Phoenix Wright: Ace Attorney DS

User Score
9.2

Universal acclaim- based on 196 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 6 out of 196
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 8, 2016
    8
    Ok, now that i have replayed the Original Phoenix Wright Trilogy, it's time to see which one's better and why. First let's start with the original. This game was originally released on the GBA, but then it was re-released on the DS, which had slightly better graphics, music and even a brand new case!. So this is the version i'm gonna reviewing.

    STORY: The story follows the legendary
    Ok, now that i have replayed the Original Phoenix Wright Trilogy, it's time to see which one's better and why. First let's start with the original. This game was originally released on the GBA, but then it was re-released on the DS, which had slightly better graphics, music and even a brand new case!. So this is the version i'm gonna reviewing.

    STORY: The story follows the legendary Phoenix Wright, an attorney that is just beginning his career. He was trained by another professional attorney called Mia. And then a later in the game (and by that i mean the second case) Phoenix will also gets a cute assistance called Maya, who is the sister of Mia. And with her he will go through 5 cases (if you're playing the DS port) to provee that your client is NOT GUILTY of the crime that they're accused of (which is always murder by the way).

    PRESENTATION: Since this is a graphic nobel the graphics obviously need to be good, and fortunately it doesn't disappoint in that regard.

    The background are very detailed, having many different things in them, like items, people or just plain decoration that really helps the mood. Same goes for the general sprite work. Every character looks somewhat realistic, but the game knows perfectly that it is a game and the charming designs reflect that, but without a doubt the thing that i most enjoy about the characters are the over the top expressions they make that can range from creepy to hilarious and it's always a fun time interacting with them. Although the game does require imagination in order for some scenes to make sense, like for example when some hits you the camera will shake and a sound will play, but a punching animation never occurs, but this doesn't bother me too much because again, it leads to imagine the scene however you like. Same applies for when character talk, or rather move their mouth and text appears, but this also doesn't bother me because i can give characters any voice i want, since the only voice overs in the game are from Phoenix and the prosecutors, but Phoenix definitely has more lines like: HOLD IT! (when you press a witness), TAKE THAT! (when you present evidence) and my personal favorite, OBJECTION! (when you find a contradiction).

    Do i even need to mention the spectacular soundtrack?. The game knows when to play the exact music at the exact time to give you the right emotion for the situacion. When you're investigating a more calm music plays, but when you discover a contradiction the music becomes a lot more over the top and gets you pumped. My favorite track has to be Cornered, it just makes me feel like a bad*** every time i hear it play after i destroy the testimony of the witness and speaking of...

    GAMEPLAY: Since this is a graphic nobel the focus is of course the story, characters, drama and lots and LOTS of reading.

    The game is divided into 2 sections. One is the investigation part in where yo examine the environments for clues, interact with characters to get evidence and information and also have some funny dialog with Maya. This sections can get a little tedious when you don't know what to do, but that rarely happens in my case.

    But the best part by far are the courtroom segments. In here the rival prosecutor presents extra evidence to use and witnesses, and your job is to tear their testimonies a part by finding contradictions or simply get extra information by pressing them. It may not sound like much, but believe me, it gets really intense when you finally find that contradict, the witness loses his mind and Cornered plays, it's just such an epic moment. However don't think that you can just spam OBJECTION! until you find the contradiction, because you can only make 5 mistakes and if you waste them then it's a GUILTY verdict, so think before acting...or just save the game and every time you fail restart the game to not fail. There are times where you have to present the correct evidence to convince the judge, show where the murderer was or pick the right choice. Some of the choices don't affect anything, but others are crucial to the plot so be careful.

    Now let me get this out of the way: You WILL HATE THE PROSECUTORS. They always stop you when you find a contradiction and they're so annoying..., however the prosecutor in this game, Miles Edgeworth, is actually kind of likable because of his backstory, but i won't spoil it.

    But we aren't done yet!. In the 5th and final DS exclusive case we also have some new gameplay elements like finding fingerprints, examine the evidence closely, finding contradictions in a video, etc. Because they're added so late they feel out of place, but they're really fun to mess around with and they take advantage of the DS's capabilities.

    In any case (pun intended) Phoenix Wright is a great game. Being an attorney has never been so fun and i definitely recommend it to anyone with a DS or 3DS.

    I'll give it an 8/10.
    Expand
  2. Feb 27, 2016
    9
    As an interactive visual novel, Ace Attorney is up there with the rest of the greats like 999/Danganronpa.

    Interesting, likable characters, catchy music, intriguing murder cases, often laugh out loud funny dialogue...this game has a charm that is simply irresistible to me, someone who is 15 years late to the party. Being a game first released in 2001 naturally it is a bit dated,
    As an interactive visual novel, Ace Attorney is up there with the rest of the greats like 999/Danganronpa.

    Interesting, likable characters, catchy music, intriguing murder cases, often laugh out loud funny dialogue...this game has a charm that is simply irresistible to me, someone who is 15 years late to the party.

    Being a game first released in 2001 naturally it is a bit dated, mechanically. The text skipping is very slow, the saving is restricted, and no conversation log. None of that bothered me too much.
    Expand
  3. Jan 3, 2016
    9
    http://objection.mrdictionary.net/go.php?n=8135187

    ……………………………………………………………………………………………………………...__,,,---~''¯', ……………………_,,,--,…………………………………………………………………___,,,---~~''¯¯ . . . . . . ,/' ……………..,~'¯ ; ; ; ; ;',-,……………………………………………………….,~'' . . . . . . . . . . _,-~~'¯ ………,,~'¯; ; ; ; ;,'¯¯¯'' '¯~',|,………………………………………………..,-~' . . . . . . . ._,--~'''¯¯ …… '¯¯; ; ; ; ; ;_. ,/' . . .¯'o~-
    http://objection.mrdictionary.net/go.php?n=8135187

    ……………………………………………………………………………………………………………...__,,,---~''¯',
    ……………………_,,,--,…………………………………………………………………___,,,---~~''¯¯ . . . . . . ,/'
    ……………..,~'¯ ; ; ; ; ;',-,……………………………………………………….,~'' . . . . . . . . . . _,-~~'¯
    ………,,~'¯; ; ; ; ;,'¯¯¯'' '¯~',|,………………………………………………..,-~' . . . . . . . ._,--~'''¯¯
    …… '¯¯; ; ; ; ; ;_. ,/' . . .¯'o~- '|…………………………………………_,-~-~'¯ . , . . . . ¯¯, . . ',
    ……¯¯,~*_ . /' . '| . . . . . . . .'…………………………………_,~*'¯,/',/' . . . . .¯¯¯'~--,,,,,,, .',
    ………..¯¯-, .', . . . . . . ,--~,' '|…………………………_,-~*'¯ ; ;;;;; | .| . . . . . . . . . . . : . .|¯'*| .|
    ……………..",'¯''|, . . .,/' ¯¯'/'/…………………..,-~'¯¯; ; ;;;;;;;;;;;; '| .'| . . . . . . . . . .__,,--~'~''|
    ……………….| . . ', . . ',; ; ;|/'.__,~~-,,/'¯¯'~'¯; ; ;;; ;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;; '|,', -,,,---~'''¯''~''''¯¯,--~/''
    ………………/'__ '''`~-,,,-~'''¯¯ ; ; ; ; ; /' ; ;;;;; ; ;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;', .'~,,-~''~---~''''~---~~'''¯
    …………….,/'¯', . .¯¯,~';;;;;;; ; ;/' ; ; ; ; ; ;;;;;/ ; ;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;'~,--~''¯¯';,/'
    …………..,/',--,~',,~'' ;/';;;;;;;;;/';; ; ;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;'~,,/'/'
    ……….,,~'| /' /' . ,~'~-,;;;;;;;;;;;;|;; ;;;;;;; ;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;; ; ;,__,,,,,,-----~~'''¯
    ……,~'' ,/'/'/ : | .,/';;;,~';;;;;;;;;;;;',;;;;;; ; ;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;; ;_,-~''¯¯
    ….,/' ;,/;;;|' : :|,/';;-~' ¯¯¯ ;;;;;;;;;;'', ; ; ;;;;;;; ;_,,,---~~'''¯¯
    …,|;;;;'|;;;| :,/';;,~' |;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;; ; ';;;;; ; ;;,/'
    …|';;;;;'|;;| /',~';;;;|';;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;''~-~''¯/
    ..,|;|;;;;;;||/';;;;;;;|';;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;; ;/'
    ,/'|;'|;;;;;;,|';;;;;;;;|';;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;; ; ;,/'
    .;;;|;|;;;;,|';;;;;;;;;;|';;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;; ; ; ; ;,/'
    .;;;|;|;;;;|;;;;;;;;;;;|;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;; ; ; ; ; ; ; ,/'
    .;;|';|;;;;|';;;;;;;;;;;|;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;; ; ; ; ; ; ;|'
    .;;| |;;;;'|;;;;;;;;;;;'|;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;; ; ; ; ; ; |'
    .;;| |;;;;|;;;;;;;;;;;;|;;;;;;;;;;;;;; ; ; ; ; ; ; |
    .; | |;;;;|;;;;;;;;;;;;|;;;;;;;;;;;; ; ; ; ; ; ; ; |
    /''| |;;;;|;;;;;;;;;;;;|;;;;;;;;;;;; ; ; ; ; ; ; ; '|
    ..| |;;;;|;;;;;;;;;;;;|;;;;;;;;;;;;;; ; ; ; ; ; ; ;',

    O B J E C T I O N !!!!!!
    Expand
  4. May 4, 2015
    10
    If you're a fan of visual novel games, this is a must have. While the concept of being a lawyer may not sound appealing, you have to pick the game up yourself to experience it. The cases are over-the-top as are the characters but that's what makes this game so interesting. One other point which is neglected in the reviews is the music. Seriously. Fantastic.
  5. Apr 24, 2015
    10
    Great characters and fun stories carry you through the stages of this game. Sometimes the logic is flawed, and naturally you will sometimes figure something out but be unable to pursue that thought until later in the game due to the linear nature of progress, but this is forgivable with such a genuinely enjoyable experience overall.

    It helps to pay attention to everything that is said
    Great characters and fun stories carry you through the stages of this game. Sometimes the logic is flawed, and naturally you will sometimes figure something out but be unable to pursue that thought until later in the game due to the linear nature of progress, but this is forgivable with such a genuinely enjoyable experience overall.

    It helps to pay attention to everything that is said (which is an awful lot - you will need some patience to get through all the text here.

    As the first of a series this lacks some of the gameplay additions of later games, but that doesn't make this a game lacking in good times.

    More of an interactive story, with fixed outcomes, this won't appeal to everyone, but I thoroughly enjoyed it on each of my 3 play-throughs.
    Expand
  6. Apr 8, 2015
    9
    The first game in the series is your entry into the adventure as a whole, as it would certainly be unwise to skip games, because the story follows fluently from the first game to the next and you would miss a lot of references and plot points otherwise.

    In this game, you play as Phoenix Wright who is a lawyer and your objective is to solve cases and defend your clients. This game is a
    The first game in the series is your entry into the adventure as a whole, as it would certainly be unwise to skip games, because the story follows fluently from the first game to the next and you would miss a lot of references and plot points otherwise.

    In this game, you play as Phoenix Wright who is a lawyer and your objective is to solve cases and defend your clients. This game is a typical visual novel where most of the time you'll be reading, so if you don't like that, it's not a game for you. However, there is more game play than in most other visual novels, especially during the investigation phrases, where you sometimes get to explore certain evidence or you can simply explore each location in full detail.

    The story of this game is gripping and the characters are lovable while being silly at the same time, making playing through this game a unique experience. I absolutely loved this game, the soundtrack is catchy and the music definitely helps to capture the intensity of some of the situations you'll have to go through in this game.

    The game contains 5 cases in total and if you take your time reading and enjoying the experience, you might as well spend 30 hours playing the game.
    Expand
  7. Mar 16, 2015
    10
    Das beste Kriminalspiel ever ! Die fünf Fälle konnten mich alle überzeugen und der letzte wird für immer legendär bleiben ! Die Charaktere konnten mich auch wie in den anderen Spielen überzeugen und Polizeichef Dámon Gant bleibt immer in meiner Erinnerung , da er mich mit seiner Überlegenheit und Epicness einfach überzeugen konnte . Grandiose Arbeit , Capcom !
  8. Jul 6, 2014
    10
    If you're not into reading dialogue and laughing, then this game isn't for you. Hilarious situations and characters make this game (and series) one of my top 5 as a serious gamer.
  9. Jun 11, 2014
    10
    The Ace Attorney -series has one of the BEST stories in video game history, and it's just impossible to pick a favorite. The music in the series is so good, that if I made a list of my favorite video game songs, the Ace Attorney -series would dominate it. The game is so goddamn addicting once you get into it, which is weird for a visual novel. Pointing out lies in someone's statement canThe Ace Attorney -series has one of the BEST stories in video game history, and it's just impossible to pick a favorite. The music in the series is so good, that if I made a list of my favorite video game songs, the Ace Attorney -series would dominate it. The game is so goddamn addicting once you get into it, which is weird for a visual novel. Pointing out lies in someone's statement can be satisfying in real life, but oh boy, nothing does it better than this game. This game literally made me laugh until it started to hurt, and made me cry for minutes. This is just phenomenal. Expand
  10. Apr 16, 2014
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. An all-around amazingly fun and enjoyable adventure game.

    The quality of characters and plot is supported by very good writing and an overall immense love both for storytelling and for dramatisation.
    This game is just nothing short of awesome when it comes to its value as a story, and its gameplay is also far from shabby when it comes to playability and/or fun elements.

    Phoenix' comments and wit make it a constantly fun game, and the rest of the characters all add in a bit of themselves to make this just about one of the most high-quality games I've played. It's undying fun all the way till the end. It gets over the top often, but is almost never simplistic or dumb, so it stays enjoyable both as a "simply fun" game and as a thinking game.

    Despite that, I'm not giving it 10 because of a few things:
    -As with almost all complex plots, this game has a few plot twists/plot devices that just don't work, like the ending of Turnabout Samurai where the conclusion(minor spoiler) is that a 1m60 tall woman pushed a 1m80 highly muscled, highly trained martial artist, who carried a spear so heavy and strong a woman her size couldn't even use it, to his death. It has its share of irrational moments, but the most of the story is devoid of it so it's really minor.
    -The game is pretty much a story walkthrough. It's a very very gameplay-filled story, as in you have to find clues, make the connections, arguments, and follow up on your case till you've gotten to the end of the story, but essentially this is a game that's just about following a preset story with only one path to get there. Because the gameplay is so well integrated in the story it doesn't matter too much, but it still sort of sucks that you're going down the same linear story.
    -Because of my last point, the replayability is null and void. Unfortunatly AA:PW is a game you can only play once, after that it's just seeing the movie you've already seen again, and although there are a lot of moments and lines that makes this game something I want to see again, it doesn't really excuse the fact that it lacks a better replayability, like different pathways to explore for example.

    Despite these points, this is still an easy 92/100 for me, it's worth buying even at full price just for the great story and fun gameplay, I just wish this was replayable.
    Expand
  11. Apr 8, 2014
    8
    The writing is extremely good in this game, each case has a great story. The gameplay sadly isn't as good and can be quite frustrating because it's not always logical how to progress and when you fail you have to skip though a'lot of text to get back to the point you was at.
  12. Feb 28, 2014
    10
    Fantastic cases and inspired out-of-the-box story lines that thread the entire series together starting here at Phoenix's humble beginning.

    A most puzzling and intriguing set of characters who will stay with you for much longer after the final case. This game exhibits standards of a typical Crime Fiction/Audio Novel game but with the unexpected twists in every case that makes this title
    Fantastic cases and inspired out-of-the-box story lines that thread the entire series together starting here at Phoenix's humble beginning.

    A most puzzling and intriguing set of characters who will stay with you for much longer after the final case. This game exhibits standards of a typical Crime Fiction/Audio Novel game but with the unexpected twists in every case that makes this title a major stand out from the norm.

    Music that is perfectly atmospheric and excitement inducing. You will be left longing for much more as these characters and storyline serenade you to the next game in store for this series. I have never regret playing this series (in fact I play it more than any other series). With this humour, excitement and wit, you'd be very well damned to find any other game that is able to weave a very fine tapestry of such traits into one game let alone a series!
    Expand
  13. Jan 30, 2014
    9
    The original Phoenix Wright trilogy is amazing. And the original is the second best out of the trilogy. It's better that Phoenix Wright : Ace Attorney justice for all, but is not as good as Phoenix Wright : Ace Attorney Trials and tribulations.

    The story is the the most important part of any Ace Attorney title, and the story in this game is fantastic. All the main characters are
    The original Phoenix Wright trilogy is amazing. And the original is the second best out of the trilogy. It's better that Phoenix Wright : Ace Attorney justice for all, but is not as good as Phoenix Wright : Ace Attorney Trials and tribulations.

    The story is the the most important part of any Ace Attorney title, and the story in this game is fantastic. All the main characters are interesting. Especially Miles Edgeworth. All the witnesses are fun and quirky in there own unique ways. And the names for the characters are are really amusing, some examples being "Frank Sahwit" the witness in case one. and "Winston Payne" the prosecutor in case one.

    The graphics are nothing technically impressive, most likely due to the fact this game is a port of a Japanese GBA title called "Gyakuten Saiban". But the sprites and actions for some of the witnesses are quirky and amusing.

    The soundtrack is fantastic. Almost every track in this game is memorable and really nice to listen to. The sound effect consist of beeps for the most part and are nothing noteworthy. And the voice clips for the defense and prosecution do there jobs well enough.

    Overall it is a fantastic game. And considering the original trilogy is on most platforms nowadays, (DS, Wii-ware, IOS, and soon coming to the 3DS) there is not much of a reason to pass the games up. As it has amazing writing and characters, and amazing music.

    OVERALL -
    9/10
    Expand
  14. Oct 30, 2013
    8
    A very good DS game, original and catching.
    The graphics could be better but that's absolutely not the point of this game.
    The writing is overall good and funny and the investigations, despite a few "bland" parts, interesting. But the glorious parts of this game, what brought us here, are the trials parts. Intense and sometimes challenging, they are the keystone of this game's gameplay
    A very good DS game, original and catching.
    The graphics could be better but that's absolutely not the point of this game.
    The writing is overall good and funny and the investigations, despite a few "bland" parts, interesting.
    But the glorious parts of this game, what brought us here, are the trials parts.
    Intense and sometimes challenging, they are the keystone of this game's gameplay and only suffer from a one or two improbable answers.
    The first Phoenix Wright is definitely a game to play and it will probably gets you to play the other episodes of this atypical series.
    Expand
  15. Jul 20, 2013
    10
    This game will be loved by people of all ages, if they have the patience and the intelligence of thinking of the possibility and putting pieces together or finding out that things do not fit, that's all i am going to get into on this amazing game its a must buy
  16. Mar 15, 2013
    4
    The idea of a courtroom video game where you play as an attorney, as far as I can tell, is an original and interesting one. However, I just keep feeling that the anime style just wasn't the right choice for this series. During my time playing this game, I kept wishing things were darker and more serious, with less exaggerated actions and cartoonish plots. There are lots of stuff that ruinThe idea of a courtroom video game where you play as an attorney, as far as I can tell, is an original and interesting one. However, I just keep feeling that the anime style just wasn't the right choice for this series. During my time playing this game, I kept wishing things were darker and more serious, with less exaggerated actions and cartoonish plots. There are lots of stuff that ruin the sense of immersion and warrant a lot of eye-rolling, like outlandish "proofs", ridiculously gullible judges and officers, and culprits flat out reveal their bad deeds out of nowhere, in the courtroom, in the fashion of poorly-written bad guys who just HAVE to reveal all of their plans to the hero.

    The gameplay is also uninteresting and oversimplified, giving you way too many shots at cracking the case, with virtually no punishment for doing things wrong. This ends up taking away any resemblance of a fun challenge.

    The main characters are slightly likeable, and at times the cases manages to pique your curiosity. But the problems take too much away for this to be really enjoyable.
    Expand
  17. Feb 2, 2013
    9
    Awesome is the right word for this game! Great characters with great personalities, cool soundtrack, brilliant dialogues, epic breakdowns and lots of twists. At the beginning I thought it might become boring to search in every place for evidence and to listen to such long conversations in court, but I never got bored and I literally can't stop playing when I start.
  18. Dec 30, 2012
    10
    The series of Phoenix Wright, even if with few additions and almost no upgrades, always shows new cases and new ways to think out of the box for resolving the cases (not a lot, but still helps). Of course, the series ia also fun to play and great to follow, with a roster of unforgettable characters...and villains too. The game plays as a mix of an adventure game and...sort of quiz game...IThe series of Phoenix Wright, even if with few additions and almost no upgrades, always shows new cases and new ways to think out of the box for resolving the cases (not a lot, but still helps). Of course, the series ia also fun to play and great to follow, with a roster of unforgettable characters...and villains too. The game plays as a mix of an adventure game and...sort of quiz game...I think. I have no proper words but the point is that both parts mix very well and they are both fun to play, especially since the story (or stories) behind the game are well thought and will make you think of how to solve the cases. Honestly, my big complains is that out of 5 missions, 2 are rather short and very simple, almost kid-friendly (the first case is literally a tutorial case, while the second is almost impossible to lose). From case 3, the game ramps up in difficulty and become a lot more enjoyable, and the last 2 cases are probably THE single best cases of the entire series (Trial and Tribulation cases are close...but only these are remarkable at their best). Graphics are simple and clean (and oldish, since I heard it was from a Gameboy Advance game), but funcional, and...I really have nothing else to mention, because the flaws are almost non-existants. Maybe the game should have had more endings, and maybe the game should have been more open (you won't go forward until you trigger the right event, which is either the discover of an item, talking to a person, or showing items to a person). Except these, I have almost no complains at all, since it's also very long to play (I think it's gonna last you at least 10 hours, but there's no counter). One of the strongest adventure game on the DS, and possibly one of the best games of the console: must at least try once but if you love adventure game, it' s an instant purchase. Expand
  19. Sep 20, 2012
    10
    Every game in this saga is EPIC and PERFECT. The story is great and the characters are memorable. The OST is just delicious. Every case is very original, and there is a plot full of secrets and twists that you discover through every game.
  20. Sep 19, 2012
    10
    While at its heart Phoenix Wright may be a simple game, it is simply the most addicting and tense experience ever achieved with such little action. It is a considerable art to be able to reproduce significant catharsis using only the notions of script writing and musical tunes. Usually taking hours upon hours to complete a case, there is not one moment where you will become bored orWhile at its heart Phoenix Wright may be a simple game, it is simply the most addicting and tense experience ever achieved with such little action. It is a considerable art to be able to reproduce significant catharsis using only the notions of script writing and musical tunes. Usually taking hours upon hours to complete a case, there is not one moment where you will become bored or fatigued. There are unforeseeable twists around every corner. In brief, Phoenix Wright is easily one of history's most unique and emotional experiences, and should not be missed by anyone. Oh, and also, it is the only game that can convince a player to become a defence attorney :D Expand
  21. May 18, 2012
    10
    Masterful writing, great scoring, unforgettable characters, one-of-a-kind gameplay. Yes, those are the words echoing through my mind after I finished the last case.
  22. May 18, 2012
    9
    One of the few games where I didn't mind that the story overtook the actual gameplay. Actually no, this is the ONLY game where I didn't care about simplistic gameplay at all - the writing was just that great. The game toys with the gamer's emotions with an absolutely masterful arrangement of music and flashy visuals, which not only enrich the story in a very unique way, but make it evenOne of the few games where I didn't mind that the story overtook the actual gameplay. Actually no, this is the ONLY game where I didn't care about simplistic gameplay at all - the writing was just that great. The game toys with the gamer's emotions with an absolutely masterful arrangement of music and flashy visuals, which not only enrich the story in a very unique way, but make it even BETTER. Did I already mention that Ace Attorney also gives you a set of characters that you can actually give a crap about? Although the game *could* use some better graphics and less down-your-throat linearity, I strongly recommend giving PW:AA a go. It is one of those rare breeds games that will appeal to pretty much everyone, from die-hard FPS fans to RPG stat-junkies. Expand
  23. Dec 12, 2011
    0
    Pheonix Wrong is a terrible addition to the crime genre. In fact, it's a crime of the game developers to have even made this game. It starts by showing you who did the crime. What's the point in letting us investigate if you have already showed who did it? It's pointless! Not to mention how bad the actual gameplay itself is. All you do is say "Objection!" and a cutscene plays. Do thatPheonix Wrong is a terrible addition to the crime genre. In fact, it's a crime of the game developers to have even made this game. It starts by showing you who did the crime. What's the point in letting us investigate if you have already showed who did it? It's pointless! Not to mention how bad the actual gameplay itself is. All you do is say "Objection!" and a cutscene plays. Do that about eight times and you've pretty much completed the game. If I was in the office while this game was being made, I would have "Objected!" to this game's development being pushed forward. Expand
  24. Nov 29, 2011
    10
    I bought this game on a whim and instantly fell in love with the series. I was familiar with Capcom from their games on the NES and SNES, but had not played much else by them at that point. I really enjoyed the refreshing anime style for the story, characters, and humor of the game. The game combines puzzle solving into the investigations and courtroom battles of the stories in a smooth,I bought this game on a whim and instantly fell in love with the series. I was familiar with Capcom from their games on the NES and SNES, but had not played much else by them at that point. I really enjoyed the refreshing anime style for the story, characters, and humor of the game. The game combines puzzle solving into the investigations and courtroom battles of the stories in a smooth, accessible way. Case 1 was a great tutorial to the game-play. Instead of an endless progression of textboxes explaining what to do, the game teaches you how to play through having you press and present in the courtroom for the playerâ Expand
  25. Oct 15, 2011
    9
    if you have a look see at the 2 negative reviews, youll see one by a guy called awbreeh, who says hes too smart for the game... which is a little selfish, dont ya think. no i LIKE the twists, i LIKE the story, and best of all the end trial... YEAH!!!

    93%
  26. May 11, 2011
    9
    This is exactly what the adventure genre needs, an absolutely amazing investigation game with fun characters and hilarious dialogue. If you have a DS you owe it to yourself to try this game. The creative cases will get your brain juices flowing and drawing you back for much much more.
  27. Dec 9, 2010
    10
    I'm going to be honest. This game is a masterpiece. I don't care if the game does half of the thinking for you, but the fact that with increasing difficulty and requirements to be able to think beyond a simple contradiction to shove some evidence up the prosecutor's throat makes the game beyond fun. This game just won't let me shut the DS off, of course until I get to a save point.
  28. awbreeh
    Jan 4, 2010
    3
    I guess I am the only one who didn't get this game. I thought the 1st turnabout wasn't logical, I was not able to ask key question that should be relivent in a real case setting. I mean do we know if the officer is right handed or left handed? How do we know he was on a date when gumshoe was the only one who said that? How do we know he fell and how do we know if he could even I guess I am the only one who didn't get this game. I thought the 1st turnabout wasn't logical, I was not able to ask key question that should be relivent in a real case setting. I mean do we know if the officer is right handed or left handed? How do we know he was on a date when gumshoe was the only one who said that? How do we know he fell and how do we know if he could even write after he broke his neck? Sorry but I took this back to game stop and said it sucked, I am to smart for this game. Expand
  29. Bob
    Nov 10, 2009
    10
    Not the game for those who want action, but if you can appreciate an amazing story when you see one, you have one helluva game here.
  30. EricM
    Nov 3, 2009
    10
    Oh, what the hell. This is the best game I've played in my whole life, and I'm not just a "casual" gamer. It combines writing, humour, gameplay and graphics (2D, yes) in one game.
  31. KariP
    Jul 13, 2009
    10
    A combination of excellent music, very memorable characters and offering fun plots thrown in with the rest of the features. I have rarely enjoyed a game as much as following Phoenix and his friends on their misadventures.
  32. ZyraT.
    Jun 3, 2009
    10
    I love this game!
  33. SteveF.
    Sep 5, 2007
    9
    Being more into action packed games rather than ones that require wading through dialogue, I wasn't all that interested in Phoenix Wright, but after hearing such good things about it, I decided to give it a go and I'm so glad I did. Though there may not be much "action" in the traditional sense, the gameplay is incredibly thrilling and presenting the right evidence at the right Being more into action packed games rather than ones that require wading through dialogue, I wasn't all that interested in Phoenix Wright, but after hearing such good things about it, I decided to give it a go and I'm so glad I did. Though there may not be much "action" in the traditional sense, the gameplay is incredibly thrilling and presenting the right evidence at the right time is intensely satisfying. There is certainly a lot of text to read, but the dialogue is so good (often serious, often hilarious) that this is a joy rather than a chore. The wonderful characterisation is the game's main strength though. Phoenix is a very likeable character and his relationship with his enthusiastic assistant Maya a very sweet one. But even the minor characters are brimming with personality and funny character quirks, like buxom beauty April May, who uses her ample bosom to influence the male jurors or grumpy security guard Wendy Oldbag who launches into unstoppable tirades against whippersnappers. This game is utterly charming from start to finish and I would recommend it to all DS owners, even those who aren't usually into this sort of game. Expand
  34. [Anonymous]
    Jun 17, 2007
    9
    An awesome game that should be in every DS library.
  35. Mitch
    May 30, 2007
    10
    One of the best adventure / story games. Put this in the ranks with Monkey Island and even Myth. Although the feel is very cartoony, which most people will appreciate.
  36. RichardP.
    May 21, 2007
    8
    Another innovative puzzler on the DS which deserves your time. Although some of the investigation sections can drag on a little too long, although when you ARE on the right track and you ARE presenting relevant evidence but at the wrong time the involvement and excitement which comes from this game makes up for it. I wish the game allowed for slightly relevant evidence to be considered, Another innovative puzzler on the DS which deserves your time. Although some of the investigation sections can drag on a little too long, although when you ARE on the right track and you ARE presenting relevant evidence but at the wrong time the involvement and excitement which comes from this game makes up for it. I wish the game allowed for slightly relevant evidence to be considered, rather than demand a certain piece at a certain time, but it doesn't matter. Some of the cases and story lines are pure gold, full of court room drama twists which keep you itching for more. Expand
  37. J.K.
    Apr 16, 2007
    10
    Phoenix Wright is bringing sexy back.
  38. Patrick
    Feb 28, 2007
    10
    Story is everything in this game, because at heart it's an adventure game. But the writing is exceptional, especially in a game; puzzles make you think, and you can seriously feel the tension with the addition of some Turnabout Tunes during trials to freak you out, calm you down, or whatever is appropriate. Only one way through the story, but then wouldn't almost all games get a Story is everything in this game, because at heart it's an adventure game. But the writing is exceptional, especially in a game; puzzles make you think, and you can seriously feel the tension with the addition of some Turnabout Tunes during trials to freak you out, calm you down, or whatever is appropriate. Only one way through the story, but then wouldn't almost all games get a 4? A lot of Deus Ex Macina, though, be wary of those things. Expand
  39. BlueFalcon
    Dec 24, 2006
    9
    Great to see such an original fun title. It's one of the best on the ds.
  40. ChrisP.
    Nov 11, 2006
    8
    A great adventure game, well written and nicely presented, though very strictly linear.
  41. ZyraT.
    Sep 20, 2006
    10
    I love this game!
  42. KevinR.
    Aug 8, 2006
    9
    A great game that, combined with the right dosage of Law and Order, could easily convince just about anyone to become a lawyer.
  43. Warren
    Jul 22, 2006
    4
    The writing of Phoenix Wright is pretty much on-par with every-other anime you've ever seen. I don't hate anime, not at all, but unlike a lot of anime fans I realize a lot of it is just plain cliched, and Phoenix Wright's writing is on that very level. But of course this is a game, so the writing isn't everything. If the gameplay is challenging and interesting The writing of Phoenix Wright is pretty much on-par with every-other anime you've ever seen. I don't hate anime, not at all, but unlike a lot of anime fans I realize a lot of it is just plain cliched, and Phoenix Wright's writing is on that very level. But of course this is a game, so the writing isn't everything. If the gameplay is challenging and interesting it's all good, but unfortunately PW doesn't have that going for it either. The game is far, far too lenient on you. For example, you can't go to court unless you have all the evidence, (meaning you can't accidentally miss evidence, which would be more interesting because then cases could be easier/harder/have different verdicts depending on your detective work), if the judge or someone else asks you a question the answer is either extremely obvious or if you pick the wrong one you just get another chance to choose, and when things get dire the game will sometimes toss a deus ex machina factor at you to save the day; you see where I'm going with this? If the game wants to do so much for me, why am I even playing? Sometimes it's a bit difficult to find evidence when you're out investigating, and sometimes it's puzzling as to what evidence you should be presenting during a cross-examination, but that's as challenging as the game gets. Also, once you beat Phoenix Wright you've done everything there is to do, even fans of the game often admit this. Zero replay value. So ultimately, you're playing a generic anime that you can easily get through just by paying a bit of attention with maybe some guesswork thrown in, then you'll probably never touch it again. But at the very least Phoenix Wright is not painful to play. Often boring, but not painful. It can even be mildly entertaining at times and is generally likable. It's just not good, is what I'm saying. If you're a huge anime/niche games/general Japanophile you'll probably enjoy this game. If not, at best I'd say borrow it and see for yourself, but do not pay money for this game. A 4 for barely even being a game, but at least not making me want to kill myself. Collapse
  44. lemonator
    Mar 16, 2006
    10
    The best game ever.
  45. JarrodH.
    Feb 16, 2006
    10
    Without a doubt one of the best, most addictive games I have played in a long time. Everytime I finish a chapter, I cannot help feel like I have really been a part of something. I hope so so much a sequel is announced, as I do not want this to end. If you enjoyed the old style point and click games for the PC, you need to get this. I cannot rate this game any higher.
  46. AlexP.
    Jan 19, 2006
    10
    Ok. So It is a bit lacking in Graphics. But Graphics are only the Mustard of the game. The Cases in creativness of the game are awesome. This is definitly worth a sequal.
  47. Uwepoll
    Nov 11, 2005
    8
    A wonderful adventure game that doesn't take itself too seriously. Great sense of humour and clever dialog. It's also a game that anyone should be able to pick up and play (as long as they're prepared for a text-driven game). At times the restrictions within the game's script can become a little too obvious, though. But, to be honest, I don't really care. The game A wonderful adventure game that doesn't take itself too seriously. Great sense of humour and clever dialog. It's also a game that anyone should be able to pick up and play (as long as they're prepared for a text-driven game). At times the restrictions within the game's script can become a little too obvious, though. But, to be honest, I don't really care. The game is just fun to play through, and that's what matters. Expand

Awards & Rankings

#5 Most Discussed DS Game of 2005
#3 Most Shared DS Game of 2005
Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 53 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 47 out of 53
  2. Negative: 0 out of 53
  1. Nintendo Power
    80
    Keeps its legal-eagle fantasy flying much of the time - it's a welcome DS addition. [Nov 2005, p.109]
  2. Play Magazine
    85
    I can only hope this game does well enough for Capcom to bring the other games in this series to the U.S. [Oct 2005]
  3. The unique cast of characters and entertaining story makes Phoenix Wright worth playing, once. After you've seen all the plot turns and twists the game loses its appeal. [JPN Import]