User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 140 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 12 out of 140

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 1, 2011
    10
    Bowser's Inside Story, to put it quite simply, is an AMAZING game. The plot is great, the concept is great, and the battles are great. And don't forget about Fawful. Fawful and his "I HAVE FURY!" quote are just hilarious. But what I feel is best about Bowser's Inside Story is the ability to play as Bowser! Half of the game is dedicated to his side of the story, and Mario and Luigi can help Bowser accomplish his goals from inside his own body! Then...he grows HUGE. That is EPIC. Controls are better than ever too. I love this game, and recommend it to anyone and everyone. Expand
  2. RJV
    Aug 4, 2011
    10
    This is not like any Mario game you have ever played. There is a bit of platforming, but that is turned into a puzzle. It is almost like a Pokemon game, but you only have three characters: Mario, Luigi, and Bowser! The plot is actually semi developed in this game, and Bowser doesn't kidnap Peach this time. Instead he is tricked into inhaling her, as well as Mario + Luigi and the rest of the mushroom kingdom, by Fawlful, the new bad guy, not really worth remembering him though. Inside Bowser's body the two Legendary plumbers try to find and rescue the princess, somewhere in Bowser's 2D innards. Meanwhile Bowser, wandering the Mushroom Kingdom, tries to take back his castle, which has been taken over by Fawful. You enter battle scenes as the plumbers or the Koopa King, and this is where it is similar to Pokemon. You will see the similarities almost immediately. A great game, but a little bit easy. Still,you won't beat every boss on your first time, and if you want to collect all the bonuses there will be plenty of replay after you beat the main story. Fantastic. Expand
  3. Jan 19, 2011
    9
    I saw the reviews of this game and I saw they were excellent. Then I bought the game myself. It says on the back of the case "Most Hilarious Mario RPG" and I was a little nervous. But AlphaDream have handled the humour brilliantly. Although Fawful's gags may take a while to get used to, you'll soon get the gag and tune in. The gameplay is really good and it's so damn addictive. The graphics may make your eyes vomit a little, but it's still very cartoony and nice. The whole RPG experience feels great and it almost never gets boring. Well, except for the levels where you're Mario and Luigi where you have to scatter about the place looking for something and it does take ages. Not only that, the combat should've been better and it does get hard in a bad way. Aside from those flaws, it's still a very great game. Have a DS? Don't have the game? I mean, come on. What are you doing? Expand
  4. Jan 7, 2011
    10
    Mario & Luigi: Bowser's Inside Story is a great game for the DS. The fact that it is an RPG that allows to create Mario, Luigi, and Bowser the way you feel like it makes it amazing.
  5. May 26, 2011
    10
    Easily the best RPG I ever played (go cry, Final Fantasy! Not saying that it isn't good) I ever played, and the only game with a talking bean for an antagonist (alright, Superstar Saga had Fawful, too). This RPG has laugh-out-loud moments, a great story, excellent controls, and one of the best and most beautiful final boss themes ever.
  6. Feb 21, 2013
    10
    This game is what I would regard as "the ultimate Mario RPG". I'd recommend this to any gamer whether he/she played the Mario rpgs before, didn't play them or doesn't even know what a RPG is. It's that good. The villain in this game is Fawful, who may be the most memorable Mario villain ever with his engrish lines such as "A WINNER IS YOU" or "I HAVE CHORTLES!". Definitely do give this a try HIGHLY RECOMMENDED! Collapse
  7. Jan 18, 2011
    10
    I got it with mixed expectations but soon then, I got hooked, I've had it for 3 weeks and I can't stop playing it. The game is just awesome, my favorite DS game....ever..
  8. Feb 1, 2013
    9
    This game was extremely well written and introduced some painfully genius and original gameplay elements coupled with the RPG factors. I loved it the whole way through. There is no valid reason why anyone who enjoys Mario games should pass this game up. Being able to play as both the Mario Bros. and Bowser was a nice twist and made the game that much more enjoyable. The game stays fun and creative and you shouldn't find yourself being bored. At least, that's how it was for me. Alright, now onto the only negative I can think of... The game gives those great turn-based battles where you're able to dodge your enemy at every chance rather than just sit there and take damage, but dodging enemies requires trial-and-error learning, and some attacks are so wonky and unpredictable that they're extremely hard to dodge, but even then, you still build up a tolerance to it and eventually perfect your timing. It can be frustrating, but it doesn't damage the game at all. Overall, an excellent game that everyone should play. I'd give anything for a 4th Mario RPG game right now. Expand
  9. Feb 18, 2012
    9
    This game is like Super Mario RPG for the SNES on steroids. The quirky, humorous story is still there with plenty of funny dialogue, but the battles have taken a major turn from "hit A at the right time to hit harder" to "JUMP oh God now smack it with your hammer okay draw 7's on the screen aaghghgh!" If it sounds hectic, it's because it is. And it is SO MUCH FUN! You play as either Mario and Luigi or as Bowser (which is the best part, everyone agrees) exploring the different areas and leveling up in your standard RPG way: buying new equipment, upping stats, etc. But as you do that, you'll also be digging up magic beans, trying to catch blitties (block kitties), and fighting your way through battle after battle where mastery of timing becomes the difference between finishing a battle with taking no damage and losing everything. And yet despite all this, the game has plenty of ways to make it friendly for beginners: you'll occasionally find "retry clocks" that let you start a battle from the beginning, it always makes sure to explain thoroughly any new special attack you learn with the opportunity to practice it, and the game is very generous with coins and exp won from battles so you're not forced to grind. Even my wife who primarily plays casual games had a lot of fun playing it all the way from start to finish. Definitely worth buying! Expand
  10. Aug 17, 2013
    10
    A little difficult puzzle-wize at times, and 2 of the giant battles were extremely hard (At least for me.) This game is obviously the best of series, the story is great, funny, but not as amazing at Partners in Time. My favorite part of the game was the return of Fawful! He steals the show in terms of comedy. All the characters introduced are very memorable are either cute or just awesome. Probably the best RPG next to the 5th Gen Pokemon games. If you don't own this game, buy it or check into a mental facility. Expand
  11. Aug 13, 2012
    10
    By far the most creative Mario & Luigi game in the series. With an immersive story, fun and addictive gameplay, and engaging battles of epic proportions, this game is a must play for any fan of Mario RPG's, or not. It's just a must play in general. Seriously this is amazing. And while you're at it, reading this, go ahead and get Superstar Saga, and maybe even Partners in Time. They are all bloody amazing. Expand
  12. Dec 28, 2012
    10
    I am delighted with this installment of Mario and Luigi as it is an adventure game with different modes, has variety in terms of actions that you can perform. You depend on several characters in order to continue the game and solve the various puzzles that proposes, with a story that does not get bored anyone regardless of age, making the main enemy of the great series of Mario cooperate with their greatest enemies without this knowledge. The fact that you can enter and leave the body of Bowser's something that I really liked to go out and explore with Mario and Luigi the outside world, you can access inaccecibles places to Bowser. One of the best games of all time Expand
  13. Dec 14, 2012
    10
    Well, this is a PERFECTLY AWESOME game for Nintendo DS system. It was the best Mario & Luigi sequel! Not just that, this game serves a different story where Mario, Luigi, and Bowser save the Mushroom Kingdom and Bowser's Castle from evil. It MUST have and MUST be played!
  14. Jan 11, 2013
    10
    This is one of the few instances that an RPG can be practically perfect, the other times being Golden Sun and Pokemon. The only things that I dislike about this game is the re-used sprites from the previous entries into the series for Mario and Luigi. Things to like- humour, music, final boss, story (seems more unique than most others), pickups, power ups, and mini games. Overall, 9.7/10
  15. Jul 18, 2013
    10
    A pleasure to play. I loved the mechanics behind combat and items that were put in place in the first title in this series and am glad to see them make a full return in this light-hearted and enjoyable title.
  16. Mar 15, 2014
    9
    Mario and Luigi Bowser's Inside story is another Nintendo game done right. The combat system is accessible and fun. The gameplay is varied and the boss fights are great. This is also Nintendo's most humorous game.
  17. Nov 6, 2013
    10
    The game is one of the best Mario games of 2009! What kind of game of that year could possibly overthrow this game and New Super Mario Bros. Wii? The music is amazing, the graphics are great, the dialogue is mostly humorous, and Bowser being playable is OUTSTANDING. The layout is great, the controls are cool, and the extra content is good enough for anyone. You want an amazing Mario RPG? Get this for your DS! Expand
  18. PMG
    Jan 12, 2014
    9
    With the genius idea of Bowser as a character, the game gets more dynamic than the previous Mario RPG's. The battling mechanics are intact and it has a solid over-world. Plus, Fawful! A great addition to you DS.
  19. Apr 3, 2014
    10
    simply the best in the mario rpg series. always trying to keep itself fresh and interesting as you play, and succeeding! give it a try!
    ( the beggining is a little slow, as most rpgs )
    don't listen to those negative reviews, they're mostly people trying just to contradict popular opinion, really this is good!
  20. Feb 21, 2013
    0
    This game is what I would regard as "the ultimate Mario RPG". I'd recommend this to any gamer whether he/she played the Mario rpgs before, didn't play them or doesn't even know what a RPG is. It's that good. The villain in this game is Fawful, who may be the most memorable Mario villain ever with his engrish lines such as "A WINNER IS YOU" or "I HAVE CHORTLES!". Definitely do give this a try HIGHLY RECOMMENDED! Collapse
Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 58 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 58 out of 58
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 58
  3. Negative: 0 out of 58
  1. Fans who loved the first two games shouldn't hesitate in picking up Bowser's Inside Story. It features everything that makes the series enjoyable and adds onto it everything but the kitchen sink. Despite a few minor flaws, it's a game that features an ingenious game design synonymous with Nintendo games and is easily one of the best DS games of the year.
  2. The bottom line on Mario & Luigi: Bowser's Inside Story is that it's one of those games that every DS owner should buy, period. Regardless of your feelings about RPGs, the title is just so entertaining and well-executed that you're nearly guaranteed to love it.
  3. The freshest, most vital RPG on the DS for ages. You'd be daft to pass it up. [Nov 2009, p.76]