Nanostray DS

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 19 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 19
  2. Negative: 2 out of 19
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. MihailoD.
    Oct 1, 2005
    10
    Amazing vertical scrolling shooter for DS! Technically brilliant. Graphics and music are outstanding. Replay value is amazing: three adventure modes, dozens of challenges and, of course, the arcade mode where you get hashcodes of your results so you can post them online and see how do you rank among the best players in the world. Absolutely recommended!
  2. FrankD.
    Jul 22, 2005
    10
    Best DS gamer ever! A must-have! Excellent graphics, fun gameplay, multiplayer.
  3. ZethrinH.
    Nov 20, 2005
    10
    It was a vary intresting Game I found it a littul short in the achual amont of lvls and some of Chalenges seem a bit donting (hard or inposabule to reach) and I don't fully understand what the pic galery is for. But with all of that was valry in joy abule game. the music is vary nice and the graphics are very, very well done and replay ofers all lot in challenges and arcade plus you It was a vary intresting Game I found it a littul short in the achual amont of lvls and some of Chalenges seem a bit donting (hard or inposabule to reach) and I don't fully understand what the pic galery is for. But with all of that was valry in joy abule game. the music is vary nice and the graphics are very, very well done and replay ofers all lot in challenges and arcade plus you can get hashcodes to compare your score with people all over the world. Expand
  4. DanH.
    Jul 19, 2005
    10
    One of the best DS games ever. Excellent visuals, controls, and gameplay. There's co-op, and you can post your highscore on the internet. Nice to see some decent games coming to DS.
  5. JamesA.
    Jul 21, 2005
    10
    Sweet Sweetness! This is a great game that looks amazing too! Those who think the DS is incapable of quality 3D need to enjoy a tall glass of Nanostray and shut up!
  6. KevinT.
    Jul 19, 2005
    10
    I really enjoyed this game. But I have always liked top down shoot-em-up's a lot, Like Ikaruga and Radient Silvergun, so I am bias. But if you like this type nof game, Nanostray willl not disappoint.
  7. RobS.
    Jul 24, 2005
    9
    This is the ds shooter weve been waiting for,lush visuals,super addictive gameplay and a real challenge.Anyone one who doubts the ability of the ds should take a look at this AWESOME.
  8. AeroP.
    Aug 11, 2005
    7
    Nanostray is a good shooter, but the controls are what lower it's score. It would have been so nice to assign a button to switch between weapons. Unfortunately it forces you to use your left hand to keep the fire button down while using your right hand entirely to select the various weapons. Other than that, the game is fun. My other complaint is that it is too short. However, it was Nanostray is a good shooter, but the controls are what lower it's score. It would have been so nice to assign a button to switch between weapons. Unfortunately it forces you to use your left hand to keep the fire button down while using your right hand entirely to select the various weapons. Other than that, the game is fun. My other complaint is that it is too short. However, it was JUST starting to get repetitive, so I'm kind of glad it ended when it did. Otherwise, the graphics are great, and the shooter style game play is fun. Another thing to look out for is that the bosses can be really easy as long as you use all the bombs right away. The key to this game is not to set your expectations too high. If you do that, then you will enjoy this game for what it has to offer. Expand
  9. Huker
    Sep 22, 2005
    8
    Granted it's not the BEST shooter you will play, but unlike Gamespy's comments who obviously didn't play the game for more than 2 minutes, it really is a fun shooter with HUGE replay value. Graphics are nice, no slowdown good use of the DS in total. If u like Ikaruga or similar games, you'll love this!!!
  10. Dec 9, 2014
    7
    i'm giving it a 7/10, but it's more a 6.5. there's a lot to like about this game--------amazing graphics for its generation, lots of action...but its replay value is sparse. you can finish the main mode within a few hours, even if it's a bit difficult. after that, there are "challenges" you can do, but i found them so frustrating that i just gave up.

Awards & Rankings

#27 Most Discussed DS Game of 2005
Metascore
71

Mixed or average reviews - based on 43 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 43
  2. Negative: 0 out of 43
  1. 65
    The mere existence of this game means that there are people out there with their hearts in the right place...which makes the end results all the more heartbreaking.
  2. 80
    What this game does, however is give the Nintendo DS library a real kick in the pants with an energetic production, fast-paced action, and some extremely challenging elements that will keep you going for some time.
  3. Underneath Nanostray's excellent presentation is a game that's not nearly as good as its sources of inspiration. A weak multiplayer mode, repetitive level design (even for a shoot-'em-up), and limited replay value put Nanostray squarely in the "almost, but not quite" category.