game more unique than other action platformers however, is Kirby himself, and the fact that it is several games in one. Kirby on his own can swallow enemies and eat them. When Kirby swallows certain enemies, he can copy their abilities. This is a very important difference from most platformers. Most characters in platformers only have a small amount of power-ups at their disposal. Kirby on the other hand, has dozens. This makes the game much more enjoyable to play. I had a lot of fun trying out Kirby's abilities when I got them. Every ability in the game is very different, and changes the gameplay quite a bit. This game is also several games in one. While the gameplay is overall the same in every game, each game adds a special twist to make it more unique from the last one. The only real problem I had with the gameplay overall is that it was way too easy. Kirby has a lot of health, and there is plenty of food available to refill it. Kirby is also like a balloon, because he can float over gaps, which other characters like Mario would have to make huge jumps over. This makes the game way too easy, and disappointing for those looking for a challenge. However, the difficulty really isn't a problem when the game is this fun to play. As for the graphics, they are beautiful and unique. They have definitely seen an upgrade from the original SNES game. Everything in this game looks cartoony and cute to look at. The backgrounds are also rich with detail. There is really no problem at all with this game when it comes to the graphics. As for the story, this really depends on which game you choose. Even so, all the game stories are really straightforward, and easy to follow. The first game is Spring Breeze, in which King Dedede steals all of the food in Dreamland, and it is up to Kirby to stop him. The second is Dyna Blade, in which a giant bird is attacking Dreamland, and Kirby has to discover why. Then there's Great Cave Offensive, in which Kirby finds himself lost in an underground cavern. He must escape and collect treasure along the way. Gourmet Race is a game in which King Dedede challenges Kirby to race to the finish while collecting the most food along the way. Meta Knight's Revenge is the story of how Meta Knight uses his ship Halberd in attempt to take over Dreamland, and Kirby has to stop him. Milky Way Wishes is about a time when the Sun and the Moon started fighting each other, and Kirby has to find a way to stop them from fighting. These were the stories of all of the original Kirby Super Star games. There are also a few new ones. The Revenge of the King is a remixed version of Spring Breeze that is much harder, and is about how Dedede wants revenge after being defeated in Spring Breeze. Meta Nightmare Ultra allows you to play all of the games mentioned above as Meta Knight (minus Revenge of the King). This adds a nice spin on Kirby Super Star. There are also three arena modes, which are just modes that pit you against all of the game's bosses in random order. While the stories of these games aren't very developed, they are relatively easy to follow, and that's all that really matters in a video game. Overall, this game is a nice throwback to a time when video games had very simple premises. I really enjoyed the time I had with this game. It is a blast to play, has beautiful graphics and stories that are very easy to follow, leaving everything else open to interpretation. This is a game that anyone who owns a DS should play. It is really fun, and more than worth the money.
    Gameplay: 9/10
    Graphics: 10/10
    Story: 9/10
    Overall: 9/10
    Expand
  12. Feb 24, 2014
    10
    Being a huge Kirby fan, my expectations went through the roof, I mean, Kirby Super Star was awesome enough! But no...they gave the fans what they didn't even know they really wanted and amazed us with this FANTASTIC remake! Including all the old fun content from it's 1996 prequel and a TON of new content, this game NEVER gets boring. Tons of abilities and mini-games and even if you DO get bored playing this, you'll instantly have more fun with a different game on this wonderful cartridge. It satisfies the gamer as much as it can and putting those dumb critics who hate the game aside, I really loved this game. If you liked Kirby Super Star, have a DS, 2DS or 3DS, or are a Kirby fan looking for hours and even days of fun, this is the game for you! Expand
  13. Sep 28, 2014
    9
    awesome,Awesome...AWESOME. THe game is really awesome and easy to play like the others(but in the true arena you gotta dead 1,2,3,4,5,6,7,8,9,10..............)the only bad i see is the graphics.Is not bad,i say was so good,but Nintendo can make better graphics in the DS,this graphics was in the GBA,not so surprising. That is my critic.I wait was helpful for you
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 40 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 40
  2. Negative: 0 out of 40
  1. 79
    It's not as creative as "Kirby's Canvas Curse", but it's not as "by the numbers" formulaic as "Kirby's Squeak Squad."
  2. Copying enemy abilities and working alongside helper characters is cool, and we dig the imaginative environments, but there's not enough to keep us hooked.
  3. 91
    Kirby and company are just too damn cute and cheerful. If Smash Bros. piqued your interest, Ultra's your next step.