Meteos Image
Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 49 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 158 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: "Rez" creator Tetsuya Mizuguchi brings us Meteos - a curious blend of block-dropping puzzle action with other gameplay elements with the goal to launch all of one's blocks into orbit.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 49 out of 49
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 49
  3. Negative: 0 out of 49
  1. With solo modes consisting of time trials, endurance tests or battles against virtual players, and wickedly competitive multiplayer games, Meteos is the most compellingly perfect puzzler we've played in years. [NGC Pocket]
  2. 95
    The originality is a key factor to what makes it so great. Meteos is the killer app for the DS.
  3. Meteos is without a doubt, THE puzzle game to own for the Nintendo DS. It's unique, can only be done this way using the touch screen, is a fantastic presentation for the graphics and audio, and a full, exciting game can be played with just a few minutes to spare.
  4. Tetris re-visited for the 100th time, but this time it is worth it. Fast and furious rain of little cubes drown you before you notice and it drives you mad - and makes you play the game over and over and over again. [Nov 2005]
  5. It turns out that randomly scrubbing the screen with your stylus in moments of panic may inadvertently link things up and get you out of a tight spot. It's divided opinion of the game, with a lot of people holding off giving it top marks because they see scrubbing as a fundamental flaw.
  6. Though it doesn’t quite match the intricate strategies of Lumines, it isn’t supposed to. Meteos manages to be interesting and engaging without feeling like just another Tetris clone. Not bad for a new drug.
  7. Perfect for a hand-held, Meteos provides an engaging challenge even during brief sessions.

See all 49 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 57 out of 77
  2. Negative: 17 out of 77
  1. Jack
    Jan 26, 2009
    10
    I cannot recommend this game enough. An amazingly clever puzzler that has a great range of skill. The card is crammed with levels and I cannot recommend this game enough. An amazingly clever puzzler that has a great range of skill. The card is crammed with levels and features that will take you years to get everything! Even if you have done everything, you still wont put it down. I have had this game forever, And I still haven't gotten bored. The graphics are nice and smooth, and the open sequence graphics are the best DS graphics I have seen. The music is awesome, as the mood of the music goes to whats happening in the game itself. 42 different planets all give a different feel. Some, everything goes slower, some, the gravity is super strong! Or non existent! Buy it. NOW. My 2nd favorite DS game. MUST. HAVE. Expand
  2. ChrisS.
    Aug 1, 2005
    10
    I have played a lot of DS games and this is one of the best. This is definately my favorite, because I enjoy tetris very much, and it's I have played a lot of DS games and this is one of the best. This is definately my favorite, because I enjoy tetris very much, and it's 100 times more fun than tetris. The graphics and sound are also enjoyable. Expand
  3. Ombre
    Jun 24, 2005
    10
    Worth every penny. If you like puzzle games, and/or you own a DS, pick this title up as soon as you can. The control scheme is only bad if Worth every penny. If you like puzzle games, and/or you own a DS, pick this title up as soon as you can. The control scheme is only bad if you're too simple-minded to comprehend it. Collapse
  4. RyanB.
    Jun 18, 2006
    10
    A great game to buy if you are into Tetris or if you are not. The graphics are decent but the whole concept of this game is exellent. A A great game to buy if you are into Tetris or if you are not. The graphics are decent but the whole concept of this game is exellent. A puzzle game mixed with a plot could easily have been cheezy but Meteos pulls it off easily with addictive gameplay; a variety of different modes are available to play and a key feature that has made this game more enjoyable then tetris for me; reward! The 'reward' is a much used strategy to addict people to games but I rarely see it used in the puzzle genre. The 'reward' in Meteos takes form by us (the player) being able to use Metos as a currency to 'fuse' new planets, items and sounds. Those who say that they were bored in 15 minuted have clearly not bothered to try and play the game properly since Meteos is a never ending experience filled with variation and originality. The scribble 'cheat' is a foolish reason to put the game down since it's simply a matter of luck whether or not the player manages to align three meteos by randomly moving their stylus around. Expand
  5. AnonymousMC
    Jul 4, 2006
    9
    This is easily one of the best puzzlers ever. I know a lot of people who say this game is bad. Don't believe them. They are probably justThis is easily one of the best puzzlers ever. I know a lot of people who say this game is bad. Don't believe them. They are probably just those types of gamers who are only into the hardcore stuff (addicts, if you will) but this game is very fun and addictive! Its a very creative puzzler with loads of innovation, and I was seriously hooked on this game for months! It's my personal favorite DS game! Expand
  6. Joeking
    Apr 19, 2007
    7
    Wildly entertaining for a few hours... until you realize that there really isn't much strategy in it at all. It gets to a point where Wildly entertaining for a few hours... until you realize that there really isn't much strategy in it at all. It gets to a point where all that matters is how quickly you can wave your stylus around to get lucky. Fun, but limited. Expand
  7. DSLover
    May 8, 2005
    0
    With flawed puzzle action, and a bizzare control scheme, the only thing I like about this game is turning it off. I love the DS's With flawed puzzle action, and a bizzare control scheme, the only thing I like about this game is turning it off. I love the DS's originality, but this game does not do a good job of expressing it. Stay away! Expand

See all 77 User Reviews