Mario & Luigi: Bowser's Inside Story DS

User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 187 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 13 out of 187

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. SnoozerBear
    Dec 13, 2009
    9
    Review: Mario & Luigi: Bowser
  2. Jan 19, 2011
    9
    I saw the reviews of this game and I saw they were excellent. Then I bought the game myself. It says on the back of the case "Most Hilarious Mario RPG" and I was a little nervous. But AlphaDream have handled the humour brilliantly. Although Fawful's gags may take a while to get used to, you'll soon get the gag and tune in. The gameplay is really good and it's so damn addictive. TheI saw the reviews of this game and I saw they were excellent. Then I bought the game myself. It says on the back of the case "Most Hilarious Mario RPG" and I was a little nervous. But AlphaDream have handled the humour brilliantly. Although Fawful's gags may take a while to get used to, you'll soon get the gag and tune in. The gameplay is really good and it's so damn addictive. The graphics may make your eyes vomit a little, but it's still very cartoony and nice. The whole RPG experience feels great and it almost never gets boring. Well, except for the levels where you're Mario and Luigi where you have to scatter about the place looking for something and it does take ages. Not only that, the combat should've been better and it does get hard in a bad way. Aside from those flaws, it's still a very great game. Have a DS? Don't have the game? I mean, come on. What are you doing? Expand
  3. May 26, 2011
    10
    Easily the best RPG I ever played (go cry, Final Fantasy! Not saying that it isn't good) I ever played, and the only game with a talking bean for an antagonist (alright, Superstar Saga had Fawful, too). This RPG has laugh-out-loud moments, a great story, excellent controls, and one of the best and most beautiful final boss themes ever.
  4. totlmstr
    Oct 6, 2009
    9
    I just finished this game a few days ago, and this is such a hilarious game. The first two hours and the final three hours (with some odd stuff in between) are by far the best moments in the game. Luigi just makes incredible amounts of nonsense (for example, he slaps himself to get out of a dizzy state), and his actions alone just ramps it up to ten. However, almost everything in between I just finished this game a few days ago, and this is such a hilarious game. The first two hours and the final three hours (with some odd stuff in between) are by far the best moments in the game. Luigi just makes incredible amounts of nonsense (for example, he slaps himself to get out of a dizzy state), and his actions alone just ramps it up to ten. However, almost everything in between the intro and end is usually in this order: go someplace, solve puzzles (sometimes a bit literally), fight a boss who normally gets a funny intro, and press forward. In a nutshell, that's pretty much it to the game. Be prepared to get a bit bored. On the other hand, there's the minigames that are spot on on using both screens or normally using just one. Each minigame has simple controls and very fun gameplay. For example, in order to get Bowser alive for a giant boss fight, you need to shoot energy balls that come in two colors. It may seem a bit overused, but it's perfect for the situation. Expand
  5. DanialC
    Oct 7, 2009
    10
    A great, funny, and entertaining game. The specials feel awesome to pull off and each boss battle is a real treat.
  6. FrankR
    Oct 11, 2009
    10
    An almost perfect game in my opinion. The only bad thing is the pollen minigame.
  7. JamieJ.
    Oct 20, 2009
    10
    Wow. I'm a first-timer to RPG's like this, but... wow. Best DS game of the year? I think so. It's a real shame then that not many people are taking much notice of it and passing it on as shovelware. =(
  8. WillC
    Oct 22, 2009
    9
    Easily the most intentive Mario RPG since Paper Mario 2. The writing is witty and sharp. The graphics are charming. The combat is fun. The music is memorable and while its not reinventing the Mario & Luigi formula its still great fun.
  9. Ssseth
    Oct 22, 2009
    8
    Rock solid Mario RPG'ing. The game had a little bit of a been here, done that feeling but that didn't make it any less fun. Hopefully they introduce some new game play elements in the next Mario RPG.
  10. VincentD
    Oct 31, 2009
    8
    Overall, an amazing triumph in the Mario and Luigi series. The game has done an astounding job of keeping the series as fresh as possible without sacrificing quality. However, there are some things I have to harp on. The story is great at times, however I did not find it to be laugh out loud hilarious. It's very Sunday Morning Cartoon humor rather than funny, and often times, Overall, an amazing triumph in the Mario and Luigi series. The game has done an astounding job of keeping the series as fresh as possible without sacrificing quality. However, there are some things I have to harp on. The story is great at times, however I did not find it to be laugh out loud hilarious. It's very Sunday Morning Cartoon humor rather than funny, and often times, you're mood while playing effects how much you enjoy the actually story. Also I did find that the game was being pretty ridiculous at times for the purpose of adding length to the game. *Spoiler Alert Waiting an hour to let Bower's back heal was pointless and awkwardly placed towards the later end of the game. As for gameplay, the game achieves perfection. The special attacks in this game are ridiculously awesome to both execute and perform. I personally love the art and graphics in this game and appreciated all the little touches in the character and enemy animation. It's definitely a keeper and one of the best DS games of this year and one of the best RPGs. Expand
  11. AnthonyS
    Dec 15, 2009
    10
    This is a great RPG. I highly recommend it to fans of the series, newcomers alike and people who just like fun. Complete whit Mario & Luigi's fake Italian, a living French stereotype block, Navi who's in disguise as some star thing(lulz), only not as annoying, and many funny moments as well as being a blast to play, and I loved the touch screen controls. Best of all, YOU GET TO This is a great RPG. I highly recommend it to fans of the series, newcomers alike and people who just like fun. Complete whit Mario & Luigi's fake Italian, a living French stereotype block, Navi who's in disguise as some star thing(lulz), only not as annoying, and many funny moments as well as being a blast to play, and I loved the touch screen controls. Best of all, YOU GET TO PLAY AS EFFING BOWSER!!! Expand
  12. Jan 7, 2011
    10
    Mario & Luigi: Bowser's Inside Story is a great game for the DS. The fact that it is an RPG that allows to create Mario, Luigi, and Bowser the way you feel like it makes it amazing.
  13. Feb 21, 2013
    10
    This game is what I would regard as "the ultimate Mario RPG". I'd recommend this to any gamer whether he/she played the Mario rpgs before, didn't play them or doesn't even know what a RPG is. It's that good. The villain in this game is Fawful, who may be the most memorable Mario villain ever with his engrish lines such as "A WINNER IS YOU" or "I HAVE CHORTLES!". Definitely do give this aThis game is what I would regard as "the ultimate Mario RPG". I'd recommend this to any gamer whether he/she played the Mario rpgs before, didn't play them or doesn't even know what a RPG is. It's that good. The villain in this game is Fawful, who may be the most memorable Mario villain ever with his engrish lines such as "A WINNER IS YOU" or "I HAVE CHORTLES!". Definitely do give this a try HIGHLY RECOMMENDED! Expand
  14. Mar 15, 2014
    9
    Mario and Luigi Bowser's Inside story is another Nintendo game done right. The combat system is accessible and fun. The gameplay is varied and the boss fights are great. This is also Nintendo's most humorous game.
  15. Jun 1, 2011
    10
    Bowser's Inside Story, to put it quite simply, is an AMAZING game. The plot is great, the concept is great, and the battles are great. And don't forget about Fawful. Fawful and his "I HAVE FURY!" quote are just hilarious. But what I feel is best about Bowser's Inside Story is the ability to play as Bowser! Half of the game is dedicated to his side of the story, and Mario and Luigi canBowser's Inside Story, to put it quite simply, is an AMAZING game. The plot is great, the concept is great, and the battles are great. And don't forget about Fawful. Fawful and his "I HAVE FURY!" quote are just hilarious. But what I feel is best about Bowser's Inside Story is the ability to play as Bowser! Half of the game is dedicated to his side of the story, and Mario and Luigi can help Bowser accomplish his goals from inside his own body! Then...he grows HUGE. That is EPIC. Controls are better than ever too. I love this game, and recommend it to anyone and everyone. Expand
  16. Jan 8, 2011
    8
    Although the game's battle system, story, music and engine in general is amazing, this game still fails in my opinion to capture the truly epic feel of its prequel Mario & Luigi: Superstar Saga for GBA. You can play as Mario and Luigi like the other two Mario & Luigi games in the series and as an added twist, Bowser as well which hasn't been done since Super Mario RPG: Legend of the SevenAlthough the game's battle system, story, music and engine in general is amazing, this game still fails in my opinion to capture the truly epic feel of its prequel Mario & Luigi: Superstar Saga for GBA. You can play as Mario and Luigi like the other two Mario & Luigi games in the series and as an added twist, Bowser as well which hasn't been done since Super Mario RPG: Legend of the Seven Stars back on the Super Nintendo Entertainment System. An interesting mechanic is while playing RPG battles as Bowser, you can sometimes use a special skill and then switch to battling the same enemies as the Mario & Luigi which can cause an interesting change in tactics. There are also special Godzilla-like special boss battles as Bowser also which make unique and interesting use of the microphone and touch screen. There are also boss challenges and minigames as well which are pretty fun as well. Expand
  17. RJV
    Aug 4, 2011
    10
    This is not like any Mario game you have ever played. There is a bit of platforming, but that is turned into a puzzle. It is almost like a Pokemon game, but you only have three characters: Mario, Luigi, and Bowser! The plot is actually semi developed in this game, and Bowser doesn't kidnap Peach this time. Instead he is tricked into inhaling her, as well as Mario + Luigi and the rest ofThis is not like any Mario game you have ever played. There is a bit of platforming, but that is turned into a puzzle. It is almost like a Pokemon game, but you only have three characters: Mario, Luigi, and Bowser! The plot is actually semi developed in this game, and Bowser doesn't kidnap Peach this time. Instead he is tricked into inhaling her, as well as Mario + Luigi and the rest of the mushroom kingdom, by Fawlful, the new bad guy, not really worth remembering him though. Inside Bowser's body the two Legendary plumbers try to find and rescue the princess, somewhere in Bowser's 2D innards. Meanwhile Bowser, wandering the Mushroom Kingdom, tries to take back his castle, which has been taken over by Fawful. You enter battle scenes as the plumbers or the Koopa King, and this is where it is similar to Pokemon. You will see the similarities almost immediately. A great game, but a little bit easy. Still,you won't beat every boss on your first time, and if you want to collect all the bonuses there will be plenty of replay after you beat the main story. Fantastic. Expand
  18. ShawnP
    Sep 20, 2009
    10
    This game is easily the best Mario RPG ever. Luigi is really funny, and so are Mario and Bowser surprisingly. Special moves are more like minigames and actually force you to do something so they are more powerful. Fighting as all 3 is really fun. The story is different from the usual save Peach story. Normal battles are never to easy or to hard. You never nail avoiding enemy moves all the This game is easily the best Mario RPG ever. Luigi is really funny, and so are Mario and Bowser surprisingly. Special moves are more like minigames and actually force you to do something so they are more powerful. Fighting as all 3 is really fun. The story is different from the usual save Peach story. Normal battles are never to easy or to hard. You never nail avoiding enemy moves all the time, which adds more challenge. Badges can actually help you in tough situations. If it wasnt for the unbalanced boss battles this game would be near perfect. Expand
  19. TimO
    Sep 27, 2009
    10
    The first Mario and Luigi RPG absolutely amazed me. After playing the 2nd, I was a bit disappointed, even though it was very good. After hearing about the release of a 3rd Mario and Luigi RPG I expected it to not live up to its predecessors, but I was wrong. Bowser's Inside Story may be the best game ever made for the Nintendo DS. A suberb and at times hilarious plot, exciting and The first Mario and Luigi RPG absolutely amazed me. After playing the 2nd, I was a bit disappointed, even though it was very good. After hearing about the release of a 3rd Mario and Luigi RPG I expected it to not live up to its predecessors, but I was wrong. Bowser's Inside Story may be the best game ever made for the Nintendo DS. A suberb and at times hilarious plot, exciting and intuitive battles, and fun puzzles that require you to utilize the abilities of all three charactors make Bowser's Inside Story soar over the first two Mario and Luigi RPGs and any other Nintendo game I have ever played. Expand
  20. Jan 18, 2011
    10
    I got it with mixed expectations but soon then, I got hooked, I've had it for 3 weeks and I can't stop playing it. The game is just awesome, my favorite DS game....ever..
  21. Oct 21, 2012
    8
    STORY: Slightly complex, but is easy to follow. It involves multiple Nintendo clichés such as a "Three Key Item" fetch quest. CHARACTERS: Fawful is a villain who's more lovable than anything. His "Engrish"(Impaired English) is cause for multiple hilarious moments. Bowser is still a childish brute and gets stuck in many awkward moments. Starlow a.k.a Chippy is a smart aleck who helpsSTORY: Slightly complex, but is easy to follow. It involves multiple Nintendo clichés such as a "Three Key Item" fetch quest. CHARACTERS: Fawful is a villain who's more lovable than anything. His "Engrish"(Impaired English) is cause for multiple hilarious moments. Bowser is still a childish brute and gets stuck in many awkward moments. Starlow a.k.a Chippy is a smart aleck who helps the bros. GAMEPLAY: This is the game's highlight. While playing as Bowser, you use the X and Y buttons to breath fire on all enemies or punch a single one with precise timing. He also has special attacks you can unlock by freeing his captured minions that use the touch screen. While playing as Mario & Luigi, it's all about the A and B buttons. You can either initiate a two part jump attack or a risky hammer strike(each hit a single enemy). Most of their special attacks are unlocked with the game's progression but there are two that are optional. There are also mini games for the bros that involve multiple gaming genres, such as Rhythm and 2D Shooter. MUSIC: There are more upbeat tracks in this game, like the main boss theme, but other great pieces like Dark Star Core. Not much of it is memorable, but it does fit the locations well.
    VISUALS: Aside from a few effects, EVERYTHING is done with pixels. For sprite animations, these are pretty damn well made and fun to look at.
    EXTRA CONTENT: Not much extra content to be found in the world itself. It's mainly focussed in the Globin Challenge Room for Mario & Luigi to either fight tougher versions of the bosses or test their skills with their special moves.
    FINAL ANALYSIS: I recommend this game to anyone. The story is admittedly weak, but the characters make up for it with great humor. Also, the gameplay is simple but addicting and the enemies all fight differently. This game makes use of the action commands in previous Mario RPGs, but better than ever. A 9.1 for an overall great game.
    Expand
  22. Feb 18, 2012
    9
    This game is like Super Mario RPG for the SNES on steroids. The quirky, humorous story is still there with plenty of funny dialogue, but the battles have taken a major turn from "hit A at the right time to hit harder" to "JUMP oh God now smack it with your hammer okay draw 7's on the screen aaghghgh!" If it sounds hectic, it's because it is. And it is SO MUCH FUN! You play as either MarioThis game is like Super Mario RPG for the SNES on steroids. The quirky, humorous story is still there with plenty of funny dialogue, but the battles have taken a major turn from "hit A at the right time to hit harder" to "JUMP oh God now smack it with your hammer okay draw 7's on the screen aaghghgh!" If it sounds hectic, it's because it is. And it is SO MUCH FUN! You play as either Mario and Luigi or as Bowser (which is the best part, everyone agrees) exploring the different areas and leveling up in your standard RPG way: buying new equipment, upping stats, etc. But as you do that, you'll also be digging up magic beans, trying to catch blitties (block kitties), and fighting your way through battle after battle where mastery of timing becomes the difference between finishing a battle with taking no damage and losing everything. And yet despite all this, the game has plenty of ways to make it friendly for beginners: you'll occasionally find "retry clocks" that let you start a battle from the beginning, it always makes sure to explain thoroughly any new special attack you learn with the opportunity to practice it, and the game is very generous with coins and exp won from battles so you're not forced to grind. Even my wife who primarily plays casual games had a lot of fun playing it all the way from start to finish. Definitely worth buying! Expand
  23. Aug 13, 2012
    10
    By far the most creative Mario & Luigi game in the series. With an immersive story, fun and addictive gameplay, and engaging battles of epic proportions, this game is a must play for any fan of Mario RPG's, or not. It's just a must play in general. Seriously this is amazing. And while you're at it, reading this, go ahead and get Superstar Saga, and maybe even Partners in Time. They are allBy far the most creative Mario & Luigi game in the series. With an immersive story, fun and addictive gameplay, and engaging battles of epic proportions, this game is a must play for any fan of Mario RPG's, or not. It's just a must play in general. Seriously this is amazing. And while you're at it, reading this, go ahead and get Superstar Saga, and maybe even Partners in Time. They are all bloody amazing. Expand
  24. Dec 14, 2012
    10
    Well, this is a PERFECTLY AWESOME game for Nintendo DS system. It was the best Mario & Luigi sequel! Not just that, this game serves a different story where Mario, Luigi, and Bowser save the Mushroom Kingdom and Bowser's Castle from evil. It MUST have and MUST be played!
  25. Dec 28, 2012
    10
    I am delighted with this installment of Mario and Luigi as it is an adventure game with different modes, has variety in terms of actions that you can perform. You depend on several characters in order to continue the game and solve the various puzzles that proposes, with a story that does not get bored anyone regardless of age, making the main enemy of the great series of Mario cooperateI am delighted with this installment of Mario and Luigi as it is an adventure game with different modes, has variety in terms of actions that you can perform. You depend on several characters in order to continue the game and solve the various puzzles that proposes, with a story that does not get bored anyone regardless of age, making the main enemy of the great series of Mario cooperate with their greatest enemies without this knowledge. The fact that you can enter and leave the body of Bowser's something that I really liked to go out and explore with Mario and Luigi the outside world, you can access inaccecibles places to Bowser. One of the best games of all time Expand
  26. Jan 11, 2013
    10
    This is one of the few instances that an RPG can be practically perfect, the other times being Golden Sun and Pokemon. The only things that I dislike about this game is the re-used sprites from the previous entries into the series for Mario and Luigi. Things to like- humour, music, final boss, story (seems more unique than most others), pickups, power ups, and mini games. Overall, 9.7/10
  27. Feb 1, 2013
    9
    This game was extremely well written and introduced some painfully genius and original gameplay elements coupled with the RPG factors. I loved it the whole way through. There is no valid reason why anyone who enjoys Mario games should pass this game up. Being able to play as both the Mario Bros. and Bowser was a nice twist and made the game that much more enjoyable. The game stays fun andThis game was extremely well written and introduced some painfully genius and original gameplay elements coupled with the RPG factors. I loved it the whole way through. There is no valid reason why anyone who enjoys Mario games should pass this game up. Being able to play as both the Mario Bros. and Bowser was a nice twist and made the game that much more enjoyable. The game stays fun and creative and you shouldn't find yourself being bored. At least, that's how it was for me. Alright, now onto the only negative I can think of... The game gives those great turn-based battles where you're able to dodge your enemy at every chance rather than just sit there and take damage, but dodging enemies requires trial-and-error learning, and some attacks are so wonky and unpredictable that they're extremely hard to dodge, but even then, you still build up a tolerance to it and eventually perfect your timing. It can be frustrating, but it doesn't damage the game at all. Overall, an excellent game that everyone should play. I'd give anything for a 4th Mario RPG game right now. Expand
  28. Jul 18, 2013
    10
    A pleasure to play. I loved the mechanics behind combat and items that were put in place in the first title in this series and am glad to see them make a full return in this light-hearted and enjoyable title.
  29. Aug 17, 2013
    10
    A little difficult puzzle-wize at times, and 2 of the giant battles were extremely hard (At least for me.) This game is obviously the best of series, the story is great, funny, but not as amazing at Partners in Time. My favorite part of the game was the return of Fawful! He steals the show in terms of comedy. All the characters introduced are very memorable are either cute or just awesome.A little difficult puzzle-wize at times, and 2 of the giant battles were extremely hard (At least for me.) This game is obviously the best of series, the story is great, funny, but not as amazing at Partners in Time. My favorite part of the game was the return of Fawful! He steals the show in terms of comedy. All the characters introduced are very memorable are either cute or just awesome. Probably the best RPG next to the 5th Gen Pokemon games. If you don't own this game, buy it or check into a mental facility. Expand
  30. Nov 6, 2013
    10
    The game is one of the best Mario games of 2009! What kind of game of that year could possibly overthrow this game and New Super Mario Bros. Wii? The music is amazing, the graphics are great, the dialogue is mostly humorous, and Bowser being playable is OUTSTANDING. The layout is great, the controls are cool, and the extra content is good enough for anyone. You want an amazing MarioThe game is one of the best Mario games of 2009! What kind of game of that year could possibly overthrow this game and New Super Mario Bros. Wii? The music is amazing, the graphics are great, the dialogue is mostly humorous, and Bowser being playable is OUTSTANDING. The layout is great, the controls are cool, and the extra content is good enough for anyone. You want an amazing Mario RPG? Get this for your DS! Expand
  31. PMG
    Jan 12, 2014
    9
    With the genius idea of Bowser as a character, the game gets more dynamic than the previous Mario RPG's. The battling mechanics are intact and it has a solid over-world. Plus, Fawful! A great addition to you DS.
  32. Apr 3, 2014
    10
    simply the best in the mario rpg series. always trying to keep itself fresh and interesting as you play, and succeeding! give it a try!
    ( the beggining is a little slow, as most rpgs )
    don't listen to those negative reviews, they're mostly people trying just to contradict popular opinion, really this is good!
  33. May 2, 2014
    10
    This game is nothing short of amazing. It has everything. Great game-play and immersion.

    The game-play is similar to the normal RPG. It's turn-based, has an item system, and really... Normal for the RPG play style. Definitely well done, though. It's fluid and smooth, the exploration is normal Mario platforming (but quite easy). This game is quite immersingfor several reasons. It has
    This game is nothing short of amazing. It has everything. Great game-play and immersion.

    The game-play is similar to the normal RPG. It's turn-based, has an item system, and really... Normal for the RPG play style. Definitely well done, though. It's fluid and smooth, the exploration is normal Mario platforming (but quite easy).

    This game is quite immersingfor several reasons. It has properly executed humor, it's story is spectacular (the final boss fight is so satisfying!), and the music is well composed.

    A 96/100. It deserves even more praise than it gets for it's style, characters, EVERYTHING. Except the game needs to be longer and more difficult. That's all the flaws it really has. A must-buy for any Mario fan.
    Expand
  34. Jun 22, 2014
    10
    Definitely the best Mario RPG out there, with awesome, challenging gameplay, a good storyline, and one of the best soundtracks I've ever heard in a Mario game. Great humor too.
    Personally, Fawful is one of my favorite video game antagonists~ along with Dimentio from SPM
  35. Jul 17, 2014
    8
    Integrating villian Bowser into the mix adds gameplay depth and novelty to the Bros' humorous mid-length quest. Reaction-based mechanics are a tall order, but this installment comes closer to the goal than its 3DS successor.
  36. Nov 26, 2014
    10
    Incredible RPG. Probably has the best gameplay of any RPG ever, considering there isn't a lot of luck and it is mostly skill since you have to time jumps and such, it also has amazing music. The final boss has incredible music and the boss itself is amazing. Also it has very memorable characters. Simply but this is a must buy for any Mario fan or RPG fan... if you're both... THIS WILL BEIncredible RPG. Probably has the best gameplay of any RPG ever, considering there isn't a lot of luck and it is mostly skill since you have to time jumps and such, it also has amazing music. The final boss has incredible music and the boss itself is amazing. Also it has very memorable characters. Simply but this is a must buy for any Mario fan or RPG fan... if you're both... THIS WILL BE AN AMAZING EXPERIENCE. This may as well be Bowser's own game, most of the time you will be playing as Bowser in this game. Also don't get me started how epic the giant battles are. Expand
  37. Apr 7, 2015
    10
    This is one of the first RPGs I've ever played and this is easily my favorite of them all. With this being the third instalment in the Mario & Luigi series this does not disappoint. The dialogue is hilarious as ever with plenty of memorable characters. The gameplay is fantastic too and it's very different from your usual RPG. Most of these games have teams take turns in battles with eachThis is one of the first RPGs I've ever played and this is easily my favorite of them all. With this being the third instalment in the Mario & Luigi series this does not disappoint. The dialogue is hilarious as ever with plenty of memorable characters. The gameplay is fantastic too and it's very different from your usual RPG. Most of these games have teams take turns in battles with each side dealing damage automatically with random effects. In this series you have to time your button presses for dealing maximum damage and taking minimal damage. This really changes the gameplay with relying on raw skill instead of the random elements in usual RPGs. Also, no random encounters. THANK GOD. My personal favorite part about this game is how they present Bowser. His combat system is very intuitive and fun, his pixel art is very smooth, and he becomes an overpowered tyrant of destruction! He does a lot of crazy stuff in this game too, like pulling an island with a single strand of rope, pushing a boat by friggin' sneezing, and growing to sizes that Godzilla would be jealous of. His dialogue is pure comedy gold and can even compete with Fawful's quirky personality. This game is absolutely fantastic! If you love the Mario franchise as a hole and just getting into RPGs, I would highly recommend this game! Expand
  38. May 28, 2015
    9
    Recently replaying this game before I start on the 3DS sequel. This is an essential addition to your collection, and an absolute must-play.

    For those unfamiliar with the series, you will do perfectly well to jump in here. You don't need former series knowledge - although some story elements hark back to the earlier games, you will be able to enjoy this without playing the first two.
    Recently replaying this game before I start on the 3DS sequel. This is an essential addition to your collection, and an absolute must-play.

    For those unfamiliar with the series, you will do perfectly well to jump in here. You don't need former series knowledge - although some story elements hark back to the earlier games, you will be able to enjoy this without playing the first two. But you SHOULD play them ALL!

    Bowser's Inside Story often breaks the forth wall, riffing on the strained relationships between various characters in the Mushroom Kingdom. Particularly amusing is the sidelining of Luigi - often referred to as "the green mustachioed one" or similarly dismissive names.

    As suggested by the title, you will spend a lot of time inside of Bowser's body, as Mario and Luigi. Bowser stomps around the world map, while M&L must visit various power centres of Bowser's insides and complete mini games to, for example, increase Bowser's muscle mass, or otherwise aid him in overcoming obstacles. This mechanic also comes into play during battles - Bowser can inhale some enemies, shrinking them down and taking them into his body and brining M&L into the fight. This is a great way to ensure that all three controllable characters can level up consistently.

    The story is great, with a funny script and interesting twists and turns. Really the only weak point of this game is the linearity and repetitive nature of the mini games. This is really a trait of the entire series, which might be labelled as "RPG-lite", so if you want something hardcore and intense look elsewhere. If you want fun, laughter, and a great cast then you've found your game.

    Pick up the first two (the first is on GBA, the second on DS like Inside Story), they are all very good games.
    Expand
  39. May 30, 2015
    9
    AlphaDream once again delivers a solid, entertaining, and enjoyable experience in the form of Bowser's Inside Story. Mario and Luigi must go into Bowser's body (not as gross as it sounds, don't worry) and tell Bowser what to do as you take control of the Koopa King to defeat the famous Fawful from Superstar Saga. The puns are real in this one!

    You'll be fighting a lot in this game so
    AlphaDream once again delivers a solid, entertaining, and enjoyable experience in the form of Bowser's Inside Story. Mario and Luigi must go into Bowser's body (not as gross as it sounds, don't worry) and tell Bowser what to do as you take control of the Koopa King to defeat the famous Fawful from Superstar Saga. The puns are real in this one!

    You'll be fighting a lot in this game so it's a good thing that the combat is probably some of the best I've ever seen. The items system as well as the special attacks are easy enough to do while still somehow remaining in-depth and effective.

    The plot takes many turns, the characters are unique, the dialogue is hilarious, and Bowser's Inside Story is amazing.
    Expand
  40. Jun 23, 2015
    10
    I played this game on my Nintendo DS, and I loved it: I love the story, the bosses, the attacks, the musics.
    I think that it is the best RPG game that I've ever played.
  41. Aug 20, 2015
    10
    This game is AMAZING probably the best mario rpg EVER and one of my favourite games! Its at the same quality as the classic super mario RPG.You must buy it for your ds even for your 3DS
Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 58 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 58 out of 58
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 58
  3. Negative: 0 out of 58
  1. Fans who loved the first two games shouldn't hesitate in picking up Bowser's Inside Story. It features everything that makes the series enjoyable and adds onto it everything but the kitchen sink. Despite a few minor flaws, it's a game that features an ingenious game design synonymous with Nintendo games and is easily one of the best DS games of the year.
  2. The bottom line on Mario & Luigi: Bowser's Inside Story is that it's one of those games that every DS owner should buy, period. Regardless of your feelings about RPGs, the title is just so entertaining and well-executed that you're nearly guaranteed to love it.
  3. The freshest, most vital RPG on the DS for ages. You'd be daft to pass it up. [Nov 2009, p.76]