• Publisher: Konami
  • Release Date: Sep 27, 2005
Metascore
69

Mixed or average reviews - based on 33 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 33
  2. Negative: 2 out of 33
Buy On
  1. It is innovative and uses almost all of the handheld’s non-standard features without seeming the slightest bit gimmicky.
  2. It's innovative and interesting, though it can be very frustrating when you can't quite think your way around a dilemma and there's no obvious answer.
  3. While the game isn't flawless, there's enough fun and charm involved to make it definitely worth playing.
  4. Nintendo Power
    80
    It's okay that the title's pace is slow and methodical, but it lacks the hidden dangers one would expect in a strange and unknown place. [Nov 2005, p.112]
  5. It is a perfect showcase of what's to come and although it is somewhat frustrating at first, it truly is a rewarding experience later on.
  6. Technically speaking, Lost in Blue is a very annoying, and often clumsy, but the emotions it often invokes - the feelings of hardship, reward and companionship - are, at times, second to none, making it very much worth the laborious effort. [NGC Pocket]
  7. Computer Games Magazine
    80
    It's at times annoying, but mostly just challenging, presenting American RPG players with a welcome, exciting, and unique new arc. [Jan 2006, p.89]
  8. Lost in Blue is an ambitious game that offers some quirky gameplay.
  9. As I like to repeat, if you have trouble with micro-management, Lost in Blue isn’t for you.
  10. 75
    It worries me a bit that I'm starting to enjoy all this tedium.
  11. This game tries to as accurately as possible replicate the feeling of being left for dead on an island. This means no tutorial whatsoever, so make sure you read those instructions before diving into this blue.
  12. 75
    Lost in Blue has its appeal, especially to those folks who enjoy the Harvest Moon series, or those who enjoyed Survival Kids on the GBC. There is comfort in repetition, and it's really not all that bad once you get the story rolling.
  13. While some inventory and travel issues make eking out a living a shade more tedious than it really needs to be, at its best the game is an addicting exercise in the power of human perseverance.
  14. Electronic Gaming Monthly
    72
    Once you've figured out how to keep your gal alive on her own and she gains gourmet-cooking prowess, life becomes a beach. [Nov 2005, p.162]
  15. The biggest aspect of Lost in Blue is repeating daily tasks and trying to stay alive on the island. After a while this can get somewhat annoying when players want to go out and see what’s on the island, but can’t because they still need to gather food or supplies.
  16. Game Informer
    70
    Innovative, different, and oddly compelling. [Oct 2005, p.152]
  17. Keith moves around awkwardly thanks to the poor control scheme but at least the touch screen is utilized in some pretty interesting ways.
  18. Some cool uses of the touch screen in mini-games though this game may easilly become a chore for some.
  19. games(TM)
    70
    It won't appeal to everyone, but Lost in Blue is a solid and inventive title that shouldn't be allowed to slip past unnoticed. [Dec 2005, p.124]
  20. 68
    It sounds odd that we found ourselves yearning for more menial tasks and daily labor to do in a videogame, but when you're stuck on a desert island, boredom is as big a killer as the blazing sun and battering winds.
  21. It looks nice enough but clumsy controls, a boring ‘stocking up’ system that you’re forced in to and general repetitiveness put this squarely into the ‘coulda, woulda, shoulda’ category.
  22. I may not have agreed— or even enjoyed—many of the choices that were made and implemented in the final product, but I have to admit that I'd usually take a flawed, unusual experience like Lost in Blue over most of the inspiration-free stuff clogging shelves today.
  23. Perhaps I am just spoiled by the unpredictable plots on ABC’s, Lost, but I found no compelling reason to really finish this game.
  24. 60
    It frustrated the hell out of me, though I found that it never lost its intrigue, and it's because of my desire to keep exploring that ultimately kept me forging onward.
  25. That sense of creating security from the environment, of making home, of surviving, is enticing and exciting. But if only it would just give you the time to play it.
  26. The overall feeling I got after playing this title was “what could it have been”.
  27. If you're thinking of playing the hit series 'Lost' on the DS, you're sorely wrong, as the survival part here gets pretty boring very quickly.
  28. Heavily reliant on survival, Konami have stripped the game of fun and presented you with something that's too realistic for its own good.
  29. 50
    I usually give bonus points for original concepts, but Lost in Blue is just too flawed for that type of consideration, and doesn't come close to achieving its goal.
  30. Moves too quickly from one crisis to the next. It seems you're always on the verge of dying. I once went around the island picking all things edible.
  31. 40
    Game Over. And I couldn't be happier.
  32. Remember the 30 day time limit in the original Pikmin and how amazingly stressful that was? Well picture that and multiply it by five. I almost felt like I was baby sitting and not getting paid. Boring, frustrating gameplay that will leave you in tears of anger.

Awards & Rankings

32
32
#32 Most Discussed DS Game of 2005
27
#27 Most Shared DS Game of 2005
User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 21 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 21
  2. Negative: 2 out of 21
  1. JessicaK.
    Aug 20, 2006
    10
    I love this game. My sister siad she was going to buy it.
  2. JoeB.
    May 29, 2006
    10
    this game is AWSOME dont listen to anyone that says it is bad. shame on them.
  3. NoahF.
    Dec 31, 2005
    8
    fun, relaxing, slower paced game. you gotta think and plan. Great game for lazing around - excellent use of the DS options - definantly not fun, relaxing, slower paced game. you gotta think and plan. Great game for lazing around - excellent use of the DS options - definantly not for someone that only wants to play shooters and sports titles. Adventure gamers will enjoy. Full Review »