User Score
9.3

Universal acclaim- based on 71 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 69 out of 71
  2. Negative: 1 out of 71

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 16, 2014
    10
    AA:PW was great, AA:JFA was quite inferior but still good.

    AA:TAT is just as superior to AA:PW as AA:JFA was inferior to it. A glorious story with possibly the least wrong plot devices I've ever seen, immense plot twists and surprises, emotional characters of all kinds, a gameplay easily as good as the first one if not even better, and just about every single last thing you would've
    expected from an Ace Attorney game.

    Sure the replayability is still pretty much null, and although there has been a bit of progress from the past AA games in terms of diverse pathways to use(sometimes you can use different items for the same question and it does lead to a tiny bit of a different response from the prosecutor or judge), you still go through the same story. And in this story just like the last one, Maya is a Damsel in Distress and I just don't see her as the type of character to fit that role. But these minor quibbles don't even harm Trials and Tribulations, as this game constantly amazes with every plot twist and every story thread coming together to create this intricate and beautiful tapestry of drama, fun, sadness, comedy, and thinking that does its mix just about perfectly. I'd give it 95/100 but I can't so it'll be 10.

    By far the one that gave me the most feelings and memories of the whole series, with a complexity that still stuns me with how every plot twist worked, was surprising, and just gave another layer of depth to everything...
    Expand
  2. Mar 13, 2014
    10
    What everybody said below is true. This game is FAN TASTIC!
    So many moments that will bewilder you, touch you, make you smile and enroll you!
    Trials and tribulations is perhaps the greatest game I've ever played in the series.
    It's the 3rd in the series so playing the previous games REALLY adds to this one. Just like any saga, but Phoenix Wright is just something more. I highly
    recommend this series as one of my quickly to be, personal favourites. Expand
  3. Feb 20, 2014
    10
    After watching Ace Attorney Justice for All on youtube I decided to get this game and it was great, fun story and very entertaining. Definitely a must play.
  4. Feb 17, 2014
    10
    Music especially was well done, All the cases had interesting twists. Case #5 makes this game. If you like Phoenix's other two games you will love this one for sure, as the story-lines tie up nicely in one case. I don't cry often but this game hit great areas with strong emotions all though-out this game. Must Buy.
  5. Aug 17, 2013
    10
    The best of the trilogy, and it's worth playing through them just for this.
    It pains me when I realize there won't be another Ace Attorney game as good as this one.
  6. May 7, 2013
    10
    The original Phoenix Wright trilogy is amazing. this game is by far the best in the trilogy, Hell it's the best in the whole series. The story is amazing. The characters are all memorable and hilarious. And while the soundtrack is weak compared to the first 2 games soundtracks it is still a really good soundtrack. And the writing is amazingly done. Just like the first 2 games it won't appeal to everyone but for the people who want a amazing story i would really recommend it. Expand
  7. Dec 31, 2012
    10
    The biggest of the series in both cases and story twists, Trials and Tribulations is a masterpiece in adventure gaming and story telling...if you have followed the previous two. The game is almost untouched and, except for few music tracks, it's still the same game with just new amazing cases and amazing characters (your opponent, Godot, it's probably one of the best opponents of the series, probably even better than Edgeworth). Again, what makes this game greater than the previous is the character roster and the stories of the cases, all well written and all with amazing twists that will really impress the player until they reach the ending credits...with the requirements of having played both of the previous games at least once. If you take this game for the first time, you might be confused of some events and some characters that come back from previous games. If you didn't, well you'll still get a very solid adventure game with really nothing wrong, but since the series is heavily tied and the stories have links, it's best played if you have the previous games. The only reason to not buy this game, if it's you really hate adventure games or, of course, never liked it in the first place (I don't like Super Mario games. It's tastes afterall!). Must buy if you want to finish this "trilogy". If you don't have the others...try it then and discover the series yourself. Will be worth the time. Expand
  8. Jun 18, 2012
    8
    Before I start, I'd like to say I don't get the whole Godot craze. His character seemed forced and superficial and he was incredibly annoying throughout the whole game. Now, for the game - PW:T&T is the standard Phoenix Wright we all got to know (and love) from the previous two instalments. Unfortunately, it introduces even less gameplay changes than JFA (taking control of different attorneys [i.e. other than Phoenix] was a pretty interesting experience though). While it is a nice conclusion to a brilliant trilogy, the plot of T&T doesn't have nearly the same kick as the previous two - the creators put too much emphasis on "drama", and not enough on "comedy", making the story feel really dark at times (whether you consider that a pro or a con is completely up to you of course). Putting my whiny nitpicking aside, PW is still PW, and playing through the whole series should be REQUIRED for all DS owners. Expand
  9. Mar 14, 2012
    8
    "Trials and Tribulations" is the best of the Phoenix Wright trilogy. You play as the titular "ace attorney" Phoenix Wright who, with help from his psychic friends, unearths the secrets of the cases and clients he defends in court. The riveting drama is creative and unforgettable, much more so than the prior games. There are two types of gameplay: investigation & court. Investigation is the weakest of the two, often confusing and drab. But after gathering all the necessary evidence, you are thrown into a thrilling battle royale of wits and logic. Presenting evidence and cross examining witnesses is always fun, and the reward is never short of exceptional. If you're a fan of story driven games, and don't find some of the more dull moments in investigation, this game is for you. Expand
  10. May 11, 2011
    10
    Best of the trilogy. It's got fun, awesome cases and the end is a seriously intense rollercoaster. If you liked the first games be prepared to be blown away by this one!
Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 45 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 41 out of 45
  2. Negative: 0 out of 45
  1. A classic case of it "if it isn't broke, don't fix it", Trials and Tribulations carries on the series' high quality and is a fitting end to the trilogy, but it won't convert anyone waiting for the series to break out of its somewhat rigid menu-driven process of elimination.
  2. The premise may seem downright ridiculous and this is reinforced by the witty, pun-filled dialogue bursting with enough memorable and laugh-out-loud quotes to inflame one's haemorrhoids. The actual cases themselves can, however, be quite sombre and very touching at times – sure, you will laugh, but you may also shed a tear.
  3. It's a 9-flavoured 8, but again the mechanics of the court sequences are often so stupidly frustrating that it would be wrong to mark any higher.