Mario Party DS DS

Mario Party DS Image
Metascore
72

Mixed or average reviews - based on 27 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 93 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: You'd think years of defeat would get to a guy, but Bowser just doesn't give up! He's captured Mario and his friends in his pursuit of a crystal that the group collected when it fell from the sky, and he doesn't hesitate to shrink them to miniature size to get rid of them and get his handsYou'd think years of defeat would get to a guy, but Bowser just doesn't give up! He's captured Mario and his friends in his pursuit of a crystal that the group collected when it fell from the sky, and he doesn't hesitate to shrink them to miniature size to get rid of them and get his hands on the other four crystals. The mini-heroes have to find the crystals before he does, making their way through giant environments filled with enormous creatures. The single-player campaign takes place in five different settings, each of them ending with a boss. As usual, players have to collect coins and stars, at the same time escaping dangers such as Piranha Plants and other classic creatures from the Mario universe. As they progress through the game, players also can unlock various mini-games, such as Rail Riders, Sweet Sleuth and Goomba Wrangler! When players are tired of exploring the story mode, they can choose one of the other modes, like Puzzle and Minigame. Play with up to four friends on the DS' local Wi-Fi and let the party begin. [Nintendo] Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 27
  2. Negative: 1 out of 27
  1. The board game is still essentially a dice powered foot race. The boss fights were a step in the right direction, but the rules of the game itself need to be refreshed. However for what it is it's great.
  2. 80
    Its wide variety of game modes and options lets you create a multiplayer gaming experience to suit any time frame, and the huge number of mini-games sets a very high, very consumer-friendly bar.
  3. Best of all, the developers have made it so that you need only a single cartridge to get a party going with as many as four people.
  4. 75
    Mario Party DS is actually a pretty good Mario Party installment, but it's ultimately meant for gamers who regularly get together with their friends for some DS gaming.
  5. 70
    A solid multiplayer mini-game experience with a lot of the flaws of the previous versions. It doesn't do anything truly special than create a bunch of touch screen and microphone-centric minigames (and even then we've seen variations of them in other DS titles), but it at least comes together as a better title than the last console Mario Party design.
  6. Maxi Consolas (Portugal)
    70
    The stylus might offer some new dynamic to these mini-games, but that doesn’t stop them from being repetitive when played solo. This makes playing with your friend a mandatory condition to enjoy it. [Jan 2008]
  7. If you're one of those who has enjoyed the series on console, you'll enjoy it on DS. Otherwise, steer clear.

See all 27 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 31
  2. Negative: 3 out of 31
  1. Nov 18, 2013
    10
    An all-time classic brought back for a handheld. It was the best idea ever! The story, mini games, extra modes, etc. were all brought into aAn all-time classic brought back for a handheld. It was the best idea ever! The story, mini games, extra modes, etc. were all brought into a great mix of party! Expand
  2. Jul 15, 2016
    10
    Mario Party DS has fun and challenging minigames that will keep you playing. Sometimes it can be TO hard but it does remind me of the N64 andMario Party DS has fun and challenging minigames that will keep you playing. Sometimes it can be TO hard but it does remind me of the N64 and GC Mario Party games. Expand
  3. Jan 20, 2012
    10
    The mini games where addicting and I just love playing as toad. Playing it like monopoly is cool. Thumbs up for Nintendo. The graphics are soThe mini games where addicting and I just love playing as toad. Playing it like monopoly is cool. Thumbs up for Nintendo. The graphics are so lovely. The music is soothing. Expand
  4. Apr 9, 2017
    8
    This is a Mario Party title that delivers on every aspect. It has a lot of different modes, boards to play in, and a of course, minigames. 73This is a Mario Party title that delivers on every aspect. It has a lot of different modes, boards to play in, and a of course, minigames. 73 of them to be specific. Most of the minigames are fun and well done, and many of them take advantage of the DS' touch capabilitiy. But be warned, this is definitely one of those screen-ruining games. Don't get too excited with that Rail Riders minigame like I did.

    As some of the minigames are score-based, it's always fun to try to break your own records (or a freind's). Another thing I really enjoyed in this Mario Party is the gallery mode. There you can view statues and emblems of characters, enemies, bosses, and many other objects from the game. The criteria for unlocking them is very varied. Unlocking new things in the gallery is something that kept me playing this game for a long time.

    Mario Party DS is a really fun game. So much so, that I would even recommend it for single player only. Obviously the multiplayer adds a lot to the experience, but I definitely had a great time playing it on my own. To me, it's simply one of the best DS titles out there, and I can't understand why it is so underrated here.

    Score: 8.5
    Expand
  5. Apr 5, 2015
    7
    Ths game is okay. There are many better but it is worth playing. The Character Selection is okay. The Boards are awesome. Bowser's Pinball isThs game is okay. There are many better but it is worth playing. The Character Selection is okay. The Boards are awesome. Bowser's Pinball is my favourite. The story is fine. The graphics are good for the DS. Mario Party DS is a good MP game but not the best, but it is worth buying. This is also my first DS game. Expand
  6. May 12, 2015
    7
    I bought this in 2014 and it's a pretty solid game for its time. I had so much fun playing this but I wish there were more options in theI bought this in 2014 and it's a pretty solid game for its time. I had so much fun playing this but I wish there were more options in the game, overall, 7 out of 10 Expand
  7. May 20, 2014
    2
    The game is kind of boring, the graphics aren't that good, the story is extremely repetitive, the minigames are unoriginal, and the BossThe game is kind of boring, the graphics aren't that good, the story is extremely repetitive, the minigames are unoriginal, and the Boss Minigames are hard, except for the second and third ones. Expand

See all 31 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Ranked: Mario and Super Mario Games

    Ranked: Mario and Super Mario Games Image
    Published: May 20, 2010
    This weekend, Nintendo releases Mario's latest adventure, "Super Mario Galaxy 2" (Wii). It seems like the perfect time to explore the history of the Mario series, and rank the previous titles from best to worst.

Awards & Rankings

48
6
#6 Most Discussed DS Game of 2007
16
#16 Most Shared DS Game of 2007